We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Vieux Fort, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Madison, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This isn't the most upscale hotel, but it is clean, nicely decorated, well maintained and well suited for kids and families. We had the "family suite", which is basically two adjoining rooms with a connecting door. The beds were comfortable and the shower stall roomy. The staff is very friendly, the food was good, and the kids had a blast in the lazy river and the 2 water slides. The food in the a-la-carte restaurants was excellent (and I'm a foodie). While there are only 3, if we had stayed more than 5 days I'd have had no problem visiting each one a second time. Lots on the menus looked good and deciding what to order was a tough choice. Calabash is a must. Very unique food. The others were more traditional Asian and Italian with a Caribbean flair. The buffet has a good variety at all times (and we never had to wait), and the cajun chicken sandwich at the grille is fantastic. Also, definitely order a "dirty banana" at the bar.

All room balconies face the ocean and there is always a constant breeze rolling in, but it was never too windy. There are some good reefs to snorkel on just right off the beach if you go out far enough (about 2-3 times the breakwall distance). Lots of fish and coral, but slightly rough water sometimes depending on the wind (its on the Atlantic side). There is a snorkel shack right on the beach and they had kayaks as well. There is quite a bit of sea grass and it washes up on the beach regularly, but they do a good job maintaining it. The sand itself was nice and fine.

Very close to the airport (<10 minutes), which is a big plus. Some people in line at the airport were saying they had an hour and a half drive to get to their hotel (probably on the north side of the island). It is about 30-45 minutes to attractions in Soufriere, on a well-paved but winding road. I do have to say I was impressed with the condition of their roads. Complete opposite of Jamaica. I did get a little queasy both times, but that's pretty much what you're looking at traveling anywhere in St. Lucia because of the island's topography.

Another reviewer who went at the same time said that the hotel was full. That surprises me. I had assumed it was half full. We rarely waited in line behind more than a few people for anything --- the bars, the restaurants, the water slides. Other resorts I've been to, all the chairs are gone by 8am. And forget getting one in the shade. Not here. Plenty of chairs everywhere. It did not feel crowded at all --- quite the opposite.

While the waitstaff at the restaurants are on the slower side (one night with a group of six it was about 10 minutes between the first and last plate at the table), I can't think of a single bad attitude from ANY staff member. Even the gardeners wave and say "hi" to you. Bartenders are always singing. Even the grille people sweating up a storm were always courteous and took care of everyone. Everyone is super-friendly. I think this isn't just Coconut Bay, but indicative of St. Lucia. The people are just really warm and open and smiling all the time, waving and honking to each other everywhere you go. All of our tour guides and cab drivers were super-talkative and friendly. Even people hawking stuff when you're around town seem more interested in talking to you than selling to you. Compared to somewhere like Cancun, it is night and day.

We took two excursions, which we booked right in the hotel lobby. One was to see the volcano, which included a mud bath and a very hot hot tub, and a dip in a fresh-water area filled by a water fall (the temperature was like bath water). That also included breathtaking snorkeling at a marine reserve right between the Pitons. Incredible!!! Hundreds of colored fish of all kinds, choral, urchins a foot in diameter. Best snorkeling I've ever done. I stayed out an hour and didn't want to leave. The kids and I also tasted a bunch of cool fruit from a guy selling stuff out of a canoe right on the beach (try the big softball-sized "apricot" - can't remember what it is called).

We also did the whale and dolphin watching catamaran in Soufriere. No whales, but tons of dolphins and flying fish. That was a nice time.

All in all we had a very good time and would definitely recommend Coconut Bay to anyone, and especially St. Lucia in general. It's not like other tourist destinations where you see nothing but wall-to-wall tourists. It's off the beaten path so I think not as crowded (although the St. Lucian's want to change that obviously to increase tourism revenues). A real gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,861
    1,239
    334
    143
    98
See reviews for
1,444
1,248
45
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I work in the travel industry and have travelled extensively around the Caribbean with my family. I was just expecting a run of the mill 4 star all inclusive for a week of sunshine with the kids (9,11 and 12) but did not get anything like that. It was so much fun, absolutely fantastic Yoga, Pilates and Water aerobics with Vernon. The evening entertainment was very much enjoyed by the kids. The kids club are just the loveliest and most patient people I have ever met. Great bar staff and waitresses. Rooms were clean and spacious and there were lots of choices during the mealtimes for my kids.

The staff are truly amazing, they were so friendly and could not do enough for you, not just with the entertainment crew but everywhere. Really !
Shout out to:
Elva, Samanfer, Mitch, Anson, Vernon, Elsious, Sevee, Mia, Sarah, Ulia, Marcia, Valencia and Eric. We are all missing you already and cannot wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have traveled to many different islands and stayed at several all inclusive resorts. This one was by far, the most disappointing. Hotel is vey old and rooms are outdated, bathrooms are terrible. Food is just ok and the entertainment is non existent. They have sign up sheets but no activities ever happened and we never saw an activities director. The pool water is very cold and there is a constant wind, not breeze, that makes it almost chilly. There are Donkey's tied up to trees outside of the hotel and they make VERY loud noises every few hours all day and night. Makes it very hard to get a good night sleep. Bugs are a problem (especially at night on the outside of your hotel room door, gross! They do spray to help the situation but spraying pesticides at dinner time while your are eating outdoors is awful. Lounge chairs by the pool are very old, many broken and the water park is nothing more than 2 slides and a lazy river. The slides close at 4. and the pool bar at 5. There was another bar by the pool but it was never open. Beach is not good.

I have read the recent reviews and honestly cannot believe how anybody can say such positive things. If you are spending all that money to go on an all inclusive vacation, don't go here. Not worth the money, very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel. Poss little dated in areas. Good, huge variety of food (a little disappointed with Italian and Asian restaurants). Pools and areas great, non slip, ideal for kids. Clean and tidy. Beautiful beach tho tad blowy as Atlantic and bit seaweeds as it is a reserve but nothing spoilt it for us. Wedding package was perfect and so simple. Remember the Caribbean people are layed back and nothing seems urgent even wedding organisation or pouring a drink (seems slightly rude) but they do get right and make it enjoyable. Our wedding cake, flowers, venue, vowels and service couldn't have been more perfect for our family of four(we upgraded my bouquet for about £10 and one long stem flower for eldest daughter, other than that it was basic package). Entertainment was great, from bands to dancing to a country show to Caribbean show was fantastic, but you can always find somewhere just to chill. Great onsite photographers. The kids club was excellent, plenty to do, if our nearly 3 year old wasn't so precious we would have put her in daily (great hearing kids come out raving about it). Slides great fun for all ages. Rooms are clean, large and tidy, poss tad basic if being fussy. No complaints from us. If your going just chill and enjoy it, it's a family Caribbean fun and lovely resort (very near airport). Would recommend

Room Tip: Harmony for adults but soo much space and choice all over complex for pools, seating, quiet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

+ Just returned home from 11 days here for our honeymoon with our two young children. Staff, reception, bartenders, waiters/ waitresses, entertainment team, kids club staff very friendly and helpful, polite and kind. Our room was upgraded from a Garden view to a Splash view as we were a honeymoon couple. Rooms very spacious and clean. All restaurants pleasant with plenty of food choice, loved all of the types of restaurants; Italian, Caribbean, Asian food we wouldn't choose to eat at home so that was lovely. Enjoyed the themed nights and sitting outside for tea of an evening next to the pool. Our daughter enjoyed the kids club and the water slides and lazy river were brilliant. Lovely sandy beaches rotavated regularly by tractors to clear seaweed...... our daughter loved the horses. Tuesday & Saturday market set up in hotel convenient and a good selection of goods. Photographer on site for some action shots, Food available all day, loads of drinks & cocktails available. Very funny staff JUNIAS totally crazy and friendly :-) 5 minute transfer from Hewanorra airport however, very few planes overhead so still very quiet and not much disruption.

- average bathrooms with noticeable wear and tear. Delay in suitcases being taken up to room, no cot in room on arrival, balcony sliding doors unable to lock however fixed efficiently by staff, heavy rainfall caused a massive puddle in room due to door not being level with a gap between the door and door frame, not enough shelter from sunshine which we needed with our young baby which meant us having to get up very early to get sun loungers with shade. Not informed when activities are starting and where they will be taking place only meeting points advertised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Got back from the Coconut last week and have had the most amazing holiday.
As previously said in other reviews the staff are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. We did not go past one member of staff in our 2 week holiday who did not smile and say hello. I commented on numerous occassions how happy they were and obviuosly enjoyed there jobs,
The food is amazing and lots of choice and was very impressed with this. Even my fussy 11 and 14 year old boys loved it. Snacks great as well the only thing that would improve this is if there were some kind of ice cream during the day or at least at meal times.
The lobby area and complex is all very clean and lovely. Pools lovely and the area well maintained.
Rooms were large and very comfy and cleaned very well. Virginia our cleaner did an amazing job and was so friendly. The rooms are slightly tired but I know they are in the process of updating the rooms and bar areas.
Beach its not the Caribbean side so if you want the ideal clear calm seas and white sand then dont come this side. Having said that the sea was lovely, clear and warm and great for Kayaking in the waves. There is sea weed the amount of this changes day to day but the hotel works endlessly clearing the beach. Beach really nice too. Kids loved the lazy river, slides and daily activities. The only thing that lets the hotel down as many have metioned before and I really hope the managers do something about it is the nightly entertainment. Vernon and the team work really hard and they are amazing dancers so full credit to them for that, but when you have seen them do one dance you have seen it. The entertainment is pretty much them dancing every night. All entertainment is finished by about 8.30 at the very very latest 9.30. There is a night club but obviously the kids are not allowed in there so we were back in our rooms watching tv at 9ish and a sleep by 10pm. Having said that I would defo go back to this hotel and highly recommend it.
Thanks Coconut staff for an amazing holiday :)

Room Tip: Dont go out of your room at 6pm as they let off a smoke to kill the mosquitos and it stinks. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and 7 year old daughter stayed for 9 days (7 - 16 April) at the Coconut Bay Resort. We had read from other travelers in Trip Advisor that this resort was in need of modernisation, was not as clean as it should be therefore we were prepared and had somewhat lowered our expectations of the place. We needn't have worried because we had a wonderful 9 days and I'm happy to say that if you have booked on a trip to go, you will definitely enjoy it!

There were some niggling issues with checking in when we arrived at around 2:45 p.m and we were kept waiting for about 45 mins as our room was not ready yet. We were on the Splash side and had booked a Premium room on the fourth floor. The room itself was large and generally clean and had everything we needed. My daughter had a bunk bed which was more than adequate. This is not a 5 star hotel so please don't expect 5 star quality.

Whilst we were there, the hotel was around 80 -90% full but at no time did we feel there were too many people. There were no queues for food, there was no mad rush in the morning to grab sun loungers and the pools were never ever full. The lazy river and the water slides are a huge hit for the kids. Even then we never had to queue up for the water slides. There is also a wonderful kids club where you can leave your children and they are well looked after and entertained by the staff. Our thanks to Marcia, Sarah and Mia for looking after Olivia!)

The food in this place surpassed our expectations. In my opinion, the Calabash restaurant was the most impressive and the cuisine is truly exceptional (for an all inclusive resort). Our grateful thanks to Gina who was our server on the 3 occasions that we dined here. Gina was always helpful, friendly and she made a difference to our dining experience! The other restaurants are also very good and there is a good choice from the buffet section as well. We were fortunate enough to experience the Caribbean and Western evenings dining al fresco style by the poolside. Food was always good and service even better. All staff were generally very attentive and polite.

There are a couple of things that could be improved:
1) Wi-fi is only available (free) by the reception area - this should be extended to all areas of the resort
2) The pools need to be cleaned more regularly - because there is always a breeze, leaves from trees keep falling into the pool
3) We were not able to get an extended check out (apparently there were none available on the day we left although we found out from other guests that they had been offered this). The resort needs to provide at least the use of some rooms for those guests that are checking out late - an 11:00 a.m check out is far too early and it does mean that there are many people hanging around the lobby. The men's shower facilities in the toilets by reception do not work very well)
4) There should be a free shuttle from the resort for guests that want to go into Vieux Fort (you have to pay for a private taxi)
5) There could be more activities and evening entertainment but what was provided was probably good enough.

I would like to mention a special thank you to the following staff: Julianne (Duty Mgr); Gina (Calabash restaurant and the person that impressed us most!); Dahlia (swim up bar); Marcia, Sarah, Mia (Kids Club) and Samanfer (Entertainments)

This is a great resort and we had a relaxed and chilled out time. It is truly very good value for money and I would seriously consider coming back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.