We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairwinds Hotel to your Saves list
Fairwinds Hotel
Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hockliffe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

we agree with every review that has been made.
We went for a week 14/7/07, and booked this hotel after reading the reviews on this site. We were not disapointed at all. The hotel was very clean, and very well looked after, the food was lovely, and very well prepared. The room was also great, lovely large size.
Would recommend any one who is looking for a quite retreat to book here.

  • Liked — quite secluded break
  • Disliked — nothing - was all great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
104
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

We spent 3 days at Fairwinds early in July along with 2 friends. This was part of a 10 day break visiting Edinburgh, The Cairngorms, Fort William and Mull.
Having read the reviews of Fairwinds on Tripadvisor (and booking on the basis of those reviews), we arrived with the hope that expectations wouldn't be dashed. We need not have worried. This really is a first class small hotel ideally placed near the A9 and giving you the chance to explore The Cairngorms, Loch Ness and further afield.
There are walks literally on the doorstep, a fine local pub, quad biking, white water rafting and many other activities available. You can watch red squirrels feed while you eat your breakfast or dinner or you can pop a few miles down the road to watch the Osprey's feed at the local trout farm.
The rooms are comfortable and the service attentive yet relaxed. The food is superb. Just make your choice of evening meal each morning after eating a hearty breakfast and then look forward to dinner. The choice is quite small but what you get is freshly prepared food served without delay. Like a previous reviewer, we came to Fairwinds from Edinburgh and ate at The Witchery restaurant there. The meal was expensive but enjoyed in splendid surroundings. However, we all said we enjoyed the meals at Fairwinds more than The Witchery. That's some compliment for this hotel.
If you are looking for a peaceful break in the area, with good food, good service and the convenience of the location, you'd be hard pressed to find a better place for the money.
Thank you Alison and Lindsay
Martyn and Jacky

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

I booked 2 nights for the 23rd and 24th of June 2007 with Dinner included the first night. The trip was a double header, it being our wedding anniversary on the 24th, which coincided with Crowded House playing at the Outsider Festival on the 24th.

As usual I used Trip Advisor to select the hotel, and as Fairwinds was head and shoulders above everything else, booked.

Well guess what,it does exactly what it says on the tin.
Location-Great
Facilities-Great
Owners -Great
Watching RED(yes that is RED squirrels eating theirs while you eat your breakfast-Great
Cleanliness -Great
Meals-Great
Peace and Quiet-Great

What more can I say,even awfull weather at the festival could not dampen my joy from both getting to see Crowded House again AND finding this great little gem to stay at.

To paraphrase Arnie ..........."WE'LL BE BACK"

Tommy & Clare


  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Nothing to add
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

We booked a two night romantic break at Fairwinds Hotel at the beginning of April. As two Glaswegians living in London we were long overdue an escape to somewhere far less hectic and much more scenic.

Taking the sleeper train from London to Aviemore was an ideal way to begin the trip, with a short connection to Carrbridge and walk to the hotel. We were greeted warmly even though we arrived before our check-in time and were kindly allowed to drop our bags into our room, which was an early indication of how accommodating and relaxed our time was at Fairwinds.

Strathspey was our spacious and comfortable room on the ground floor and the small galley kitchen came in handy, not that we needed extra food as the ample meals on offer were tremendous. The locally sourced, fresh ingredients used were a real joy for two foodies. From the subtle smoked flavours of the fresh kippers in the morning to the apple crumble at night, we couldn't have asked for better.

The hotel was ideally placed for us to take leisurely or more energetic walks (one of us 19 weeks pregnant), and in a stark contrast to London we spent two and a half hours walking in gorgeous scenery without seeing a single other soul.

It really was a joy and memories of our time here will keep us warm long into the winter months.

Thank you to both Alison and Lindsey for making our short stay so enjoyable, you both deserve a l-o-n-g holiday!

  • Liked — Owners, food, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH, sCOTLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

I booked a "romantic weekend" at the Fairwinds for my wife and I to celebrate our anniversary. I booked having read the tripadvisor reviews so had high expectations. So did the hotel live up to its billing? Well, largely, yes. I'm afraid first impressions of the drive into the hotel grounds are let down by some rather scruffy woods and a boarded up derelict house, not the fault of the owners but just not a very good introduction. Our welcome was warm and after introductions we were asked to choose our evening meal from the dinner menu. My wife found this off putting but it didn't bother me. The menu, however, did. Now you have to remember I had seen the sample menu on their website and read all the good things on Tripadvisor so was expecting something a bit special. We ended up choosing the soup of the day as the other starters were uninspiring but the real problem was with the mains. Salmon, Pork or Chicken stuffed with Haggis. Why Scottish restaurants insist on serving Chicken stuffed with Haggis is beyond me, it's so naff. I suppose the American and English tourists must lap it up but its just so two decades ago. Anyway, contrary as ever that is what I ordered, my wife going for the Salmon. Then up to our room, which was very pleasant, clean and spacious with a nice ensuite with corner bath. However the wash basin in the room did seem a bit weird. We went for a wee walk and stopped in at the local pub, which had a really nice buzz going and served a decent pint. Then back to the hotel for dinner. Which was lovely. The wild mushroom soup was delish and If anyone can make anything stuffed with haggis that I enjoy then they can cook. The wine list isn't vast but most of the favourites are represented, although no Rioja and we ordered the last bottle of Sancerre. Very reasonably priced though. The service was friendly and chatty but none the less efficient for that. I prefer informal dining and fake stuffed shirt obsequiousness gets on my goat, so spot on there. There were two other couples staying and dining that night and we joined them for coffee, all very convivial. The breakfasts at The Fairwinds are superb, with everything you would expect and a bit extra. Just after breakfast we were asked to order dinner and this time the menu was much more to our liking. For our day out in the highlands we visited the Highland Wildlife Park which was interesting and fun and in the afternoon we went for a walk in the Rothiemurchus Estate. Dinner was a treat that night, I had pheasant breast which was excellent and my wife enjoyed her lamb. We had a super weekend at the Fairwinds and the couple of qualms mentioned above were more than made up for. We had an interesting discussion with the other guests who seemed to think that the Scottish Tourist Board were going to downgrade the Fairwinds on their star rating system. Seemingly they don't have all the facilities of a 4 star Hilton, Radisson or whatever. Thank goodness for that I say. If the STB are seriously comparing this kind of personal service which goes above and beyond to ensure guests have a great experience with the corporate indifference of most of the big chains then they are doing Scotland's tourist trade a disservice. Yes, the Fairwinds is quaint, but in the best meaning of that word. The owner/operators should be lauded for their efforts not penalised by officious nobodies. It's a good example of why discerning customers are increasingly ignoring the seemingly arbitrary star rating systems of the STB, AA, RAC etc and doing the research themselves on sites like Tripadvisor. My advice, for what it's worth, is to drive straight past the horrific looking MacDonalds hotel in Aviemore and head for the peaceful retreat of good food and service that is The Fairwinds at Carrbridge.

  • Liked — Good food, lovely clean room, nice people.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

The Fairwinds is great. It’s a small hotel, I believe there are five rooms in the main building and four chalets (cabins). Our room was in the main house – clean, nicely furnished and a good bathroom. That’s for the American reviewers. It’s a Yank thing – LOL.

Carrbridge makes a really good centralized base for exploring the Scottish Highlands. Day trips east, west, north and south are easy. We went as far north as Wick, exploring along the way, and still made it back to the hotel in time for dinner. The Cairngorms National Park is close by, four miles away in Aviemore, with lots of activities. Also, if you like wildlife, try the Speyside Wildlife Park. We did the evening wildlife viewing from the animal hide – saw pine marten and badgers. Really cool.

Lindsay and Allison, the owners, are great! After nine days, they felt like family. Breakfast was included with the room – cereal, fruit, juice, and made to order hot items. Ask about the kegeree-yum! Lindsay posts the daily dinner menu each morning. Dinner is by reservation only, so don’t forget to book it. Otherwise it’s fish and chips at the Carrbridge Hotel, which I DO NOT recommend – yuck! On our last night in Scotland, we had dinner at the Witchery in Edinburgh, supposedly the best restaurant in the city. In my opinion, it’s overpriced and I enjoyed Lindsay’s cooking much more.

For our first three nights in Scotland, we stayed at the Hilton Grosvenor. It’s a rather tired hotel that needs major renovations. We had a nicer room and stay at the Fairwinds. If you want a relaxing vacation in the Scottish Highlands, I’d recommend the Fairwinds to anyone. If you’re looking for the hustle and bustle of a big city hotel, it isn’t for you.

Chuck Jones
Tallahassee, Florida

  • Liked — The hospitality of the owners, Lindsay and Allison
  • Disliked — internet access - very minor thing though
  • Tips/Secrets — disabled travelers may find it a bit difficult in the main house, only one downstairs guest room - the chalet's probably better option
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

This is also my first review, and it will be short - if you stay anywhere else in the Highlands you need to have your head examined - we stayed here for 9 days and every day was new and different. If this is Scotish Hospitality, then it is a lot like the SOUTH, (US) - and what more could you possibly want. If you leave here unhappy with your stay, then it was your own fault, sort of like leaving a buffett hungry - no one to blame but yourself.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — the rain
  • Tips/Secrets — nope
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positionned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairwinds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.