We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, couldn't fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South
Callerton Lane Ends, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good hotel, couldn't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Came down from Scotland with a few friends for a couple of nights out in the toon. Drove down and was easy to find and car was safe in the car park. Hotel was great value for money and very clean. Had no idea there was an airport nearby as never heard a thing. Metro station literally across the road which takes about 15 minutes and costs around £2 into city centre, a taxi costs about £15 and takes around the same time. Staff were also very helpful and friendly especially Rob on reception. Enjoyed stay, would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
90
85
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Teesside, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at both Premier inns at Newcastle airport in the past couple of months, even though this is a couple of minutes further away and maybe a little more dated we did get a better sleep than at the other one as there was less road noise. Staff where welcoming as usual and ate in the attached pub on our arrival which was good value and very friendly staff. Got this one at a lot better price than the other at only £29 for a Saturday night compared to £59 for the other.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This premier inn is up to the normal (high) standard although being close to the airport, as you might imaging aircraft noise is a slight issue. It is extremely convenient to take the Metro into central Newcastle. It was clean and comfortable. However, it was let down:

The pub next door is of very average quality and although really cheap, we found the food poor quality. Dinner for two, two courses and a bottle of (terrible) wine was only about £30 but we would have gladly paid more for better food. Breakfast at £8 looked expensive in comparison and the cold, clammy conservatory style restaurant was not the most inviting venue on a dark December morning.

We found the free Internet in the Premier Inn almost unusable and were therefore reluctant to pay for more. Instead we decided to use the free Internet in the pub but found this was equally bad.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the opposite side of the building to the airport apron. Do not eat in the adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

First time staying in a Premier Inn and I will have no hesitation in staying again. I'm not sure if this used to be a Travel Lodge, as the rooms look very similar. The Premier Inn has some bells and whistles that the Travel Lodge doesn't have such as higher quality T.V. and vastly superior mattress and pillows also the shower was terrific. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The Wheatsheaf pub that backs onto the Premier Inn serves decent pub grub at decent prices. The cooked breakfast was really good. In terms of location, this Premier Inn is very close to the Callerton Park Metro station, so reaching the town centre without fuss is really easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batley
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a great hotel, as is generally the case for Premier Inns. The room was modern, very clean, huge bed etc etc.

Unfortunately for this hotel, the attached restaurant let's it down. We have stayed at many premier inn's (this was our 3rd stay in the past 2 weeks !!) but never before been to one where the restaurant was a "fayre and square", and will avoid in the future!!

Usually, at a premier inn you have the Hotel's "own" restaurant, a "Table Table" or "Brewers Fayre" and all these are fine, but the "fayre and square" element of the whitbread group is bottom of the stack i'm afraid.

The food was very mediocre, probably too cheap, but we had to eat there as we were heading off to a concert afterwards, and did not want to risk trying to eat in Newcastle City Centre in case it was too busy. But the real let down was breakfast. Never had a bad breakfast at ANY premier inn until we stayed here. If this was your first visit to a premier inn, you would prob never go again, thankfully we know otherwise, and will just make a mental note to avoid this particular hotel. Breakfast was only served on the Sunday between 8am and 10am (which is a new first for premier inn - perhaps it was down to the heating failure in the pub??). Very dis-jointed buffet, had to ask for everything, cups for the drinks, spoons etc etc. Drinks were help yourself from push action flasks (come on this is not premier inn standard). Quite rare now a premier Inn was the fact that the hot food was not as a buffet and you had to order what you wanted. The sausages were POOR. Normally the sausages are good quality, these were cheap and DEEP FRIED !!!

So, generally, the hotel itself is fine, but badly let down by the attached restaurant. My recommendation, try and get in at the Newcastle Airport premier inn, half a mile up the road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front probably quieter from the unavoidable aircraft noise. No aircraft through the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Within walking distance of the airport, so it was surprising how quiet it was. Friendly staff, rooms clean comfortable & modern. Restaurant food very good & breakfast although at first seeming expensive was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We usually stay here overnight before travelling on holiday, as it is close enough to the airport and has a more pleasant atmosphere than the airport hotel. On this occasion we decided to visit to celebrate our sons birthday, as we knew he would enjoy staying here far more than a party.

On arrival our room was decked in happy birthday banners, and balloons, there was even a birthday card from the staff, really nice touches, which made our sons day. The room itself was typical premier inn, clean, spacious, warm and comfortable.

We had a few drinks and our evening meal in the bar, the food was as usual very nice and the service was good.
Breakfast the next morning was a similar experience so overall we had a great stay and will definitely return at some stage in the future. Either on route to a holiday or as a one night break.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South

Address: Callerton Lane Ends, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel Woolsington
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle Airport - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.