We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most chilling lounge ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driving Creek Cafe

Driving Creek Cafe
180 Driving Creek Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 restaurants in Coromandel
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“The Most chilling lounge ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Felt like Bob Marley. Great Choice and relaxing atmosphere. Closing hours a bit limited though - 16:00 in the afternoon...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    61
    37
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wholesome vegetarian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A restfull and quirky little cafe, with fresh, tasty vegetarian offerings. Much of the ingredients are grown onsite and portions are generous. A great stop before/after a visit to Driving Creek Railways and Potteries

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Food In Coromandel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went here for a mid morning breakfast, it's funky. It's friendly, it's got a great atmosphere and the food is pretty bloody good too. Free Wi-Fi, great selection of drinks. Oh and they also seem to be a 2nd hand book shop as well. 5 out of 5 *****

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coromandel's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's all the little quirky, unique details that make this cafe one of my favourite places in all of New Zealand! Set in a beautiful mud house, with an attached second hand bookshop, great music & staff from all around the world.. the atmosphere at the Driving Creek is like none other. Now don't be asking for ham on your cheese toasty.. the food is purely vegetarian, but meat lovers will find something delicious to satisfy those taste buds too!! Menu is breakfast/lunch served until around 5 I believe. All ingredients are fresh as can be.. some even picked from the back garden... including beautiful flowers decorating each plate. And you will be happily filled up, portion size is fair & filling... plus all your usual favourite coffees, & a big wall of loose leaf tea to choose from (and a good range of unique teapots!). Also, the homemade smoothies and milkshakes are to die for...I spent many days sat on the cozy living room couches enjoying a healthy yet ridiculously fresh & deeelish fruit smoothie.. and taking advantage of what every traveller loves... FREE WIFI!
If you happen to drop in for a meal while either owner is in.. don't be afraid to say hello, they are some of the kindest & most interesting people I have ever met!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,088 reviews 1,088 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 468 cities Reviews in 468 cities
952 helpful votes 952 helpful votes
“Veggie heaven,but where's the hammock?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

There is a time when you need a break from red meat. This is where this vegetarian eatery in a rural eatery,is a drawcard. Surrounded by fruit trees,you sit in a sculptured garden
So,we started with scrambled tofu.....up your alley?......certainly with me. Its marinated organic tofu with mustard seeds,cumin and tumeric. Great starter. We also had a 'six inch sammie' packed with delicious condiments and organic potato wedges. My femme had a baked ricotta and spinach pie. Delicious!
We are ready for a hammocking experience. They should line the waterfront,in my opinion. what do you think?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driving Creek Cafe also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Driving Creek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driving Creek Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.