We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want poor service and lousy, overpriced food, the Wharf is the place for you.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
208 Main St, Port Stanley, Ontario, Canada
519.7827788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 24 Restaurants in Port Stanley
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you want poor service and lousy, overpriced food, the Wharf is the place for you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I normally go to GTs when there but saw patio from bridge and thought it would be nice. View was ok but we had to get waiter's attention. Menu limited. My wife ordered stirfry and I ordered steak. My meal was edible. Stirfry wasn't. Waiter didn't come back to check until we called him over. One of our worst dining experiences. How can this place survive with all these strikes against it?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    5
    6
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No thanks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stopped into the wharf today for first time,menu is way overpriced for what you get,we were seated out on the patio which was a great view,cutlery is plastic,salt,pepper and ketchup etc is in squeeze packs,ordered the perch which waitress said was not breaded,just lightly dusted,well it is heavily breaded,the fish was good but the breading was greasy and tasteless,served over minimal amount of fries, gross purple coleslaw which we never touched,definitely not homemade or fresh tasting,service was ok but doesn't make up for the food. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and will never return..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great perch fingers and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Some of the best perch fingers and fries I have enjoyed. Waiter was cordial and service was efficient. Would definitely go again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not what it once was....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had Fathers Day family dinner yesterday. I hadn't been in years but remember it being pretty classy. Not the case anymore. It appears the menu prices of today are based on the quality of yesteryear. Dinner for two at 39.99 was 6oz steak, 3 pcs breaded perch, choice/potato and veggies (no salad/soup and no dessert). My wife's steak may have been 3 or 4oz, it wasn't more than 1/4 inch thick and was well done (ordered med rare) my steak was a bit more inline. The veggies were an absolute joke! It appeared to be the bottom of the bag California mix with no while pieces of broccoli/cauliflower. kids meals were $10 for fries and chicken fingers. Waiter dropped a plate on our table and it smashed to pieces. Waiter Jacob needs some serious table side manners. Very unfortunate we had to pay a forced gratuity of 20%! Will look for something new next time we go to Port Stanley.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went there for Fathers Day dinner. Everything was bad from the time we walked in till the dinner was over. Food had to be sent back twice. And what was served we couldn't eat it. The waitress was even telling us items not to order. The whole experience was so disappointing. Will never go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

 
Port Stanley, Ontario
Port Stanley, Ontario
 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.