We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in the Carriage house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windjammer Inn

The Windjammer Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windjammer Inn
Save
You added The Windjammer Inn to your Saves list
324 Smith Street, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Tilbury, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome stay in the Carriage house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Your own private carriage house, with jacuzzi tub and fireplace very clean. The breakfast is fantastic home scones and preserves to start. We had all three meals of the day it was great, this is our second visit. Port Stanley has many shops, the beach and surrounding areas offer plenty of entertainment. This will be an annual stop for us!!!

Room Tip: They have two carriage houses that we prefer for privacy, but they also have rooms in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've go to the Windjammer about once a year, usually in the winter for a short 'get away'. We've always had a good stay, and this one was no exception. We were there for New Years Eve, and enjoyed a spectacular 4 course meal at the restaurant. The venison was particularly good. Service is personal and not rushed. And the quality of food is always exceptional. We enjoyed breakfast there two mornings, it was part of our 2 night package, and Kim, the owner, was kind enough to bring a little cheese & preserves tray for a snack on New Years Day. She has always accommodated our requests to the best of her availability. We stay in the 'motel' part of the Inn. Our room has a jacuzzi tub, and a fireplace and a selection of VHS & DVD movies to watch. The suites also have a fridge and coffee maker, so we're as self sufficient as we like to be while there. Thanks again for a great time Kim & Marilyn and the rest of your crew!

Room Tip: We prefer the suites, but if you're just staying for a night, the rooms in the main house are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We didn't stay at the Inn but we had dinner... There were 10 of us for dinner. We had a private room and the service was great. Everyone enjoyed their meals and wine. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the wine and made a great recommendation.
It is such an easy drive from London for dinner, and well worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you looking for great accommodation and a weekend to just have some R&R to enjoy time switching off then this is the place to do it. Excellent service and welcoming staff.

Charming bed rooms and a menu selection that would fit well in any 5***** restaurant. My personal favourite the Chocolate Flourless dessert that you wish would never end!!

Room Tip: Only 1 bedroom upstairs has an adjoining bathroom the others are located either across from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My friend and I booked the Walton Room at the Windjammer for an overnight getaway. As mentioned by another reviewer, the room was very dated, overpriced, and extremely, unpleasantly hot! Granted, the weather in Ontario has been very unseasonably warm this summer, but it was unbearable. Once we saw the equally uninspiring bath down the hall, we decided to cut our losses and leave. The woman who "greeted' us was not at all friendly, and of course, we did not get a refund (understandable as it's a small place). I've stayed in many historic inns and "old" doesn't have to mean dingy, dated and lacking in amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed recently at the Windjammer with my young daughter. We booked last minute, and the only room available was the Walton Room.
ROOM- the room itself was very small, there was no TV in the room and our "private" bath was located at the opposite end of the hallway.
There was a double bed and a single day bed, both were comfortable enough.
The room had no A/C, & I was not able to close the window to shut out the outside noises. It was clean, but very dated.
The bathroom was more modern, and had everything we needed, only would be been better if it was in the room.
STAFF- staff were not overly friendly. Upon check in, we were greeted once I went into the kitchen to find someone, who only asked our name and then showed us to our room. She was not sure if breakfast was at 8am or 9am, which was a problem the next morning. The server in the restaurant was very nice.
FOOD- we only had breakfast, as it was included. It starts at 9am. The food was absolutely delicious! It is nice as you have a choice of any item from the breakfast menu.
LOCATION- the Inn is located very convenient to downtown Pt Stanley, and very close to the marina. Parking is on the street, although this was not communicated to me, I had to ask where to park.
Overall, the Windjammer is a quaint little Inn. I do not recommend the Walton Room, and the staff could be a lot friendlier, but if you want convenience (albeit pricey) then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had famly get together there December 30th, with private meal in banquet room. Family had a variety of dishes and we all had desserts. Food is wonderful, tastes melt in your mouth with a whole different set of flavours / spices. Highly recommend their chocolate cake dessert (no flour and dark chocolate) with home made almond ice cream. I had the trukey wrap with cheese and salad - delicious! Hubby had perch and home fires with fire cracker coleslaw - excellent flavours!
This would be a lovely place to stay in the summer, eat and just walk to the beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windjammer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windjammer Inn

Address: 324 Smith Street, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Windjammer Inn Port Stanley, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windjammer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.