We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay in Double Bed Private (Backpackers)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Lodge Coromandel to your Saves list
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Double Bed Private (Backpackers)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Check in at the office was easy and the person was very friendly. Unfortunately forgot to ask for the Wifi password. Facilities were good - there were plenty of bowls/plates/cups and cutlery. Would stay again :)

Room Tip: We had Marlin Cabin #3 which is larger and had a bigger TV. But there is seating on the deck outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    84
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
107
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed one night in a motel room and a further three nights in one of the spa apartments. We found the service excellent and staff very friendly and courteous.

Being so close to town yet tucked away in tranquil surroundings was a big bonus at the end of a busy year. The information brochure was excellent though may have to be checked from time to time for any updates to pricing at the included attractions (Waterworks is now $20 per adult).

Good range of appliances, well appointed rooms and the spa apartment was excellent for 5 adults. (The four slice toaster in the motel room could be switched with the two slice toaster in the apartment).

Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

When I initially queried availability the last room had just been let. I was offered an apartment for a few dollars more and took it. Glad I did as it was in town, above the bakery and fish and chip shop and right next door to the pub and a restaurant. The fittings and interior were superb and the view was great The rooms at the Lodge did look a little small and there is a backpacker lodge on the same site, so lucky for me I guess.

Room Tip: This unit might not be well advertised, so just ask about it when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Small lovely motel across from the water. Rooms were clean and very nice and modern with high ceilings. Small kitchen in the room, very comfortable beds, and deck looking toward the water. Staff was very helpful. Entire property was clean and neat, very well maintained with lots of plantings.

Room Tip: upstairs for better view,but all rooms look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

On arrival the place looked lovely. We were pleased with our room and service. They did a breakfast in bed option which looked delicious. However, in the middle of the night, there was aloud knock at the door. We were woken up on our relaxing holiday to a man quite rudely accusing us of having a dog input room! When we said... Um... No... He didn't seem convinced and seemed very hostile. We said he could search our room but he said no and went away. This was very late - gone midnight. In the morning, the breakfast was awful. Tinned fruit salad, dry breakfast, served with a yogurt that looked like it had been pulled out of a child's lunch box! Very misleading on the menu. When we checked out the following morning we explained we were unhappy with the dog incident. He seemed unconcerned, changed his story to a staff member complaining,and said as long as we didn't have one it was FINE. Well it's not fine because it ruined our stay, and an apology would have possibly fixed that. Won't be going back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
That is quite an inaccurate story of what actually happened. These people phoned and asked if they could bring their dog. I said no because we absolutely do not take dogs here. I had 1 staff member walk past their unit and 1 customer next to their unit tell me that they could hear a dog barking. Naturally I went and knocked on the door and asked them if they had a dog with them. Was certainly not "hostile" and certainly did not "wake them up" because their light was on and the tv was on. It was also 10pm not "midnight" I don't mind people doing fair and reasonable reviews but this is far from one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Facilities were clean and cozy. Hostel kitchen was well supplied. Booked a private room in the hostel, only downside is it was REALLY small. Only room for the bed and tiny space to put belongings and get in and out the door. No room to stretch at all. Staff were friendly and helpful and the place has a great atmosphere and is a 5 minute walk into town. Would book again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Anchor lodge is a lovely and peaceful place to stay in coromandel especially the services the cottage we stayed in was very lovely and felt homely and kids like it to especially in the outside views I like it we will return for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Lodge Coromandel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.