We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning apartment, beautifully appointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Lodge Coromandel to your Saves list
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning apartment, beautifully appointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival we were checked in by a lovely young girl, shown to our room, which was a wonderful loft apartment, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Had a wonderful stay here, hope to return one day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    84
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
107
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights, unfortunately during a storm which caused a power outage. Luckily we found a small torch in our car as there were no candles or torches in the unit for such an occasion. The owners never checked to ensure guests were catered for during this time. We booked a luxury suite, however there were no comfortable chairs to relax in, just a queen bed and single, one table & 2 chairs. We do not enjoy lounging in the bedroom while watching TV or eating. A spa bath but a had a terrible smell in the bathroom while in operation. The unit was clean & serviced on the second day, however very sloppy as the sheet was just folded over the bedspread with no straightening or tucking in from the previous night. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Firstly, it's disappointing that you've chosen to write a review like this and not talk about these issues with us at the time, you did stay 2 nights and could have easily bought any concerns to our attention after staying the 1st night. We have 25 rooms and we would have happily moved you to another one.You did inspect this room before you decided to stay so you were aware of the room layout of beds and chairs. Unfortunately yes the power did go out for about 1 hour, obviously beyond our control and luckily it doesn't happen often. We avoid putting candles in our rooms because of the risk of fire, you're correct, we should have a enough torches on hand in the event of a power cut which we will get on to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Family of 6 stayed here for a night as we travelled around the Coromandel Peninsula. Coped with only one bathroom and toilet as only one night. Had two tv's which we do like with 4 children. Unit was compact but very user friendly and modern. Only one separate bedroom(Master with tv) with extra queen bed on mezzanine and two singles in lounge. Didnt use the pool area but looked great. We did take the bikes for a ride around the bays which was fun. There was a very funky artificial light 'tree' outside which we all loved. Look forward to another stay here again some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We travelled over on the ferry from Auckland so needed accomodation not to far away from the town.The motel was just right only approx 400metres away and we had a good view of the sea from our room set on the side of the hill.The room was very pleasant clean and tidy with a kitchenthat was good for a studio unit.I'm sure it would be difficult to find a better place in the area and the staff were also very friendly.It would be a good place for a family with children having a nice little pool and spa but unfortunately we forgot our gear.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Lodge is set amongst native bush and tropical gardens overlooking Coromandel harbour. It was a cold and windy place when we visited and despite the heater inside we never got warmed up. It has a small swimming pool and a spas the latter being in used when we arrived We ordered breakfast which arrived on time to our unit. Not a great meal but filled the gap! Would be a great place to take children during the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed out time at the anchor lodge! everything was lovely everone was very nice and helpful. Everything we needed was avaliable! Will definitely be staying here next time we are in the Coromandel! HIGHLY recommended :)

Room Tip: Spa unit! if you need to relax :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a spa unit which was a studio type unit with a full kitchen area and small dining area. The whole place is immaculately presented and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was reasonably large but had an extra single bed which took up quite a bit of space. The kitchen has everything you need. Only problem was there wasn't anywhere to sit and relax other than the bed and the smoke alarm went off every time we made toast (I don't have very toasted toast!). There's a walking track right nearby and it's a good spot to explore from. There's a very nice little pool/bar/spa area although not sure that it was open when we were there. Would stay there again but would probably get a bigger room and skip getting the spa bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Lodge Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Lodge Coromandel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.