We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Lodge Coromandel to your Saves list
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Myself and my two young sons were traveling the Coromandel. Without a booking Anchor Lodge were able to sort us out some accommodation. It was of a very high standard, as is the entire complex. My sons were delighted with the heated pool and spa onsite and the grounds are laid out beautifully. The two bedroom unit was perfect. The customer service here was excellent, right down to our cooked breakfasts being delivered to our room. This is a must stay if you are in the Coromandel and we will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    84
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
107
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in a lovely lodge for six. Really beautifully designed and thoroughly modern, although compact for six of us, and not much of a kitchen (microwave, few rings, no oven). Great bathroom with spa bath, pretty mezzanine bedroom. Nice deck, and access to a BBQ, although not really a great view. Tiny pool, but fun for the kids. Great outdoor hot tub, and could be booked in advance for private sessions.

Breakfast was brought to us the night before to put in the fridge...good continental choices and complimentary with our room rate.

Helpful staff that told us about local amenities and particularly about the glow worm cave next door which otherwise we would never have found...and they had free Wellington boots for us!

Good location for Coromandel Town, walkable to main street and activities within easy drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

CONS:
# Only motel to ask for credit card details to ensure we don't 'run away' in case of damages. We kindly said no thank you but they did not give another option. He was rude and said "Give me your card number or leave!" Never had this before, even at hotels.

PROS:

# Nice and clean motel, no dust or dirt inside.
# Quiet town (coromandel)
# Nice architecture.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
The great thing about working in the hospitality industry is all of the interesting people you get to meet. These ones were certainly a special case and did not disappoint! They refused to give us any details of any sort which raised a flag immediately. Did not want to write their address or credit card details on the check-in form which is standard info required at any accommodation provider upon check in, hence I calmly advised them they would need to provide these details or find accommodation elsewhere. They then had a massive outburst of rage and couldn't understand why we had such a policy. We were then provided with an invalid credit card number which I rejected and was met with yet another outburst of rage. In the end we actually did you a favor by not turning you away because I highly doubt anyone else would have accepted you. The ironic thing is by not giving us your credit card or address details I now have no where to send your $150 Braun electric toothbrush that you left behind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

overall this place was awesome, tidy, handy to things...service was good and very helpful.would definitely go back :-) The kitchenette was fully equipped with everything you need. fridge was a bit small but did the job...!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We did not want to drive up the Coromandel Peninsula and back in one day. We stayed at the Anchor Lodge in Coromandel Town. It worked out great. We had a ground floor suite with a kitchen. It was close to town and right across from the water. The room was very nice and was just what we needed for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We've just come back from an easter break in the Coromandel, we stayed here in a room with a balcony and it was superb, we did not realise all that was on offer and the photos on the website don't do it justice, our room was clean modern and had all you needed for a long or short stay, very comfy bed and sofa, the staff on reception were friendly and very helpful, there is free use of the jacuzzi and swimming pool as well as the barbecues on site, also you can have free bike hire from the hotel also they do an optional breakfast, all in all a very pleasant stay, will definetely stay here again, big thumbs up

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for the rooms with balconies, you will enjoy having breakfast out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The road to our holiday rental was rained out and so we arrived in coromandel at around 4:30 looking for a place to stay we stopped at a few motels and found them uninspiring and pricey. We then stopped at anchor lodge. We were shown a room in the bush and immediately became inspired. The room was fastidiously clean. Bed sheets arranged in an inviting way. Shower and bathroom also ver clean. Good water pressure. Good bed. Nice little balcony. Would definitely stay again. Not happy about the charge for wifi but this tends to be quite common here in NZ.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Lodge Coromandel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.