We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one Saturday night recently. The hotel is very close to the airport. If you come out of the terminal building and look to your left, you'll see it.

The staff were helpful and pleasant. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a well equipped bathroom.

Breakfast was buffet style and adequate, and the room rate (including breakfast) was just £70.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again when next in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    269
    52
    12
    22
See reviews for
107
375
47
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 days and found the hotel to be great value in a great location. The room was excellent as we're the staff, we did report a leaky shower which was not fixed. There is some aircraft noise but not during the night and the blackout curtains make it acceptable. The parking is very good and on the whole we would stay there again. It's just a shame they did not take more care over the maintenance

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear G_P56_12, thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that the problem with your shower was not rectified, this feedback has been passed to the relevant department. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Superb hotel with extremely welcoming and friendly hotel and restaurant staff. Room was immaculately decorated, modern, and spotless. Location excellent, within a few steps of the airport. Room was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Had to wait to be checked in but staff were dealing with people properly and not rushing them. The welcome warm cookies are great. The rooms are a good size with ample storage space. The bed is comfy. Large flat screen tv with lots of channels. All the staff are helpful. Parking is reasonable at £5 for guests. With the metro newcastle and the coast are very accessible. Hadrians wall is a rp moon drive. This would be my hotel of choice if in the area and I could get another bargain rate

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-By-The-Sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a great value hotel and perfect for when flying from Newcastle airport.

The terminal building is less than a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was particularly good for me when my flight departed at 6:30am!

Upon checkin you will be given a warm chocolate cookie which was a nice welcoming touch and there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel still has a new feel to it and includes everything that you would expect from a hilton hotel. Everything was really clean and comfortable bed for a good nights sleep.

Given the close proximity to the airport there was quite a bit of plane noise which may disturb your sleep. This is to be expected given how close you are but bear this in mind!

Overall good value and well located for travel from the airport. I wouldn't stay here for any other purpose though. Well done!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Internship10, thank you for your kind review. Our location makes us perfect for travellers using Newcastle Airport. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for just one night. I really enjoyed it. The check-in at reception was very welcoming and they were really helpful. Had a cocktail in the bar, which was good. After that a dinner in the restaurant. The food was amazing. Staff was very friendly, although a bit slow towards the end. However, the manager explained that they had a lot of unexpected guests from a cancelled flight, so it was understandable. Breakfast in the morning was good and again very friendly staff. The room was really nice and didn't have a lot of noice from the airplanes. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

There are many good points about this hotel and a few poor ones.
Let me start with the good ones.
The hotel is clean, modern and generally well maintained. It is ideally located for the airport and, with the metro station nearby, the city centre. Generally I found the staff to be very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food at breakfast is generally excellent and well presented. It is also pleasing to see that the bar often has a local real ale available too. The hotel has a nice lounge, a business centre and a gym. I found the beds comfortable, the TV worked well and had HD channels, the complimentary wifi was widely available through the hotel and the bathrooms were nicely decorated. All of which made for very pleasant stays at the hotel.
As I say, there have been a few poor points on my stays here but most of them minor. My biggest gripe would be the bath in the rooms. At 5ft 8 (175 cm), I am certainly not the tallest of people and yet even I found the bath to be small and impossible to lie in properly. I do enjoy a bath especially when first arriving at a hotel after a long journey.
The service in the restaurant and bar have not always been up to scratch. I was once served a bowl of soup with a knife and fork (no spoon)! On another occasion I was served soup with a roll and butter but no knife to spread it. I know I'm fussy but little things like that do matter. More seriously, my coffee cup at breakfast had lipstick stains on it; clearly it had not been washed properly.
One thing kissing at the hotel is a grassed area for sitting out on hot sunny days. Maybe they feel there is little call for this in Newcastle but it would be a bonus to be able to take your drink and bar food out onto a grassed area rather than having to sit at hotel tables beside the busy road into the airport. There seems to be some grass area behind the hotel, perhaps the management could consider acquiring this?
On my first visit to the hotel, I booked a king size deluxe room with floor to ceiling windows. Well, I was quite disappointed with the room, there was very little light getting in and it looked straight out at the opposite wing of the hotel. In fact, people having conferences in the rooms opposite, could look straight into my room (if they were so inclined or the conference was boring!). My advice would be to avoid odd numbered rooms in the 50s or 60s.
On another occasion, I booked a queen room with coffee machine. This room was much better, looked out over the rail station and airport. It was bigger all round (except the bath, see earlier comment) and much nicer. However the coffee machine turned out to be a kettle!
On the whole, this is a very good hotel to stay at, particularly if flying from the airport. Although I have had a few minor issues, I would certainly recommend it to anyone.
If you are worrying about possible noise from the airport, don't. The rooms and hotel appear well insulated against noise and, after all, the airport is not exactly the busiest in the world!


Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.