We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slochd Mhor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Slochd Mhor Lodge to your Saves list
Slochd Mhor Lodge
Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really Well set up, always cosy and warm when you get back from the slopes, drying room so everything is sorted for the next day. Ian is an absolute character, and their knowledge of the slopes and alpine treks is invaluable. Literally 10 mins from Aviemore in a stunning location, can't say enugh about the place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for two nights, the lodge is fantastic, spotless, well equipped, homely and very comfortable, a fantastic base for touring around the Black Isle, Aviemore, Moray, Boat of Garten, to be honest, had I not had appointments to come back for I would have stayed longer,
Ian and Liz are lovely and friendly, and the setting is fantastic, I will be going back again and again, it is a real gem,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Beautiful setting, facilities were brilliant. Hostel was very clean, rooms a good size and plenty in area for a family to do. Liz and Ian were helpful and friendly, and we had a whale of a time. Children didn't ask for telly once and the photos we got were brilliant. Highly recommend tO anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked at the last minute and were delighted to find this well equipped, comfortable and tranquil hostel at then end of a long day's travelling. Excellent facilities and the added bonus of the red squirrels feeding outside the lounge window. Despite being just a short distance from the A9 it was very peaceful and quiet so convenient without the drawbacks of traffic noise.

The twin room was very comfortable and the upstairs rooms looked good too. I wonder what the demand on showers would be like if the hostel was full but for us it was not a problem.
Kitchen well equipped, excellent recycling options and lots of thoughtful additions like the herbs and free range eggs. Certainly would return and would be tempted to try a winter break there for the x country skiing

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Upon arrival we were met by the man of the house who was very friendly and actually checked us in early. You have to take off your shoes at the door and put on croc shoes, which was a bit odd, but hey, when in Rome. We had booked a family room, but after drop outs we were down to 2 and the gentleman offered us a twin room instead "to save us a few quid". We agreed, though I have to say we weren't that fussed either way.
Our room was very clean, though quite small and the beds were very comfy. The bathroom is still to be finished, no facings on the door, chipboard, mdf etc aplenty.
The kitchen and lounge are spacious and comfortable.
Some hostels have the bare essentials available for users, such as butter, milk etc. That's not the case here, so stock up before you come, with the nearest shops miles away.
One uncomfortable moment came when it became evident that the lady of the house wanted us to pay for the en-suite family room despite moving to the non en-suite twin room. A difference of 40 odd quid. We paid £42 for the twin room in the end, but this didn't take account of the £10 deposit we'd already paid, meaning we'd paid £52. We felt a bit diddled by the whole issue.
I have to say this coloured our view of the stay, feeling a bit done and in truth we just wanted the stay over and to move on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slochd Mhor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slochd Mhor Lodge

Address: Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Slochd Mhor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slochd Mhor Lodge Carrbridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slochd Mhor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.