We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterworks

The Waterworks
471, The 309 Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3582, New Zealand
+64 7 866 7191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Coromandel
Type: Museums, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Specialty Museums, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Release the child within and experience New Zealand's quirkiest theme park. Voted by AA Tourism as a must-do Kiwi experience The Waterworks is a theme park with a difference. Set in 5 acres of native Coromandel Bush and just 10 minutes from Coromandel Town is an array of water powered inventions, quirky contraptions and fun to discover at every turn. Inspired by the ability to create something new out of something old our attractions are made largely from recycled materials and are powered by water. Water is used to keep time on the wooden water clock; watch out though it often works on Coromandel time. We've got water cannons to blast away on and bikes that pump H2O. Our human sized hamster wheel is an absolute hoot and our mad inventions leave people wondering "what the".As well as the 70+ attractions to look at, play on, or interact with, The Waterworks has a generous adventure playground area perfect for picnics, an onsite café, free use of BBQs and a natural swimming hole to cool off in during the hot summer months.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family had such a wonderful time here. We were blow away with the amazing waterworks, artwork and activities on the property. Our meal was fantastic, the service was great and the whole experience was splendid. The owners have a done a tremendous job here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    56
    24
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Water-lot-of-fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

You have to be joking, We had been in Coromandel for the weekend and were driving back to my sisters when we saw a sign. 10 minutes up this dirt road we thought we'd been conned as nothing was coming into view except trees and more trees. Just as we were about to give up this place appears in the middle of no-where.

The first thing we thought was 'Well it looks very professional, so many out of the way tourist places in New Zealand look like they fell off the back of a lorry. We could hear screaming, screeching and cries of laughter as we walked across the car park. A little entrance, a really helpful lady served us and took our $60 for a family entry. Hmmm we though a bit pricey, especially for a place in the middle of no-where. You couldn't be more wrong about this place, it was worth every penny, in fact when we left (4 hours later) we thought it was the most fun and the best value place we'd been to in all NZ.

It's a fun place, full of crazy mad hatter type things. YOu can play of some, watch others, get involved, get wet, get scared - the flying fox is totally awesome and wouldn't be allowed in America. We didn't see the kids for over two hours, just as well as we were behaving like kids ourselves. If you want some fun, and I mean the kinda fun you miss these days then make sure you visit. We loved it, it was spring so a bit chilly (we didn't go swimming) but it must be a brilliant place in summer.

The place is off the beaten track on something called the 309 road, don't be put off it's worth the effort.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier. New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, so cool even for adults the attractions are so well put together and the staff are great. A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The whole thing was great, be prepared to get wet from the hidden water spouts in the trees..good to be a kid again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome attaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our little family loved the waterworks kept the little ones busy for half the day and me and my partner also enjoyed having a play on everything including the flying fox :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Odd but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A very different kind of park with numerous fun activities. Things to do for all ages. A big adventure playground and a cafe on site which does good coffee. The adults version of the flying fox is worth a go but not for the faint hearted! Only problem was there are a few activities where you get unexpectedly wet which is a bit irritating when you're on holiday and have very limited clothing especially as some of the water isn't particularly clean, would be nice to have a bit of warning. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterworks also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Waterworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.