We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another sublime stay in this delightful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairwinds Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairwinds Hotel
Main Street, Carrbridge PH23 3AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Carrbridge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another sublime stay in this delightful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been at Fairwinds several times in the past few years and this trip was again superb. It's a remarkable place, beautifully run by Lindsay and Alison. A welcoming drink, lovely room, food which is 'how food should be' in the conservatory restaurant, with wildlife and majestic trees all around. A real haven of tranquility which must be experienced, in fact, because words do not do it justice. In an era of mass-produced conformity, this superb hotel, with such a warm personal touch, really does stand out, and rightly so.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely and individual - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
100
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just back from a short break at Fairwinds with my brother and his wife. We picked the hotel mainly because it looked beautiful, but were all delighted with our stay. We had a wonderful time. It is a perfect spot to relax. Beautiful rooms, incredibly clean, lovely bathrooms, big fluffy towels, lovely facilities. And the breakfasts... we would drive up from Glasgow again for the Scotch pancakes alone. We didn't book dinner there because we were planning to use the hotel as a touring base and didn't know when we could be back, but if the breakfasts were anything to go by, we missed a huge treat. We will be back! Many thanks to Alison and Lindsay for a really needed very relaxing break.

Room Tip: I stayed in Cairngorms and it was huge and really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted a weekend away in the Highlands within a 2.5 hours drive of Glasgow, and chose Fairwinds based on it's superb ratings on TripAdvisor. We definitely made the right choice! Alison and Lindsay are fantastic hosts, making us feel welcome from the second we arrived. Once we were shown to our large, comfortable room, a welcome dram awaited us in the lounge. We explored the village (and the pub, which was friendly and has a cute outdoor area), and returned in the evening for dinner. I had the steak and my boyfriend had the venison -- both were cooked to perfection, and the dauphinoise potatoes on the side were delicious. After dinner, we decided to walk some of the footpaths that begin right outside the hotel, and lead you through some of the surrounding forest. At the end of the day, I slept like a baby. I was really impressed with the bedding -- the duvet was one of the best I've ever had at a hotel, and the bedding smelled so fresh and clean. I actually commented on it the next morning to the owners, even though I probably sounded like a weirdo -- it was that good! Breakfast was very good -- I recommend the full breakfast, which was cooked to order, and very tasty.
We drove up via the A9, but Alison recommended we take the scenic route back, through Fort William, and took the time to give us spot on directions, which was brilliant. I definitely recommend that anyone coming from the Glasgow area do this as well. Yes, it probably took twice the amount of time, but the view was totally worth it and we got some really great pictures on the way home.
Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel and our hosts, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family of 6 have just returned from a week's self-catering in the Willow Chalet and we cannot fault it. On arrival we were welcomed by Lindsay who was most helpful in giving us local information such as the best place for pizza and what day the mobile fish and chip van visits! The chalet was spotlessly clean and beautifully laid out with every detail thought of, down to enough space under all the beds for our suitcases, to every kitchen implement you could need, and importantly for us, a washing machine. The beds were very comfortable and there was ample room for all 6 of us. The setting of the chalet is idyllic, overlooking a pretty lochan with its own dragon-flies and ducks, and plenty of space with beautiful mature trees ensuring peace and privacy.

Carrbridge was the perfect base for all the attractions of the Cairngorms and offered the peace and tranquillity which is sadly lacking in Aviemore. Our holiday here was just perfect and my whole family wouldn't hesitate to return - the sooner the better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester,
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been staying at Fairwinds with Alison and Lindsay for many years. Wonderful hosts, spotless and beautifully maintained accommodation, the best breakfast and super dinner expertly cooked by Lindsay. We will continue to return for the years to come. Thank you!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good - we have stayed in them all but our favourite Strathspey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and Mrs booked here at the last minute for a quick 2 nights away from home. Took a deal for 2 nights B&B + 1 dinner.
Made to feel very welcome by Alison from the off while Lindsay went off to the kitchen to work her magic. Complementary dram on arrival and introduced to the honesty bar which was well stocked with Speyside's finest. Dinner was served shortly after. All 3 courses were lovely for each of us but my main of venison was outstanding. Fantastic cut of meat, cooked to perfection with a sauce that set it off perfectly. Worth a visit for that alone. On the strength of that meal we decided to eat there again the following night. Table d'hote menu was £30 pp.
The grounds were very pleasant, right at the edge of the woods with a pond and plenty of wildlife. The ducks came up to the conservatory window looking from scraps and I ended up stroking a hedgehog at one point. There is a large network of footpaths through the nearby woods and 2 of the entrances to this network are right by the front door to Fairwinds. The pub(worth a visit for amazing range of whiskeys at excellent prices) and Landmark Park are less than 5 minutes away by foot.
We were in the "Morlich" standard double room. Found the decor a little dated for my personal taste but very clean and the bed was exceedingly comfortable. Mattress was good quality, medium to firm. Newly refurbished facilities in this room were very nice. No bath but the shower was easy to use, spacious and sufficiently powerful. Nice soaps and stuff, too.
Overall, it's a very pleasant place to stay with nice proprietors and excellent food. I wouldn't hesitate to choose Fairwinds again if I was returning to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed only 1 night while touring Scotland but would love to have stayed longer. Very welcoming hosts, Alison and Lindsay have worked wonders and provide a high standard of accommodation. We booked the superking room and found we had a little kitchen as well as a huge bedroom with seating area and a spacious bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and the tea tray had chocolate brownies! We were invited to help ourselves to a welcoming drink from the bar too.
After a super comfy, peaceful night's sleep, breakfast was wonderful with hot Scotch pancakes, and excellent fruit salad, not to mention the great choice of hot dishes, and all served in the huge conservatory dining room. Everywhere is well furnished and modern as well as being spotlessly clean.
I stayed at Fairwinds several times many years ago as a ski mad teenager / young married but I hope it won't be long before I'm back to Carrbridge as it's a wonderful area. Fairwinds' website does not do it justice really so Just Go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge PH23 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positionned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairwinds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.