We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic fun for all the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterworks

The Waterworks
471, The 309 Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3582, New Zealand
+64 7-866 7191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Release the child within and experience New Zealand's quirkiest theme park. Voted by AA Tourism as a must-do Kiwi experience The Waterworks is a theme park with a difference. Set in 5 acres of native Coromandel Bush and just 10 minutes from Coromandel Town is an array of water powered inventions, quirky contraptions and fun to discover at every turn. Inspired by the ability to create something new out of something old our attractions are made largely from recycled materials and are powered by water. Water is used to keep time on the wooden water clock; watch out though it often works on Coromandel time. We've got water cannons to blast away on and bikes that pump H2O. Our human sized hamster wheel is an absolute hoot and our mad inventions leave people wondering "what the".As well as the 70+ attractions to look at, play on, or interact with, The Waterworks has a generous adventure playground area perfect for picnics, an onsite café, free use of BBQs and a natural swimming hole to cool off in during the hot summer months.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic fun for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a fabulous day out at the Waterworks - real kiwi ingenuity at work! with lots of fun to be had (as long as you don't mind getting a little wet!) - this was the highlight of our holiday for my daughter.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    69
    28
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whakatane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You have to go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our family had a wonderful and entertaining day out at waterworks. We all said we would go
Again if we go back to coromandel. From the fantastic n
Machinery to the funny signs around the park you will be entertained the whole way. The gran dkids
Loved the water hole at the end of a hot day. The park is beautifully done with the trees and
Gardens.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great idea and lovely location. Shame many items not working, or in need of repair. Have to say might be a bit pricey given not in the best condition.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Family run venture that the kids (our group of 11 were aged 11 - 14 yrs) really enjoyed. Prepare to get wet! The cafe had good food with vegetarian options (nice to see).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just a bit tired and in need of a face lift.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Some years ago the family went to this attraction. It was brilliant. Three days ago my wife and I decided that on past experiences and enjoyment we would do a revisit.
I must say we were disappointed. The exhibits which were still as ingenious and interesting needed repairs and a tidy up. The all looked tired.
The restaurant, whilst of clean appearance needed a bit of spit an polish. Chipped paint on the kitchen drawers, tables were showing signs of being tired and need refurbishing.

On the plus though, great BBQ facilities and a great children's play area.

The $20.00 admission is too much having regard to the overall condition of the facility.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterworks also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Waterworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.