We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pepper Tree Bar for cooling off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar

Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar
31 Kapanga Road, Coromandel 2851, New Zealand
07 866 8211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pepper Tree Bar for cooling off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hot day in Coromandel lead us to the Pepper Tree. A cool libation from the bar helped us deal with the heat - right under the Pepper tree. Friendly service, nice atmosphere, decent size drinks. A good place to relax for a bitl

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    118
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy Mussells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great open air or covered casual dinner spot. We chose a table in the rotunda. The service was slick and friendly and the food tasty. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We so enjoyed the meal and atmosphere that we had at the Pepper Tree. I had fish and chips, and they were delicious. The fish were crisp on the outside, with nice big slices of fish on the inside, that was piping hot. All of us an abundance of food. Just delightful, and would love to return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice location with tasty reasonably priced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed this little restaurant where we had a sunny table in the early evening. Staff very pleasant, menu typical of New Zealand with a crisp local wine, lamb, salad and a tasty pudding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good meal but a little pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had originally booked to eat on the patio but the weather turned a little cool so we ate inside. Do book - it does get busy even on a monday towards the end of the season! The atmosphere was fine, the service was excellent and the meals were very good. However, given our previous experiences in NZ, I thought that it was a little on the pricey side hence my 4 Star rating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.