We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 246, Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 50% on Winter!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Upon arriving our party was of 10. One room had one bed in it and we requested a room change that room change took too much time and the two in our group didn't get into their Room Until 6:30pm this was unacceptable. Also we noticed that heir electrical outlets were not of the United States. Upon asking about usage of our curling irons, the young lady at the front rest stated that we could PURCHASE and adapter for $6.00. Not a good answer after being inconvenienced with the untimely ness of the room preparation. So customer service skilled were not practiced here. The food had the taste of an island seasoning that was horrible. This was verbalized to one of the dining room staff members and he was attentive to our complaint. He arranged with the chef to make a dish to our liking. Thanks to his staff member. However we ventured out the resort that night and it was extended to us on our last night.

Addressed these concerns to the general manager the morning before our departure to Mark Hawken and we left the resort. Couldn't have been any happier to exit. So this was a horrible experience and last to say they're were a larger group there that the staff was extra attentive to. I Won't say their names. Every one is as important as the next person. And to emphasize courtesy to one group over everyone else was unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Caroline...normally I would not respond to something so far from accurate but.....

.It is unfortunate that your group did not enjoy their stay here at Coconut Bay and for that I am truly sorry. When your group arrived the hotel was sold out and the front desk was jammed (I was there, checking people in) .. Our Assitant Front Desk Manager took your group aside for a private check (which we do for VIP groups) this alleviated the need for your group to stand in line - One of your rooms was a King Bed and you wanted a change to two beds...this takes time when a hotel is sold out. Your response to this was cursing out the Assistant Front Desk Manager who was giving you a VIP check in. Your group repeatedly told us the Staff here at Coconut Bay is rude/lazy/poor service...I'm sorry but I can categorically say that this is just false. Read the hundreds upon hundreds of Trip advisors (other than your own) and convince anyone the staff here is rude/lazy or gives poor service.

Here is what we did for your group in case you have forgotten; Champane and room escapades for each of you (all charges waived), your group said the food was not to your liking - you were introduced to the chef who created not one, not two but THREE private made to order dinners for your group designed after speical consultations with your group - Rude is that fact that after the chef spending hours designing cooking and setting for this one night your group did not even show up or call to cancel.

As far as the 220V power - you are travelling to another country - there are many countries in the world who have different power then North America - It is plastered all over our website and all our travel partners make it very clear that St Lucia is 220V and travellers should be prepared. Yes we do sell adaptors for those guests who have forgotten to purchase them back home before they travel.

As I told your group "leader" the morning you checked out I am truly sorry your group did not enjoy their stay, we here at Coconut Bay strive to exceed all our guests expectations. We did everything in our power to satisfy your group - unfortunately some in your group made a decison they were not going to enjoy our resort regardless.

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,937
    1,263
    338
    143
    98
See reviews for
1,479
1,285
47
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

lyn c fantastic place the hole experience was great the staff are so friendly and helpful they do everything and more the food really good so much choice my son got married there and its so beautiful its clean and comfortable would love to go back if you booked trips up book them up at the adventure desk at the hotel overall fantastic place cant praise it enough

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks to Mark, the GM and all his team for making our 2nd trip even more amazing than the one we had in Nov. The service, food and drinks are great and we had a fantastic time. we have 2 children, 2 and 6 and the kids club is run so well by Mia and her team, Darcey and samuel say hi to you all, i think we had dinner with samuel once because of all the childrens evening entertainment! its the one place we also have a couples break :)
The room was a refurbed one on the Splash side 4th floor and was great.
Special thanks to Junias for keeping my hubby happy !

Only negative point I found this time was food at the Italian but I know is being looked at.

Be great to come back again when all the refurb is done but I hope it doesn't lose its friendly feel

Thank you Michelle & Graham Wells

Room Tip: 4th floor splash rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our 1st time to Coconut bay and loved it from the start on arrival from the short hop from the airport It took appox 6 steps from the bus to be greeted with a cold towel & a very cold rum punch.When we got to our room that was on the 4th floor of Harmony the maid Victoria was just finishing off our room as we were a bit early she was very polite and left messages every day on a note pad that was left in the room, We had a couple of maintenance issues on our door over three days that were sorted out very quickly every time by Barbie via Fenton at reception. We had a surprise birthday dinner in the gazebo overlooking the beach it was a fantastic night thanks to Sherlanda for the hospitality. The beach towels were a great thing you could change them as many times as you wanted if Vicky was not on duty, just kidding ,Vicky was great very chatty and pleasant. Now for the adult bar were you can be greeted by Junias ( the mouth from the south ) who would mix a drink for any occasion and Nikater who's Coconut express was better than Junias sorry for that J. Nikater also brought food around the adult area while we were all sunbathing and taking it easy. Jimmy & Morgan took over the bar when Junias wasn't there and did a very good job. They also worked in the main bar in the reception area. The garden beauticians did a great job of keeping the gardens in tip top condition, and were a treat to walk around. Dont forget to go and see the donkeys in behind Splash side when you visit they are lovely. Now for the disappointment....... having to go home. Roll on next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I took our children and grandchildren the last week of May for a family vacation. We had a total of 9 adults and 5 children ages 16 - 9. The staff was excellent and catered to the children. The kids especially enjoyed going to the swim up bar and ordering their alcohol-less drinks. The waterpark and lazy river were great and our 9 year old enjoyed the kids club. The buffet was excellet for families. The 2 "reservation only" restaurants had a limited menu which did not change daily. We ALL agreed that it was a great family resort and would definitely consider it again when going to St. Lucia.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor rooms on the family side due to the walk out patio doors facing the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the place to go if you are looking for a resort with great service, close to airport, long beaches... and especially if your flight is delayed/ cancelled when leaving the island. I had an unusual delay, almost 7 hours with AA airlines and poor service. I ended up at Coconut Bay Resort for several hours and truly was met by an angel, 'Lennita'. She took very, very good care of the stressful issue. I had a lovely few hours at the resort before going back to the airport. The atmosphere is festive and fun. The beach is a lovely long stretch to walk, views are perfect. Be sure to say hello to Honey at the bar and ask for Honey's special drink. Do meet the smiling, helpful and very nice Lennita, she's wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After booking a week here for me and my partner (both 21) and then taking the dreaded look on here to see whether we'de made a mistake I can't quite believe how anyone can have a bad word to say about this hotel. Absolutely everything is good, we stayed in a Harmony room which was beautiful and very clean, the food was delicious and neither of us got a tiny bit of stomach upset and we ate a huge variety of the vast amount of dishes on offer. Its perfect for families, couples, friends, anyone really. I can honestly say we have never been to a more beautiful place and had such a good holiday, so much so we will deffo be going back. If you do go please make sure you pet the lovely dog that wanders around on the beach, he's very friendly and we sorta adopted him for the week whilst we missed our own pet :) .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 246, Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, 4 restaurants, 6 bars, 5 pools, 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.