We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food from local ingredients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cap Restaurant

Red Cap Restaurant
1034 Route 335 S | Middle West Pubnico, Pubnico, Nova Scotia B0W 2M0, Canada
(877) 719-0278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Pubnico
Restaurant details
Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food from local ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We came across this restaurant quite accidently. We intended to have lunch in Yarmouth, but it was getting late and we'd passed it on the way from the Village Historique to the Musee Acadien in West Pubnico and decided to take a chance. It's in a nice setting with gracious staff. It also has an obvious dedication to preparing excellent food, including lots of seafood, from local ingredients, and at very reasonable prices. An outstanding value and we'll return when in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attended a kitchen party. The food was great and the entertainment was wonderful. My wife appreciated the wide selection on their gluten free menu. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lil Acadian gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Checked trip advisor... It recommend the Red Cap restaurant. Once again I was not steered wrong. Lovely little place, with local ingredients, and it shows you where everything came from, written on the board. It is like delicious home cooking with a fine dining flair. The price are great too. My hubby had haddock with lobster sauce, he was happy. I had the chicken cranberry sandwich it was around $5, I added a spinach salad for another $5. The goat cheese on the salad, perfect! Then on whim I ordered the coconut cream pie to go. The pastry was great, very homemade, the filling was not from a package and had an almond flavour to it. The whip cream and toasted coconut topped it off perfectly $4. The service was great too. When I go back to Pubnico honey? Glad I live in NS!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, clean and good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been there twice. Once for the buffet and back again for the poached haddock. The haddock was preceded by a tasty, fresh salad with a dressing so good that I bought a pint of it when I left. Fresh vegetables in a delicately flavoured cream sauce accompanied the haddock . EXCELLENT! I tried the bread pudding and it was unlike any bread pudding I have ever eaten. Another EXCELLENT! Very reasonably priced and I would list it as the top restaurant on the South West Shore. I have dined in restaurants all over the world and compare this place to one of my favourites just outside Paris. Sadly, I hear the owner is trying to sell this place and I am hoping it doesn't happen until I have worked my way though the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Always changing menu great food and price plus a great atmosphere.
Everything is homemade, plus its next door to a motel a perfect spot to stat as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Cap Restaurant also viewed

Lower West Pubnico, Municipality of Argyle
Pubnico, Municipality of Argyle
 

Been to Red Cap Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cap Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.