We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barringtons Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Barringtons Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barringtons Motor Lodge
34 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

stayed here for a night whilst visiting friends, it was well priced and clean and modern, couldn't ask for anything more, when staying away. great, nice and friendly hosts

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at the Barrington Motor Lodge overnight and was really pleased. As a family we had plenty of room, enough crockery, cutlery etc. We all loved the spa bath and took full advantage of this, our son was in heaven lol. We ordered a light breakfast for the morning and it was just lovely,delivered on time, and with a cheery attitude.

Our hosts were just lovely and full of great information about the area, where to visit next and abit of advice on the road conditions. Thank you for that :)

I would highly reccomend to stay at the Barrington and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This must be the cleanest place I have stayed in ever. Very friendly and welcoming. Quiet and comfortable. Big rooms, and comfortable beds. Felt like a home away from home. Thanks !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a group of six (room sleeps 4, we had 2 beds in the lounge), we were on a business trip. large lounge area, good size dinning table, 2 x flat screen T.Vs, Out door furniture, well stocked with enough plates, cups, pots, cutlery etc. Offered extra milk, crockery without having to ask for it.
The place is clean and the service the best i have had. Friendly, helpful and efficient service.
So far my favourite place to stay when visiting Whakatane.

Room Tip: If you want the large room we had as it is there only one, we would recommend you book in advance. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very impressive size - much bigger than standard motel rooms. Well equipped - but let down by a very bouncy bed. Every movement was amplified 10 times over! A great shame - for what otherwise would be a 5 star rating. A very minor criticism would be that there were no individual bedside lights (just overhead lights over the bed - which didn't exactly give subtle individual lighting)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Two night stay in lovely spacious room. Very welcoming and helpful hosts, who went out of their way to assist us on arrival and during our stay. They greatly assisted us in organising local activities and transport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a studio unit. The unit was spotless with excellent toiletries provided. The owners were very friendly and full of advice on where to visit. When we returned from our visit to White Island we met the owner who insisted on changing our towels eventhough we told her we'd be happy with the ones we had!! At this stage we were getting used to motel living and made our own breakfast eventhough we could have ordered in. We had a 2 ringed hob in the unit which was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons Motor Lodge

Address: 34 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barringtons Motor Lodge Provides clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious accommodation for visitors to Whakatane.We are part of the Asure Loyalty Group.We are located close to lovely walking tracks along the river and a short walk or dive to Whakatane town centre.All 14 units are ground floor, and have comfortable beds and feather and down throws. Two of our units have disabled facilities. Great range of coffee and teas and breakfast available.Large LCD Televisions.Free Wireless Wifi Access to all units.Small conference facilities. Guest laundry.Free newspaper on request.BBQ available.Bike Hire onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Barringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barringtons Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.