We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3543, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Coromandel
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The Perfect Place to Unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We originally stayed at this lovely motel in March 2008.We have been back 3 times now and just love it.The view from the unit is especially beautiful when there is a good sunset.The rooms are spotlessly clean with really comfortable beds.It is close to some lovely bushwalks or you can just sit on your deck with a good book and really relax.
One of the main reasons that we keep going back is the owners Iain and Angela . Nothing is too much trouble and we are made to feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
99
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a nice little motel. The staff were helpful and made us feel welcome on arrival. The only negative for me was that it was just a tad too far out of the town of Coromandel. You could in theory have walked from the town back to the motel, but I would not have wanted to do it along the unlit road, especially after sampling a few beverages at the local hostelry. Saw the most fantastic moon rising over the sea from our front window/porch, which was really memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
Many thanks for your comments.
Just a note for any would-be guests :
both the "Top Pub"- Coromandel Hotel, and the "Bottom Pub" - Star and Garter offer a free pick-up, and drop-back service if guests choose to drink/dine with them. I apologise if we didn't tell you about this, and will add it to the information in our compendium.
Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

# The owner of the motel was very kind and showed us the activities around the places.
# The room was very tidy and slightly larger than any other model we have ever been.
# The motel is right next to the sea and view of sunset was fantastic.
# Wireless Internet was fast and reliable for checking emails and remote access to work place.
# The spa pool was nice and warm.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed here in November 2007, had a fantastic break, pleasant clean accomodation and superb views to wake up to . A welcome break in a busy schedule, would have loved to stayed for longer than we did. Hosts Angela and Ian very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Organising trips etc.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My family only had one night to spend at the Harbour View, and we would very much like to return sometime for a longer stay.

After a scenic two hour drive from Auckland Int'l Airport, we were warmly greeted by Angela, who immediately gave us many helpful tips on what to see and do, and options for dining (somewhat limited in the winter), in the area.

The motel is small, and all six or so units have wonderful views of the harbour both from inside the rooms, and from their large porches. We had a huge two bedroom suite, with a fully equipped kitchen, a dining area, and living room type furniture, in addition to the usual sleeping furnishings. The motel seems more oriented towards summer stays, with just an electric wall heater which was adequate (but no additional heating in the bathroom). The television was a modern flat screen type mounted on a wall. Overall the decor was not particularly stylish, but all very practical and pleasant. Strangely there was no wall outlet or mirror in the bathroom, a slight inconvenience.

Although every room has a parking space in front of it, getting one's car to it requires some tight maneuvering, and you'll need to be careful to leave space for other cars to get by. A little nerve-racking the first day driving on the 'wrong side' in a new rental car.

There is an outdoor shared spa by the office, which my family enjoyed. Laundry facilities are available at a moderate cost. There is free wi-fi, and a computer is available for guest use at no charge in the office. Breakfasts can be ordered the night before and are delivered to the room, very convenient.

We decided to have dinner at the Pepper Tree, in town, and this proved to be an excellent choice. Truly superb food at a reasonable price for the quality. Angela also pointed us to a wonderful bush walk just a mile or so away, where one can see a large ancient kauri tree and a grove of reforested Kauris.

All in all, the Coromandel is a great place to visit, even in the winter, and the Harbour View is a fine, reasonably priced place to stay while enjoying the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Good views from a very spacious room. Owners are very helpful. The motel block is obviously old and there has been some work undertaken to try and bring it into the 21st century. It doesn’t take long to see its age though, eg the cupboards in the mini kitchen area give a 50s, 60s feel. It was clean and we were only there for a night. We would normally stay at properties at least 4star and this certainly wasn’t. Mind you, I didn’t see anything else in the town that looked any better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
Thank you for your comments. The motel was built to a timeless design in the late 70’s, and has been through many upgrades over the years. The kitchen cabinets are now next on our list of “to-do‘s“. Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

After reading previous reviews, we were really excited about coming to Coromandel. Well, we arrived in rain and it poured the whole time we were there. We thought the room was okay - certainly nothing special as others thought. We felt it was dated and the walls were thin. We kept hearing the person in the next room coughing. The deck looked nice but we couldn't venture out there in the rain. We did cook dinner there but, compared to other places we stayed (for the same price) with full kitchen facilities, thought the efficiency kitchen was small. Angela was certainly friendly. We weren't able to use the spa (weather) but did use the laundry facility, which I thought was fairly expensive to do a load in a very old machine and dryer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
We appreciate your comments, though we were sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay in Coromandel.
In reply to your comment re the “thin walls’, this was a real surprise to us, as the walls are 8inch thick solid concrete. We have taken on board your comments re the cost of a load of washing for $5.00, and will look at reducing this. Although we agree with your comments re the dryer - it is certainly old and battle-scarred, it still goes well and does the job. However - the washing machine is only 4 years old.
Thank you again for your comments.Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3543, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#2 Family Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.