We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fishing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anglers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anglers Lodge
Save
You added Anglers Lodge to your Saves list
1446 Colville Rd | Amodeo Bay, Coromandel, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fishing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had the most fantastic fishing trip with David, he was very patient teaching us complete beginners and was so good that we caught some enormous snapper! He then gutted and prepared the fish for us to eat...... The tastiest fish ever!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Anglers Lodge what can I say....AWESOME Place to stay.My husband has been coming to Anglers for over 30plus years.....Its a great place for families to stay and have fun. Fishing rocks.The owners are fabulous kind and generous people. We will be back .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been coming to Anglers Lodge for 9 years with our children, the facilities are fabulous and the owners bend over backwards every time to ensure our stay is pleasant. It is one of the cleanest camp grounds I have ever been to and the services offered to the guests are brilliant. We will definitely be back again next Christmas.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile


What an awesome place we have been coming here for over 15 years. Great place for families, wonderful owners who over the years have done a lot to the place. And we have become friends with, if you want a great holiday in a great location head to anglers lodge in the coromandel. We will be back there again at Christmas.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this ground from the 6th until the 9th of Jan 2014. We were located on site 1 which was a powered site. Nil tent sites were available. Our impression is that if you have a boat - you can't go wrong here at all. The services offered to assist you with launching and retrieval are quite simply absolutely fantastic. Everything is provided. So if you have a boat this is your heaven.
Unfortunately we don't have a boat (if anyone wants to give us one that would be great haha) and we just tented for the 3 days. Where we stayed on site 1 as tenters, made us feel that we were sort of in the way. This is definately no reflection on the boaties as we met some bloody funny guy's and ladies down there. The tent area which was fully booked we didn't get to see as we were either out surfcasting for the day and a little intoxicated at night and walking was a mission hehe.
The Host Richard - absolutely accomodating in everyway. Friendly smile and always prepared to stop and ask how things are going. You really made a great impression on us Richard.
The Facilities - no issue here either, very clean and well looked after.
A heated swimming pool would be fantastic, but that's because i hate the cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

All round excellent location, service, facilities, operators !!
Having stayed many times over the past decade, I am pleased to be heading back this year for the first time in three years.
I have stayed at Anglers Lodge, (camped, motel, cabin) and have been there with family, business, fishing club and even held my 40th there.
Love the place :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our second year staying at Anglers lodge. As the first year we were very impressed with our hosts, accomadation, and presentation of the camp. The service of putting our boat into and out of the water is fantastic. Me and the team cannot recomend Anglers Lodge highly enough for a great stay with outstanding hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anglers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Lodge

Address: 1446 Colville Rd | Amodeo Bay, Coromandel, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a private, sheltered valley, surrounded by lush native bush, bounded by a clear stream and looking out on some of New Zealand's most spectacular coastal scenery, you will find Anglers Lodge. Stay with us and experience the magic of the Coromandel. Go fishing and be amazed how easy it is. Play in the pool, beach or bush then just relax and watch the sun set over the Hauraki Gulf. Only 17km north of historic Coromandel town. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.