We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coromandel Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coromandel Court Motel to your Saves list
Coromandel Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   365 Kapanga Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely and immaculately clean, very well maintained. Room had everything we could have wished for. Owner / Manager very welcoming and a great source of helpful local information.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2012, and were delighted on arrival to find that we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom unit - plenty of room to unpack all our stuff after 4 weeks living out of bags, and the facilities were spotlessly clean. Yes, the TV may be a bit dated, but with all that fabulous peninsula to explore, who wants to watch TV anyway?

Steve and Margaret gave useful information on local restaurants and bars, and also on places to visit in the Coromandel generally. We had a pleasant time sitting in the garden area with them, enjoying a beer and a chat, and thoroughly enjoyed their welcome - complete with a bunch of their home-grown grapes and a passion-fruit or two as well - as newbies to the motel trade, they seem to be getting most things right . We found the Coromandel a great area to relax after several weeks on the road, and Coromandel Court was a great find. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I recently took a group of 17 to Coromandel and we stayed at the Coromandel Court Motel. Owners Steve and Margaret were absolutely wonderful. We received a very friendly welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The motel units were extremely well appointed, spotlessly clean, and had everything possible included - even down to the little container of gingernuts sitting with the tea and coffee. A lovely surprise. Steve was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants for our dinner (we went to the hotel up the road and the dinner was absolutely fantastic - definately recommend the chili seafood). Two of my ladies were very tired and didn't want to go out to dinner - so darling Margaret cooked them dinner and delivered it to their room. This couple really go the extra mile for their guests. They have only been in the motel industry for a short time, but I can say with all certainty that this couple has a great future as they are excellent hosts. I would thoroughtly recommend staying at this motel when you visit Coromandel. It's a real gem. Many thanks to Steve and Margaret for making us so welcome, and for all the extra things you did for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights. We had a two bedroom unit with separate kitchen/lounge area, so plenty of space. Facilities very good, comfortable and well maintained. Owners most welcoming and provided excellent local knowledge. Motel within walking distance of local shops and eateries. Not the cheapest motel we have stayed in but did not think that it was overpriced. Would certainly stay there again if back in that beautiful area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Nothing wrong with the place- nice position, clean, tidy, etc but it simply was not worth the money ($180 per night including $20 per night for our two year old). We stayed in similar accommodation in Napier for c. $120 per night, and paid a similar rate in Rotorua for a resort. For the prices they charge I would expect a pool, proper kitchen, new TV and DVD player, all of which were lacking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Owner at Coromandel Court Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our pricing was based on the Season and on other Motels in the area that we compete with. We are happy to inform you that we have now upgraded all our units with flat screen TV's.
Sky TV, DVD and free WiFi are now available!
We would be very happy to welcome you again.
Your hosts Steve and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Spent one night in a studio unit at Coromandel Court Motel - this would have to be one of the cleanest, well appointed units that we have had in NZ with comfortable king size beds.
Owners really helpful and friendly - well done and thanks !!

Hot Rodders
Auckland

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

If you visit NZ, do not miss out on the Coromandel Peninsula. It is hauntingly beautiful. Go beyond Thames and stay at Coromandel Town. We stayed here at the Coromandel Court for two nights at the beginning of December 2011, early on in a trip all over New Zealand. Coromandel Town is very small, but a really great place to stay. The motel is at one end of the main street. The owners are completely friendly and welcoming, and also because it was quiet gave us a better room than we had booked! The motel was spotless, well equipped and quiet, with good self catering facilities. We self catered one night and both breakfasts. There are a couple of small supermarkets, some intersting gift shops, several restaurants of various sorts and a couple of pubs, all a minute or so walk from the motel. We ate at the Pepper Pot, not as upmarket as it was described - great food and a nice refined atmosphere, not over expensive. We also had a couple of drinks in the Star and Garter pub, definitely recommended, it has good beer, wine and character. The tourist attractions in Coromandel Town itself proved a bit hit and miss, but it is vital to explore the surrounding area, using the gravel roads (we were in a Toyota sallon). Along the coast to Fletcher Bay (watch out for a couple of small fords), stunning coastal scenery and bright red pohutukawa trees. And up the gravel 309 road, do not miss the Kauri Grove and also the Waiau Falls - beautiful forest tracks, close to the road, easy walking. A memorable visit, we recommend both the place and the motel.

Room Tip: They all looked good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coromandel Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coromandel Court Motel

Address: 365 Kapanga Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coromandel Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coromandel Court Motel Excellent location (3-minute stroll to shops and restaurants) Quiet, yet conveniently set in the heart of peaceful Coromandel township opposite bus stop and behind the i-SITE All units ground-floor and designated smoke free Quality accommodation: spacious studio units and 2-brm apartments Quality furnishings throughout Choice of king-size or single beds Groups welcome. Free Wireless internet available. Base yourself in Coromandel Town and explore the many beaches, walkways, history and fishing the region has on offer.25 minute drive to start of the walkway to New Chums Beach rated among the worlds top beaches, an hours drive to Hot Water beach and Cathedral Cove. Hosts: Margaret and Steve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coromandel Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coromandel Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.