We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bush railway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driving Creek Railway and Potteries

Driving Creek Railway and Potteries
380 Driving Creek Road, Coromandel, New Zealand
07 8668 703
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Coromandel
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic Railroads, Sightseeing Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A bush railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a journey I have wanted to do for a long time and I wasn't disappointed. The train meandered through bush clad hills with the top of a hill at the Eyeful tower looking over the Hauraki Gulf to Auckland and Waiheki Island with lots of smaller islands in the foreground. The driver gave a running commentary of the history of the railway built to carry clay to the pottery by Barry Bricknell, quite an undertaking. Eventually and due to popular demand the tracks were extended to the delight of the many locals and tourists who take this trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    114
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had heard about the railway but didn't really know about the railway. We found it very interesting and fun to go on. The Eyeful Tower is brilliant - plenty of time to take photos and have a look around, The train ride was great - staff knew their stuff so commentary was informative and interesting (they have a passion that has been passed on from owner to staff which is great to see). Well worth the cost - truly an original attraction. We both loved it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fantastic, the views amazing. I'm a little scared of heights, but coped well, I just didn't look down at times. Really interesting and we enjoyed every minute of it. Very interesting commentary and when you asked a question it was answered. Would recommend for adults and kids alike, especially if you like trains or something interesting and different to do.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrawonga, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

For an attraction that started out as a transport for pottery clay, this railroad is a great attraction for train enthusiasts. It is a must see if you are in Coromandel town! My husband and I enjoyed it immensely!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must see train ride with view that is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great experience - to see what one man built and so clever. NZ's only narrow-gauge track mountain rail line! The trip up (yes you go up!) in the train is beautiful as you go through NZ bush and at the top get a great view. Kids and adults will all enjoy this. Train driver great at sharing the story behind the train track etc. The pottery everywhere (all from the clay on the land) is fantastic. Very clever. Very NZ!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driving Creek Railway and Potteries also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Driving Creek Railway and Potteries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driving Creek Railway and Potteries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.