We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night recently. The hotel is very close to the airport. If you come out of the terminal building and look to your left, you'll see it.

The staff were helpful and pleasant. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a well equipped bathroom.

Breakfast was buffet style and adequate, and the room rate (including breakfast) was just £70.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again when next in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 days and found the hotel to be great value in a great location. The room was excellent as we're the staff, we did report a leaky shower which was not fixed. There is some aircraft noise but not during the night and the blackout curtains make it acceptable. The parking is very good and on the whole we would stay there again. It's just a shame they did not take more care over the maintenance

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear G_P56_12, thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that the problem with your shower was not rectified, this feedback has been passed to the relevant department. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Superb hotel with extremely welcoming and friendly hotel and restaurant staff. Room was immaculately decorated, modern, and spotless. Location excellent, within a few steps of the airport. Room was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Garth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Had to wait to be checked in but staff were dealing with people properly and not rushing them. The welcome warm cookies are great. The rooms are a good size with ample storage space. The bed is comfy. Large flat screen tv with lots of channels. All the staff are helpful. Parking is reasonable at £5 for guests. With the metro newcastle and the coast are very accessible. Hadrians wall is a rp moon drive. This would be my hotel of choice if in the area and I could get another bargain rate

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-By-The-Sea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This was a great value hotel and perfect for when flying from Newcastle airport.

The terminal building is less than a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was particularly good for me when my flight departed at 6:30am!

Upon checkin you will be given a warm chocolate cookie which was a nice welcoming touch and there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel still has a new feel to it and includes everything that you would expect from a hilton hotel. Everything was really clean and comfortable bed for a good nights sleep.

Given the close proximity to the airport there was quite a bit of plane noise which may disturb your sleep. This is to be expected given how close you are but bear this in mind!

Overall good value and well located for travel from the airport. I wouldn't stay here for any other purpose though. Well done!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Internship10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Internship10, thank you for your kind review. Our location makes us perfect for travellers using Newcastle Airport. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for just one night. I really enjoyed it. The check-in at reception was very welcoming and they were really helpful. Had a cocktail in the bar, which was good. After that a dinner in the restaurant. The food was amazing. Staff was very friendly, although a bit slow towards the end. However, the manager explained that they had a lot of unexpected guests from a cancelled flight, so it was understandable. Breakfast in the morning was good and again very friendly staff. The room was really nice and didn't have a lot of noice from the airplanes. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KvZ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

There are many good points about this hotel and a few poor ones.
Let me start with the good ones.
The hotel is clean, modern and generally well maintained. It is ideally located for the airport and, with the metro station nearby, the city centre. Generally I found the staff to be very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food at breakfast is generally excellent and well presented. It is also pleasing to see that the bar often has a local real ale available too. The hotel has a nice lounge, a business centre and a gym. I found the beds comfortable, the TV worked well and had HD channels, the complimentary wifi was widely available through the hotel and the bathrooms were nicely decorated. All of which made for very pleasant stays at the hotel.
As I say, there have been a few poor points on my stays here but most of them minor. My biggest gripe would be the bath in the rooms. At 5ft 8 (175 cm), I am certainly not the tallest of people and yet even I found the bath to be small and impossible to lie in properly. I do enjoy a bath especially when first arriving at a hotel after a long journey.
The service in the restaurant and bar have not always been up to scratch. I was once served a bowl of soup with a knife and fork (no spoon)! On another occasion I was served soup with a roll and butter but no knife to spread it. I know I'm fussy but little things like that do matter. More seriously, my coffee cup at breakfast had lipstick stains on it; clearly it had not been washed properly.
One thing kissing at the hotel is a grassed area for sitting out on hot sunny days. Maybe they feel there is little call for this in Newcastle but it would be a bonus to be able to take your drink and bar food out onto a grassed area rather than having to sit at hotel tables beside the busy road into the airport. There seems to be some grass area behind the hotel, perhaps the management could consider acquiring this?
On my first visit to the hotel, I booked a king size deluxe room with floor to ceiling windows. Well, I was quite disappointed with the room, there was very little light getting in and it looked straight out at the opposite wing of the hotel. In fact, people having conferences in the rooms opposite, could look straight into my room (if they were so inclined or the conference was boring!). My advice would be to avoid odd numbered rooms in the 50s or 60s.
On another occasion, I booked a queen room with coffee machine. This room was much better, looked out over the rail station and airport. It was bigger all round (except the bath, see earlier comment) and much nicer. However the coffee machine turned out to be a kettle!
On the whole, this is a very good hotel to stay at, particularly if flying from the airport. Although I have had a few minor issues, I would certainly recommend it to anyone.
If you are worrying about possible noise from the airport, don't. The rooms and hotel appear well insulated against noise and, after all, the airport is not exactly the busiest in the world!


Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Deerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#10 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing