We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but could be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birnam, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, but could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

first impression were great loved the lodge we were shown into but unfortunatly Father in law didnt so we moved to another lodge which again was nice but smelt terrible. The lodges had everything we needed dont think it wise to advertise the as sleeping 4-6 as we had 4 adults and one small child and it was a definate squash. when we had unpacked i asked at recepttion to purchase the weeks wi-fi and was told by the 2 staff on duty that it wasnt working in the lodges only in the clubhouse and because of that it was free. this didnt bother me at all so later on i came down to use it and realised i needed a username and password which they hadnt given me. The Lady on duty at that time was extremely rude to me when i said i had been told it was free she told me "nothing here is free what do you think we are running?" i apologised and explained. She then shouted on another member of staff who told her yes it was free she then glared at me "im only the manager here what the hell would i know" and stalked off no apology nothing! was not very manager like at all.
apart from that we loved lochanully and would definatly return, very clean and in a perfect location. Didnt eat or drink on site as manager put us off so we made good use of the lodge facilities

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Booked on late rooms after last minute holiday taken for a couple of days and got good rate, When we arrived Receptionist was very friendly and check us in,
Lodge itself was comfortable and clean slightly dated but had everything you needed,
Restaurant / Bar Areas was dated with entertainment that went out in 80's Scottish themed night could not get any worse and was only option of food being served on this evening so we headed to tesco in Aviemore - Could be reviewd, Food was ok General Pub Food Standard slightly over priced. No Breakfast offeed - perhaps Fresh Hot Rolls in morninng takeawa ?
Pool Area and Procedures could be tightened up as Guests were in Pool area with Shoes and trainers on when clearly statses not too, but nobody to monitor this and cleanliness could be improved with pool itself.
No mention of using MacDonald Resort in Aviemore at additional cost on Check out and no mention of charge for meter usage - which was not much for couple of days, but could be in Winter and if staying for 1 Week.
All in all ok stay - would I consider returning ?? possibly..... but could improve on small things,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at Lochanhully. This was our second time here and again it did not disappoint. The lodges are set in a lovely area with woods and small loch all on site- it is really very quiet.
The lodges are quite small and some furnishings quite dated but we felt very comfortable there. The cleanliness of our lodge on arrival was excellent. My sons and husband were a bit disappointed in the TV reception, with only 4 blurry channels- but we weren't there to watch TV!
We had a dog with us and it seemed like everyone else did too! Plenty of canine friends and made quite welcome.
The bar area was quiet any time we were there but did offer bar suppers and evening entertainment although we did not try these out. Pool area was small but adequate and again often seemed quiet.
The Carrbridge/ Aviemore area is excellent and we never tire of going there as there is so much for all the family. We would not hesitate in staying at Lochanhully again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed last week, we had a good time as it was quite relaxing with lots of wild life & good walks
for the dog, this was an exchange week & we got a silver crown as opposed to a gold crown. it was a little on the old fashioned side with only 4 very fuzzy channels on the tv, & it was the world cup this was a little frusting. The cabin was OK for 2 adults would not like to have 6 people in there as it be overcrowded, the conservertory was good, which did provide others with more "outside space" whilst the football was on TV. Kitchen is OK & has the additional bonus of a kitchen pack at no additional cost, which makes a change from others we have stayed at. Also, if you take your laptop, the cost of internet connections is £14.95 for the week, which works out cheaper than using there PC's at £2.00 per half hour. There is a gym, pool, sauna & steam room, don't expect too much from the gym, it is very small with no tread mill, it has a bike, rowing machine, abb machine & some weight bearing machines. The pool is lovely but not very big, & we did not experience any overcrowdiing, just a lovely swim. They do have certain nights for entertainment, which is OK & sometimes a little "cheesy". Food OK, but not something to rave about, but the staff are wonderfull & are very helpfull which makes it a plus. The local pubs are OK & do food too. did not try it, but it did look reasonable. Would I stay there again, HMMM, maybe when the cabins are more modern as it is quite expensive even if it is not a timeshare. Compared with the equivent of going to the USA with the timeshare, feel a bit let down in comparison, but it was good & relaxing.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had the pleasure of experiencing an excellent weeks break at this ''timeshare'' resort where I have a lodge reserved for week 5 annnually. Somewhat nervous having read some limited adverse reports on this site concerning Lodge cleanliness and staff attitude I found these comments unfounded although I have to say that having lodged my concern with the site itself prior to my trip as I did not want to request a ''move'' having made an 8 hour journey . To my pleasant surprise I , as a result of communicating with the site, was offered a different lodge which was very much to my satisfaction. We experienced snow ( some quite heavy ) every day but thanks to the resident ''snow plough'' and some improvisation we coulkd get in and out of the site quite easily and were therefore able to do the usual sightseeing in the area and for the week we were there there was plenty to do and se. On returning every afternoon there was an inviting swimming pool/sauna/steam room to relax in and followed by a pint of Guiness cold what more could you want. On the two occasions we ate at the Club restaurant the meals were satisfactory and on the Scottish night the food was excellent although it could have been served up on 'hotter' plates.
The staff were excellent, friendly, efficient and welcoming. OK the electric prices are on the high side , be prepared in winter to pay out about £50 plus if you want your Lodge to be nice and warm , but I'd rather be warm !!
All in all for us it was a good week and we faced a 9 hour drive home but left with good memories of a week well spent. If you have friends who like Scotland in Winter this is the place for you, if you ski even better but the views are stunning and the Mountains can look different every day with the changing light.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Having read the terrible review below, I must be honest, we almost decided to rebook somewhere else. We were a party of 5 ( including 3 grown up teenagers) visiting the area for a spot of skiing at the Cairngorms. As part of an exchange we were given one of the 2 bedroom, older lodges. All of our party were pleasantly surprised as it was not what we had been expecting/dreading! The lodge was spotless, no odour at all. It was very warm and cosy. Was this place contemporary, minimalism - NO. Was some of the decor a little dated- YES, but in my opinion it added to the charm of the lodge, tartan and earthy colours, fitted in with the surroundings and really made you feel like you were back to nature. We have stayed in several traditional 4 star hotels in Scotland and they were decorated in a very similar style.
The heaters in the units were older style electric panel heaters, but they made the place very hot; we did not need the extra heaters and hot water bottles we had taken. We were there when there was still thick snow and ice everywhere. The place looked so picturesque and like something off of a postcard.
We used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room; these were all found to be in a good clean condition.
The dining /bar area was tidy and staff were all pleasant and helpful.
There wasn't a great reception on the TV and yes there were only 4 channels - welcome to Scotland!
Our visit was only for a long weekend, we went into Aviemore a couple of evenings to eat out/ night life.
We all had a great stay, the leather sofa bed was comfortable and practical. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom had not one trace of mould.
As experienced owners of many rental properties across europe and in the USA, We know that it is impossible to please everyone but we also know how one bad review can really make people gittery. Don't let the review below put you off staying at Lochanully. Our experience was nothing like that. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I would start by saying that the location of the resort is very pretty. We were there when the first snow fell in Scotland and even though it was extremely cold the resort is quite picturesque. However that is the only thing in its favour. The whole place is run like a 1970's holiday camp and appears to be still living in the 1970's.

We booked this through RCI as a timeshare exchange. We arrived and were given a log cabin which stank of mould and mildew. So much so that we asked to move and were put into one of the newly renovated units. The smell was much better but to be honest not much more to shout about. They had put in a new kitchen (new doors on the units that is) and had painted the walls and put up some art on the walls. The curtains and bedcovers had been replaced rather than the old fashioned frayed chintz in the first unit. But that's where the refurbishment ends. The same cheap old panel heaters on the walls, same crockery same bathroom fittings (although someone had made an effort to remove the mould growing in the grouting in this unit). The furniture had not been replaced and had the same old uncomfortable leather sofa as in the unrefurbished unit.
The units are very small. If I sat in the middle of the 4'6" bed I could touch the walls on either side. I reckon the bedroom measures less than 7ft wide and 12 ft long. And this is the master bedroom! When it comes to the living area it is open plan. If you take out the kitchen space the lounge area is about 8ft by 14ft. The photo on the website is taken from the furthest corner of the lounge - there is nothing beyond where the photographer is standing. Even though this was a refurbished unit there was paint chipping off the walls revealing a lovely shade of deep red paint underneath! The doors would not close properly due to the numerous layers of paint. The unit was not particularly clean. The pull cord on the light over the bathroom sink was so filthy I didn't want to touch it. I asked several times for it to be cleaned but no one bothered.
TV reception is poor. There are only 4 channels available and at times it was difficult to get a clear picture.
There is no midweek clean or even exchange of towels. If you want clean towels you have to pay extra. This resort seems to charge for everything. I enquired about the electricity charges before getting to the resort. They charge £1.30 plus 12p per unit. You can check how much you are using as the electricity box is in the cupboard outside the unit. But if you go when it is cold like it was for us it could cost you a small fortune to keep the place heated. And the heat dissipates quickly as the units are poorly insulated. The staff at reception were fine but not really interested.
The one thing that made us laugh was the washing up liquid bottle which they obviously refill. It had printed on it "HOSPITAL PROPERTY". Is this really what should be in a RCI Silver Crown resort? Another example of the penny pinching at Lochanhully.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Address: Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Hotel Carrbridge
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Carrbridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.