We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do they get these great flavours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KORU at Rapaura

KORU at Rapaura
586 Tapu-Coroglen Road | RD5, Coromandel 3575, New Zealand
++64 7 868 4821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Coromandel
Cuisines: Bakery, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: A place where Mother Nature tickles your taste buds! Sample great home-style cooking, using fresh ingredients from the Coromandel; like Hauraki Flounder, Green Lipped Mussels and seasonal treats. Served in a tranquil setting surrounded by New Zealand flora. The perfect place to enjoy a 'Dam’ good coffees and home-baked delights.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Where do they get these great flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You just have got to come here. Sacha is the master in the kitchen, who proudly proclaims he's not a chef, but if that is true, he is certainly a great cook. Maybe the chalk board menu at first sight looks a little sparce, but the food is truly great. My chicken tikka was excellent, and my wifes Morrocan Lamb Balls wonderful. We will be back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food - gorgeous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a fine! Who would have thought there would be such good food so far off the beaten track! This is a seriously good restaurant and the prices/service/food/selection are excellent. Very gracious service, too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food here is amazing, fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. The staff are helpful and the ambience quite wonderful

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
1 review
“Lunch at Koru at Rapaura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Myself and three friends went up for lunch,I had Fish Pie,Mandy had Mediteranian Lamb Balls,Renee had Chicken Tikka and Delsia had Hawian Pizza, Awesome food we were all very impressed with our dishes,after a walk upto the wonderful water fall, we went back for cake and coffee, very satisfying indeed, we highly recommend Koru at Rapaura.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, gracious service, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Koru consistently provides excellent quality food, service and value. The selection is local and varied, always presented beautifully and cooked with care to perfections. Co-owners Sacha in the kitchen and Sally is front of house - have high standards of service. The setting is gorgeous - regardless of the weather. The building is architecturally designed to make the most of the garden views and is spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We own a local accommodation business and always recommend Koru to our guests who are never disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KORU at Rapaura also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to KORU at Rapaura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KORU at Rapaura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.