We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kimatrai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kimatrai Hotel to your Saves list
Kimatrai Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimatrai Hotel
New Dock Road, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Vieux Fort
worcester,mass
1 review
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

There was 8 of us there on business. they knew that we needed a combination for breakfast lunch and dinner. they had an excuse for every dining experience . the beds were extremly hard,.bugs in the room,there toilets didnt flush and for the shower didnt have a knob too turn off and on.a pair of pliers. Were provided .word to the wise stay far away.it's what we call in the states a real hole!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel because we missed our flight and needed to crash near the airport for 1 night. It was only $50 USD for the night, but you get what you pay for. No hair dryer, spiders in the windows and bathroom, they gave 2 towels that were sitting on a counter with ants crawling all over them, mosquitoes everywhere, "free wifi" that is only in the lobby, a restaurant that at any given time is only serving 1/2 the menu, a brochure that says they serve breakfast all day but they don't. This "hotel" didn't even have the ability to call us a taxi to the airport saying they had the cell phone number for a driver, but no cell phone credit to call. I put "hotel" in quotes because it was clear that there were prostitutes coming and going from this hotel, and I'm pretty certain its just a front for a brothel. The only good thing I can say is that it had a nice view of the ocean from the restaurant terrace and it was cheap. However, if you don't want to wake up with spider and mosquito bites everywhere like I did, don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
687 reviews 687 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
529 helpful votes 529 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed in Kimatrai about 10 month ago and we still think it is a very good choice for a budget traveler to the southern part of the island. Apparently we are back! Budget travelers to Vieux Port may know that eating out in this part of the island is not as obviously easy as in the region of Castries or Rodney Bay. Especially when you want to have nice family meals. Well that is when Kimatrai comes in handy. You can enjoy 3 meals per day of good quality at a reasonable price. Especially finding a place for breakfast gets tricky if you are not in a traditional expensive resort. You can eat both outdoors and indoors but is there any reason to eat indoors in St. Lucia?

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of the port are the best. Book early, they seem to be full quite often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Needed an extra night's accommodation after staying in the North for two weeks. Staff were friendly and helpful. Decor was suffering from neglect. Water supply to room packed up periodically, as did the wi-fi connection. Sheets were stained but clean. However, it was just a short taxi ride to the airport - which was the main point of the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great for lunch. Super view & good food. Take a cab & go see the 2nd highest lighthouse in the world less than 10 minutes away!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I flew into Vieux Fort, and decided to stay our first night there before striking out for Soufriere. The Kimatrai was a short (and cheap) taxi ride from the airport, and easy walking distance to restaurants, beaches, etc. Clean, quiet, cool (window AC unit), relatively affordable, and a nice little bar/restaurant downstairs - a cool late night hangout for the locals, good conversation, and a decent continental breakfast (included).

I wouldn't stay for an extended period of time - had much more fun in the budget guesthouses of Soufriere and Gros Islet - but if I were staying overnight in Vieux Fort again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
687 reviews 687 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
529 helpful votes 529 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Located in the Southern tip of the beautiful island of St. Lucia this affordable hotel is a valid option for travelers on the budget. 2 BR suite air-conditioned, no luxury but all the basics $62 per night! Huge balcony with the view of the local port, the sea and the town as well as in the distance Pitons. Good restaurant on premises - considered best in Vieux Fort. 7-10 min by taxi to one of the 2 airports of St.Lucia. 5 min by taxi to the beach. The town itself has a real not touristy atmosphere. A good place to stay for people with realistic expectations. It is not a trendy resort but an interesting hotel giving you an inexpensive access to the island. The only minus ( for my husband) - loud roosters in the morning. Real pluses great price and beautiful views from huge balconies.

Room Tip: all rooms are fairly equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimatrai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimatrai Hotel

Address: New Dock Road, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kimatrai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimatrai Hotel Vieux Fort
Kimatrai Hotel St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimatrai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.