We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world charm and charming service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evesham Road | off the A46, Abbots Salford WR11 8UT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Abbots Salford
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Olde world charm and charming service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed just one night but we will return. Our room in the main building was large with a four-poster bed and clean large bathroom. There are lovely views across open countryside through the stone framed windows. Heating was good.
The stairway is steep and there is no lift . Floors are uneven. All adds to the feel.
The bar is dark but cosy with original paneling and features.
There was a function taking place when we were staying but we were informed of this when booking so knew the times for dinner were limited. Dinner in the conservatory was pleasant enough. Meat and fish dishes were good but there was just the one choice for the vegetarian and this risotto was quite poor being too wet and having the taste overpowered by mushrooms not mentioned on the menu. Service was good and price reasonable.
Breakfast was buffet style as the hotel was so busy. We were able to book for family to join us. The little one in the party enjoyed the chocolate drops for breakfast. The usual British breakfast but plenty to choose from and well cooked.
Easy to find on the old road from Stratford to Evesham. We were made welcome with our cycle which was safely stored.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter if there is a function taking place. Book for dinner before arrival if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Dean-Traveller,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Salford Hall.
All comments are taken on board. With regards to the vegetarian options on the menu & the risotto not being up top standard, this has been passed on to our head chef & food & beverage manager for review.
It's always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed the charm & character the hotel has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to Salford Hall soon.
Many Thanks
Gemma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    156
    58
    26
    23
See reviews for
40
247
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed in rooms 6 and 7. (in the original house) Superb old worlds rooms with modern and very clean en-suites.
No lifts and stairs from the 1700's so a small bag would be handy for stays here.
Restaurant produces very good meals for dinner.
However breakfast meals (cooked) seemed to be a bit on the small side.
Some people may be put off by the drive from Stratford upon avon but it isn't that far.
Stay here in the original house to experience living in a building from the 1600's

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed with family recently on a deal voucher.
Rooms were ok, needed some work and uncomfortable beds. Staff a little grumpy, quite a lot of noise comes through from other rooms.
Plus points were the breakfast was good, bar was nice and a beautiful interesting building in a lovely location.
Would not pay the full price though to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are not in the main building, they seem newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Salford Hall hotel is in a lovely old historic building and is ideal for access and sightseeing to the northern Cotswolds as well as both Warwickshire and Worcestershire
We had a ground floor room in the annex - it was a really large, comfortable room with plenty of storage, with a good size ensuite shower room that looked like it had been recently refurbished. It is worth bearing in mind that if you are based in the annex there is a very short walk across the courtyard to get into the main hotel building.
There was a good selection for breakfast - with most of it being cooked to order - and the waiting staff were all very pleasant. We only had one evening meal in the hotel - as although the meal we had was very nice, the evening menu did not change on a daily basis and was limited to the same 4 main meals plus 1 Vegetarian option every day - so after the first evening we went to a pub in Salford Priors - less than a mile up the road, for evening meals as they offered a much greater selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Had 2 nights here for our anniversary and were very pleased with both the hotel and the service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also had a call soon after we settled in to our room to make sure things were ok. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The floor was creaky and sloped, but that is all part of the character of the building. The only downside was the noisy pigeons on the roof as we had a top floor room and they started cooing quite early! Would be happy to go there again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fantastic main building, very helpful and hardworking staff. Steeped in history. Fab breakfast and dinner menu. Ideal wedding or special celebration venue. Fantastic gardens. We stayed in the converted stables. Room wasn't very spacious but the view was great. The bathroom very nice and modern. Would definitely stay here again and there is a fab restaurant just down the road - The Bell. You do need a car if you're staying here though.

Room Tip: Jane Seymour room 33 is a bit cramped and only has a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

stayed 2 nights on a kgb deal. This made it excellent value. Our first night was in a syndicate room where the bed folded away into the panelled wall making an extension to the conference facilities. When we mentioned this the next morning they apologised and gave us an upgrade and offered to get the housekeeper to move our luggage for us. The food was of good quality but a bit unimaginative. The second night out we ate out at the Bell in Salford Priors. Our 2 dogs were also welcome and received dog chews.I understand that the current management has only been there for a few months and is trying to improve the standards. With some small improvements this could be a little gem. The staff were friendly and only too willing to help on any queries.

Room Tip: do not accept a syndicate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel

Address: Evesham Road | off the A46, Abbots Salford WR11 8UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Abbots Salford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Abbots Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Abbots Salford
Abbots Salford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel Abbots Salford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.