We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairn Hotel to your Saves list
Cairn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3 AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great For Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We did not stay at this Hotel but called in to have dinner on 3 separate nights.
We were a family of 6. 3 adults and 3 children. The food was fantastic and the service was
excellent even when they were busy. I would recommend the food at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
55
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

A group of 5 of us booked the cairns hotel for a seven night stay, one of the couples pearl anniversary when we got there after travelling 10 hours from Leeds, This owner Gareth denied any knowledge of our booking he was most unhelpful. We had to find another place ourselves we were not even offered a complimentary drink or meal and he made noises about finding us somewhere but that was it so please BE AWARE

Stayed September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Didn't know what to expect as hotel under new management since our last visit. Standards still the same. New owner, Gareth is very welcoming. Rooms very clean and comfortable, slept like logs. Home cooked specials as well as standard menu available daily. This was very popular with tourists and locals alike. Soup particularly popular. The residents of Carrbridge use the Cairn as a meeting place so that says it all! If you like comfort, ambience, log fires and value come here

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We chanced upon this hotel by accident. Our luck was in as there was one room vacant as somebody had booked it but not turned up. We could not have chosen better. The proprietor was charming and most helpful. The food was cheap and delicious. The staff were lovely including the barmaid. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

On visiting Carrbridge with my husband and children our accomodation was most comfortable, clean, with most friendly obliging staff and with good food and the location perfect for our needs and i would definatly recommend The Cairn Hotel to anybody wanting to stay in Carrbridge.
The Kerr Family, Lanark

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Myself, husband, and 2 young boys have just returned from this hotel. I have rated this 5 stars all across the board. The room were spotless as was the bathroom. The breakfasts were lovely, grapefruit, cereal, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast, cooked breakfast, kippers. We also ate in the restaurant at night which was great and relaxing. Starters cost £2.95 and the most expensive was £8.05 which for Venison Pie and mash is pretty great value.

The bar had a right local feel to it and the punters had good banter.

Last, but by no means least, the owners of this hotel are fantastic, they made us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely return. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends as you and your family deserve every success. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had a very comfortable stay at the Cairn Hotel. All staff are friendly and welcoming and aim to make your stay a pleasant one. Carrbridge is in a great location for enjoying outdoor pursuits or relaxing in a lovely setting, this hotel is perfect for relaxing at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3 AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.