We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts, great accom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Court Motel
Save
You added Abbey Court Motel to your Saves list
234 Tiki Rd, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Coromandel B&B and Inns
Redland City, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, great accom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was a perfect spot to stay - only minutes walk to the Coromandel town centre and a great base for exploring the Coromandel area. The accom was very well appointed, clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a 2 room unit which was great for our family of 2ad 2chd. The kids had fun on the tramp, swing and patting the resident horses, dogs, chickens and cat. The hot spa was a great way to finish off the day. The free Wi-Fi was also a great bonus - allowing us to touch base with friends back home. The hosts Kirsty and Steve were so friendly and accommodating. (even trying to help fix my son's iPod after he locked himself out... We have now restored it all thanks Kirsty and all the games etc were saved). Their help with planning our trip was great, both by email before we arrived and also while we were there. You also must do the Driving Creek Railway while you are in town.. just 5mins drive away.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet (soundproofed I believe) . The 2 room unit for the few extra dollars is worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night while touring. Booked on the internet after reviews by others. Definately was not dissapointed with the very quite location. We arrived around 12:00 noon and room was ready. Very large and modern room one of the only motels we stayed in with shower screens instead of just shower curtains.Heater and Heated Tower rails, Plug for hairdryer, Free DVD from office Library, Free Wifi, Free laundry,free continental breakfast, tea/Cofee and fresh milk and a hose to wash your car next to Laundry which we made use of. Execellent value for money and only 5 minutes walk to town. On our trip around the Coromandels and back to Auckland this was certainly the best value for money hotel we stayed in and I thoroughly recomend it to other Trip Advisor members

Room Tip: All rooms are quite, well down the back and away from the main road and appeared the same on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked here for 3 nights but asked for another so stayed 4. Excellent motel room, lots of free facilities eg laundry, dryer and wi fi [though this was ,limited to 5mb a day]. Nice touch was the toiletries, milk and tea/coffee etc and good kitchen facilities. Plenty of heating [NZ winter] and nice bed. Wonderful views and very central [5 mins walking] to the centre for shops and cafes etc. The motel is not that old and is bright clean and modern. I overcame the limited wi fi by 'hooking' into the wi fi from next door and buying a week for $15 which suited me as I use a lot. Can't recommend enough and would love to go back - but it is 24 hours of flyting!!

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably better for privacy as I had a room with patio doors out to the car park and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty898, General Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at Abbey Court Motel and taking the time to write a review.
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you here again the next time you visit the Coromandel.
(Sorry about the limited Wifi, Did you come down and ask for more?) Most times we give out a few more if people come back asking for it. but thats good you found away to stay on the net. i love the internet 2 and would need more than 5mb aday!:) I will have a chat with the owners and see if we can up the amount per day.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent only one night at Court and it was very good. the room is big, with enough appliances to cook, TV, table, chairs - everything one may need. Good heater, good shower - although it was a bit difficult to adjust the water temperature. Comfy bed and free wifi - but as many other places in NZ, during the night it's not very reliable. Also, it's in a good location, in the main street but very quiet. Price was ok and staff is very nice. We recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty898, General Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at Abbey Court Motel and taking the time to write a review
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for letting us know about the shower and that is was hard to adjust the water temperature And about the WiFi not very reliable in the night time, these are things we need to hear so we can do our best to fix them as soon as we can, i will pass this info onto the owners and get these issue looked at.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was quiet and clean with modern facilities. The staff were very friendly. It was good value for money. Convenient location to the township's shops and restaurants.

Trip advisor is making me add characters to get up to 200...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtMotel, Front Office Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.

We are so happy to get such good feedback.

We hope to have you stay again the next time you visit the Coromandel.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannonvale, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We only a one night at the Abbey Court Motel but found it very comfortable, extremely clean and ideally located to explore Coromandel town. We were a group of four (2 couples) and stayed in a family room which was large and had everything we needed. Good value and very friendly staff/owner. Enjoyed the spa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtMotel, Front Office Manager at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.

We are so happy to get such good feedback.

We hope to have you stay again the next time you visit the Coromandel

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent Queen's Birthday weekend here and it was an excellent spot. Everyone we had anything to do with was helpful and the room itself was great. As others have said the rooms (and we stayed in a 'studio') were extremely spacious. The unit was exceedingly well equipped with lots of useful stuff in the kitchen. The bed was really comfortable and the whole place was very clean and tidy. We enjoyed the use of the spa pool after lots of cycling and it was a quick and easy walk into town. Great place. Exceedingly good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtMotel, Owner at Abbey Court Motel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the time you took to write a review for Abbey Court Motel.
It is wonderful to have such good feedback and yes the spa is awesome after you have been cycling for the day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Motel

Address: 234 Tiki Rd, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coromandel Town's newest motel. We have modern, spacious family and studio units, all with their own kitchen and bathroom. We are only 250m from the main street where there is a great selection of cafes and restaurants. There is free use of WiFi, laundry, bikes and a large selection of DVDs while staying with us. We offer discounts for long term stay and can tailor an accommodation for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.