We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoked Scallops...Oh So Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coromandel Smoking Co.

The Coromandel Smoking Co.
70 Tiki Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Attractions in Coromandel
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Newcastle
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Smoked Scallops...Oh So Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We tried a selection of smoked seafood including mussels, scallops & salmon. The scallops were perfect with a subtle smoked flavour that still allowed the scallop flavour to shine through.
Cold smoked salmon was unbelievable. Also good was the Orange Roughy. Just wish we had a shop like this near where we live.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“YUMMMMMM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We bought lovely smoked tuna & kingfish, return visit a day later for more tuna and lovely salmon.
Great selection of smoked goods, friendly staff & reasonable prices.
Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scrummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Smoked mussels, this is quite a new experience for me. Oh my goodness, they are fabulous! I could eat them all day long, and then some more! The garlic and barbecue flavours were my favourite. If only they came to my town!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Only day 2 in NZ and travelling up to Moehau on the Coromandel Penninsula, this little gem set us up for a seafood extravaganza. Smoked mussels with barbecue sauce, garlic and chilli followed by smoked snapper from another world! All it needed was some fresh snapper straight from the sea and we were eating like kings.

Do not miss this little gem, its stunning value, friendly service and stunning produce. Look out caviar, lobster and foie gras, this is the real deal!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Yummy smoked peppered mackerel and chili mussels. Friendly service and reasonable prices. This is our second visit. We will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coromandel Smoking Co. also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Coromandel Smoking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coromandel Smoking Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.