We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dalrachney Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London Heathrow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed two nights with my wife and 7 year old son in July 2014. We were very comfortable indeed in a very large room, with a huge hand made bed for us plus a comfortable single for our son - and still plenty space to move around. The views over green fields to hills and forests beyond were just beautiful. Our private bathroom was across the corridor but it too was very spacious and the relatively minor inconvenience of crossing the corridor did not cause us any concern. The owners take great care to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on out first night and found the food to be very acceptable in terms of quality and cost. Breakfasts are excellent. The building itself is an old hunting lodge and its character and charm well reflect its past. The lounge with its lovely sofas and armchairs - and fabulous old fireplace - is a haven for relaxing with a book, or newspaper, or indeed laptop. That said, my only criticism was the erratic wifi signal. Carrbridge is a deal more relaxing that Aviemore but it is just a few minutes drive away. Families with children up to around 16 will love the Landmark Adventure Park which is walking distance from the hotel and a great day out - if it's not raining of course! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
50
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My now-husband and I stayed at Dalrachney Lodge in February while on a weekend away to celebrate our engagement. Tracy and Gordon were absolutely wonderful hosts, and the lodge and the grounds were lovely! We enjoyed our stay so much that we later contacted them about having our wedding reception there, which we did a couple of weeks ago (providing dinner and B&B for our guests). Everything went so beautifully for our wedding! Tracy and Gordon are sweet and thoughtful hosts, and they place a lot of importance on little details that make one's stay that much more comfortable and enjoyable. They were so organised (and calm!) and full of good suggestions for our wedding weekend, and Tracy also happens to make absolutely amazing cakes! She made a beautiful cake for our wedding (see photos). The food is outstanding, both at breakfast and in the bistro for dinner! And the prices are very reasonable. We wholeheartedly recommend this venue for a lovely stay in the Cairngorms and also for special events (and cakes!). :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends on a walking weekend The place is very warm, welcoming and characterful. We were very well looked after, great food plenty of hot water and comfy beds. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you appreciate good, old fashioned, friendly hosptality, this place hits the spot. It is family run and the people really care about their guests and do whatever they can to make you welcome. The rooms (including bedrooms) are full of character but very clean, comfortable and with wonderful views. The food, although quite plain, is very well served and great value. The public sitting room has a fabulous selection of books - perfect for browsing through, with after dinner drinks. There is also a resident springer spaniel, Archie, who is just the cutest!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for an overnight stay for my daughter's birthday and so we could visit the Highland wildlife park. Firstly, it was great to find a hotel that accommodates a family of five (usually we need to book 2 rooms!). We were given a warm welcome . Our room was spacious and comfortable and there was more than enough space for us (2 adults and 3 kids). The kids loved the traditional feel of the hotel and the location was so peaceful! The breakfast was fabulous. Our stay was over all too quickly and we plan to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our whistle-stop tour of the Cairngorms.

We really were delighted with our stay.

We had room 4 which is one of the rooms that has yet to be refurbished, but as a result this room is one of the ones that they accept pets into. It's not an en-suite room which had been a slight concern for us when booking, but it needn't have been - it's at the quietest end of the hotel and the private bathroom is right next door to the room.

The room was made up for 3 - double + single - we travelled with our 14 yr old son.

The linen was clean & white, the room was spotless, the beds were comfy, nice flatscreen TV with DVD player, lovely spotlessly clean kettle, nice selection of tea (Fortnum & Mason) & coffee (Nescafe) and some shortbread biscuits. Despite being "pre-renovation" - the décor & maintenance of the room was in very good order. We did not see a recently renovated room, but if ours was anything to go by, they must be lovely!

This room is not yet connected to the hotel's central heating system (apparently it will be once renovated) but an oil radiator with built-in fan was supplied and it was surprisingly effective.

The bathroom (huge) did look a little tired - everything works and was again spotlessly clean, but the bath had a mixer-tap/shower and it was positioned under the eves of the roof so showing in there proved a little difficult as it's not really possible to stand up under it.

The free wifi available in rooms & throughout the hotel was a bonus - we were able to use our iPad to plan days out etc.

The breakfast was truly special - served in a grand room with a fantastic view over the hills. The quality of the food was equally as impressive - really good quality cooked ingredients for the full breakfast, creamy porridge, lovely selection of yoghurts - and we always got the impression that nothing was too much trouble for them.

We heard & read very good things about their evening meals, though we opted to eat out both nights we stayed there but if breakfast was anything to go by, we are sure the food is very good.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay there - the owners & staff are ultra-helpful, the room great - the location very good - approx. 6 miles from Aviemore - perhaps in one of the quieter bits of the region, but that suited us just fine.

We will definitely stay there again - providing they continue to have pet-friendly rooms after their renovations are complete.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Having been slightly disappointed that this establishment was closed for renovations during our previous visit to Carrbridge last year, I contacted the hotel by email prior to this year's visit to ensure that we could have a table reserved on the date of our wedding anniversary to enjoy a celebratory meal. The email reply from the proprietor, Gordon Taylor, confirmed that a table had been booked for us on that date and we looked forward greatly to our return visit. During the few days prior to our anniversary, we regularly drove past the Dalrachney Lodge and noted that the sign at the entrance indicated that the Bistro/Restaurant was closed but, on the date of our booking, this closed sign had been removed - much to our relief. That evening, we arrived at the hotel about 15 minutes prior to our reservation time and were most surprised to find the car park entirely empty and, as we walked towards the front door, we could also see that the Bistro was completely devoid of any customers. We were met at the front door by Gordon Taylor who ushered us through to the cosy reception room, complete with a roaring log fire, where he explained that the hotel was not quite open for business yet, but he and his wife had decided to open just for us to enjoy our anniversary meal - what a pleasant surprise! We had the entire hotel to ourselves and, with no other guests to attend to, the proprietor spent some time conversing with us and seeing to our "preprandial libations" - he is a most charming and attentive host.
The meal itself was being prepared by his wife and, as we have come to expect from our previous visits, the choice of locally sourced ingredients was varied, mouth-watering and excellently prepared. I chose the venison casserole, my wife had the fillet steak and my son chose the breast of Gressingham duck and we all enthused over how well prepared the food was. Having already had a started of garlic mushrooms - my wife (after pinching a couple) stated they were the best she had tasted - I was too full for a sweet, but my son opted for the home-made Ginger Parkin which was recommended by the proprietor. We all had a small taste and declared it an excellent choice.
The fact that the proprietors went so far out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our planned anniversary meal speaks volumes for the dedication they have towards customer care and professional expertise. We have never actually stayed at this establishment and cannot comment on the accommodation but I cannot recommend it too highly for those seeking a truly delicious dining experience in a wonderful Scottish hunting style lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 3 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Our Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. Having taken over just two years ago, a substantial renovation project is ongoing which has seen our Drawing Room and Bar/Bistro refurbished and completion of two new bedrooms with new en-suite bathrooms. In March 2015 a biomass boiler system was installed and another two new bathrooms have been completed. Investment in the Hotel is continuing with work starting on updating more bathrooms later in the year and a self-catering cottage will be available for rental in the Summer. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.