We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb wedding/honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Vieux Fort, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Vieux Fort
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb wedding/honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel. Poss little dated in areas. Good, huge variety of food (a little disappointed with Italian and Asian restaurants). Pools and areas great, non slip, ideal for kids. Clean and tidy. Beautiful beach tho tad blowy as Atlantic and bit seaweeds as it is a reserve but nothing spoilt it for us. Wedding package was perfect and so simple. Remember the Caribbean people are layed back and nothing seems urgent even wedding organisation or pouring a drink (seems slightly rude) but they do get right and make it enjoyable. Our wedding cake, flowers, venue, vowels and service couldn't have been more perfect for our family of four(we upgraded my bouquet for about £10 and one long stem flower for eldest daughter, other than that it was basic package). Entertainment was great, from bands to dancing to a country show to Caribbean show was fantastic, but you can always find somewhere just to chill. Great onsite photographers. The kids club was excellent, plenty to do, if our nearly 3 year old wasn't so precious we would have put her in daily (great hearing kids come out raving about it). Slides great fun for all ages. Rooms are clean, large and tidy, poss tad basic if being fussy. No complaints from us. If your going just chill and enjoy it, it's a family Caribbean fun and lovely resort (very near airport). Would recommend

Room Tip: Harmony for adults but soo much space and choice all over complex for pools, seating, quiet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,784
    1,208
    331
    141
    98
See reviews for
1406
1213
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

+ Just returned home from 11 days here for our honeymoon with our two young children. Staff, reception, bartenders, waiters/ waitresses, entertainment team, kids club staff very friendly and helpful, polite and kind. Our room was upgraded from a Garden view to a Splash view as we were a honeymoon couple. Rooms very spacious and clean. All restaurants pleasant with plenty of food choice, loved all of the types of restaurants; Italian, Caribbean, Asian food we wouldn't choose to eat at home so that was lovely. Enjoyed the themed nights and sitting outside for tea of an evening next to the pool. Our daughter enjoyed the kids club and the water slides and lazy river were brilliant. Lovely sandy beaches rotavated regularly by tractors to clear seaweed...... our daughter loved the horses. Tuesday & Saturday market set up in hotel convenient and a good selection of goods. Photographer on site for some action shots, Food available all day, loads of drinks & cocktails available. Very funny staff JUNIAS totally crazy and friendly :-) 5 minute transfer from Hewanorra airport however, very few planes overhead so still very quiet and not much disruption.

- average bathrooms with noticeable wear and tear. Delay in suitcases being taken up to room, no cot in room on arrival, balcony sliding doors unable to lock however fixed efficiently by staff, heavy rainfall caused a massive puddle in room due to door not being level with a gap between the door and door frame, not enough shelter from sunshine which we needed with our young baby which meant us having to get up very early to get sun loungers with shade. Not informed when activities are starting and where they will be taking place only meeting points advertised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Got back from the Coconut last week and have had the most amazing holiday.
As previously said in other reviews the staff are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. We did not go past one member of staff in our 2 week holiday who did not smile and say hello. I commented on numerous occassions how happy they were and obviuosly enjoyed there jobs,
The food is amazing and lots of choice and was very impressed with this. Even my fussy 11 and 14 year old boys loved it. Snacks great as well the only thing that would improve this is if there were some kind of ice cream during the day or at least at meal times.
The lobby area and complex is all very clean and lovely. Pools lovely and the area well maintained.
Rooms were large and very comfy and cleaned very well. Virginia our cleaner did an amazing job and was so friendly. The rooms are slightly tired but I know they are in the process of updating the rooms and bar areas.
Beach its not the Caribbean side so if you want the ideal clear calm seas and white sand then dont come this side. Having said that the sea was lovely, clear and warm and great for Kayaking in the waves. There is sea weed the amount of this changes day to day but the hotel works endlessly clearing the beach. Beach really nice too. Kids loved the lazy river, slides and daily activities. The only thing that lets the hotel down as many have metioned before and I really hope the managers do something about it is the nightly entertainment. Vernon and the team work really hard and they are amazing dancers so full credit to them for that, but when you have seen them do one dance you have seen it. The entertainment is pretty much them dancing every night. All entertainment is finished by about 8.30 at the very very latest 9.30. There is a night club but obviously the kids are not allowed in there so we were back in our rooms watching tv at 9ish and a sleep by 10pm. Having said that I would defo go back to this hotel and highly recommend it.
Thanks Coconut staff for an amazing holiday :)

Room Tip: Dont go out of your room at 6pm as they let off a smoke to kill the mosquitos and it stinks. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and 7 year old daughter stayed for 9 days (7 - 16 April) at the Coconut Bay Resort. We had read from other travelers in Trip Advisor that this resort was in need of modernisation, was not as clean as it should be therefore we were prepared and had somewhat lowered our expectations of the place. We needn't have worried because we had a wonderful 9 days and I'm happy to say that if you have booked on a trip to go, you will definitely enjoy it!

There were some niggling issues with checking in when we arrived at around 2:45 p.m and we were kept waiting for about 45 mins as our room was not ready yet. We were on the Splash side and had booked a Premium room on the fourth floor. The room itself was large and generally clean and had everything we needed. My daughter had a bunk bed which was more than adequate. This is not a 5 star hotel so please don't expect 5 star quality.

Whilst we were there, the hotel was around 80 -90% full but at no time did we feel there were too many people. There were no queues for food, there was no mad rush in the morning to grab sun loungers and the pools were never ever full. The lazy river and the water slides are a huge hit for the kids. Even then we never had to queue up for the water slides. There is also a wonderful kids club where you can leave your children and they are well looked after and entertained by the staff. Our thanks to Marcia, Sarah and Mia for looking after Olivia!)

The food in this place surpassed our expectations. In my opinion, the Calabash restaurant was the most impressive and the cuisine is truly exceptional (for an all inclusive resort). Our grateful thanks to Gina who was our server on the 3 occasions that we dined here. Gina was always helpful, friendly and she made a difference to our dining experience! The other restaurants are also very good and there is a good choice from the buffet section as well. We were fortunate enough to experience the Caribbean and Western evenings dining al fresco style by the poolside. Food was always good and service even better. All staff were generally very attentive and polite.

There are a couple of things that could be improved:
1) Wi-fi is only available (free) by the reception area - this should be extended to all areas of the resort
2) The pools need to be cleaned more regularly - because there is always a breeze, leaves from trees keep falling into the pool
3) We were not able to get an extended check out (apparently there were none available on the day we left although we found out from other guests that they had been offered this). The resort needs to provide at least the use of some rooms for those guests that are checking out late - an 11:00 a.m check out is far too early and it does mean that there are many people hanging around the lobby. The men's shower facilities in the toilets by reception do not work very well)
4) There should be a free shuttle from the resort for guests that want to go into Vieux Fort (you have to pay for a private taxi)
5) There could be more activities and evening entertainment but what was provided was probably good enough.

I would like to mention a special thank you to the following staff: Julianne (Duty Mgr); Gina (Calabash restaurant and the person that impressed us most!); Dahlia (swim up bar); Marcia, Sarah, Mia (Kids Club) and Samanfer (Entertainments)

This is a great resort and we had a relaxed and chilled out time. It is truly very good value for money and I would seriously consider coming back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There were both good and bad points about the Coconut beach resort. We stayed in the Harmony section and our main complaint was the real lack of shade/sun umbrellas. Being slightly fair skinned we did not want to sit out in the full sunshine all day. Surely this is point the hotel can rectify without massive expense .Sitting under the trees was not ideal as there was always the fear a coconut would fall on your head!!. Also the swimming poolin this section was tiny. The rooms were large and well equipped but like most of the hotel it had "A tired look" and could do with updating. The cleaning staff did a good job and we had clean towels every day. The staff were wonderful and we thought the food was very good but found it funny ice cream was not readily available. The grounds are vast and it is worth walking around them.The bar served all the branded and the cocktails were great. the evening entertainment needs a radical review no much for adults are 9.30 except a disco not really suitable for a couple in their 50's. excursions from the hotel were also incredibly expensive. We did not regret staying here an overall it was a pleasurable experience. we would not visit here or recommend it to others unless more shade and sun umbrellas were available in the Harmony section

Room Tip: if a couple pay the extra to stay in the Harmony section
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

really kind and caring staff here in this resort.Lots of places you can go and hide and enjoy the beautiful caribbean sun and the bright skies.It does rain mind you,and when it does it sure does.Always fresh coffee and tea etc in the lobby,some days the locals etc come and sell lots of goodies etc in the lobby area,u can grab some g8 bargains here.never a dull moment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Coconut Bay Resort is located on the Atlantic Ocean side of the Island and conveniently located within 5 minutes of the Hewanorra International Airport. The resort provides free shuttle service as well. The Staff are what makes this Resort --- they are wonderful!!!! The Resort itself is slightly outdated but clean and offers and adult side (Harmony) as well as a family friendly side. The Resort was sold out when I was there (April 13-20) but you would not have even known this. There were no lines or problems with food or beverage service. The bar offers Absolute, Dewars, Stoli etc. at no additional cost! The views and warm breeze from the Atlantic are amazing and endless. Sherlisa served us champagne & orange each morning at the breakfast buffet with her warm and friendly smile and conversation. Dahlia, Morgan and Skeete were great bartenders and a lot of fun. The guests at this Resort were mostly Americans and British and there were a lot of families. This is a very relaxing and quiet Resort. The evening entertainment at this Resort is definitely below par and needs improvement not to mention all but for one day was there music near the swim up bar/pool area. The lazy river was warm and relaxing and the 2 water slides were a nice feature. The beach is constantly groomed and the water in the ocean was warm and wonderful. My spouse had a message outdoors and said it was awesome! I had a pedicure with Shikara which was also excellent. My only comment would be they need to clean the molding in the Spa as for a $69 pedicure I don't want to see dirt which there was (I was a 9 am appointment). My last comment would be about the housekeeping our rooms were not cleaned until very late in the day which I thought was odd and in fact one day when I came back to the room at 4:15 from the pool the maid still had not cleaned the room so, I called for towels which showed up at 5 pm - this is not acceptable and need improvement.

Room Tip: If you have no children choose a room in Harmony the adult section. I was on the first floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear MRsEvil2; thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Coconut Bay and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our award winning staff. They are the heart and soul of Coconut Bay and will be grateful for the shout out!
Your comments regarding the late room cleaning and your towel situation are appreciated as they allow us to continue to improve upon all aspects of our service.

Thanks again
Cheers!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.