We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Pre-flight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ideal for Pre-flight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night ahead of a very early morning flight with two small children. It is so well located for this purpose, I wouldn't hesitate to do this again. The hotel and our room itself was clean, well-decorated, and the service was impeccable. We didn't use the restaurant or any of the facilities, but the staff we did encounter was very helpful. The rooms were well insulated against road and airplane noise, we didn't hear a single thing. The bed was plush and comfortable, and the cot provided was in perfect condition with appropriate linens - something we have found is not always the case.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    311
    56
    14
    22
See reviews for
124
428
58
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga,, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A wonderful balance between professional and friendly staff. Made to feel welcome and relaxed. Luxurious room, comfortable and good quality linen with lots of extra pillows. The bathroom was immaculately clean and lovely products were provided. Nice touch having overhead and handheld shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a romantic getaway (without the kids) for 1 night. This is a lovely hotel with beautiful fixtures and fittings in all areas of the hotel. Real luxury. Stayed for breakfast which was really nice although they had ran out of muffins, pastries etc. which was a bit disappointing although they did provide a hot chocolate as I do not drink tea or coffee. The idea of bringing your fried eggs out separately to our table should be abolished as they were cold as we did not eat them straight away due to finishing our cereal. All in all though if you want a bit of luxury this is a nice place to stay. I would even stay if we were taking a flight from Newcastle airport although I would wait and book when there was an offer as we would need 2 rooms and this would be pricey if paying full rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for all your comments, it is only through feedback that we can grow and develop our business. I am sorry to see that your breakfast experience was not expected, Please let me take this opportunity to apologise for the buffet running out of pastries. This is not the norm but we are addressing in house. We do all our eggs to order to ensure that all our guests receive freshly cooked eggs to their table, we encourage all our guests to order as and when they need for their own convenience.

we hope to see you in the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on two occaisions, the first was actually my wedding night as we were catching an early flight the next day and the second more recently after a friend]s wedding at a nearby country house venue.

I really like this hotel, it offers incredible value for money. It's really clean, the staff are lovely and you get a warm cookie on arrival! Despite it's location it's really quiet and has really good blackout curtains for those who may have e.g. jet lag.

The hotel bar and restaurant are also excellent and I've visited both separately on a number of occasions and will do again in the future. The restaurant is not a typical hotel restaurant but an upmarket Italian, with another branch in the city centre. I believe the bar does food too although I've never eaten there. I can recommend the cocktails however!

I have actually heard of people from the Newcastle area going away for the night to the hotel, given the quality of the restaurant and bar and the fact that the cost of a room might not be far off the price of a taxi home.

I noticed another recent reviewer has mentioned the hotel pool - I think this review is a mistake, there's definitely no pool, or spa.

Room Tip: If you're a Hilton Honours member consider using your points instead of paying - I was amazed ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the end of August after landing at the airport at 1.30am. Although it is only across the road from the terminal it isn't well sign posted and it is quite difficult to see where reception is, especially during the night. The hotel itself is beautiful, the room was well maintained and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom could be bigger, I am not big by any means and I found it quite difficult to dry myself after using the shower. The reasons why I gave it only three stars were because of two reasons. Firstly, we got the hotel around 2am and all we wanted to go was go to bed. The male receptionist couldn't have booked us in any slower if he tried. He didn't tell us anything about the hotel except that our room was on the second floor. The following morning I decided to use their free Wi-Fi, only to find that I had to log in with a code apparently found on the card we got with our door keycard, but unfortunately there wasn't one. I asked at reception at breakfast time, and was abruptly told the password was "free Wi-Fi"!!!!! Breakfast wasn't brilliant either. We were shown to a table and asked if we wanted tea or coffee and orange juice, which was then brought to us. Apart from that, there was only cereal, toast or fruit, and if we wanted eggs then we had to ask a member of staff. I would only recommend this hotel if you don't require breakfast. But next time I am afraid I will be sticking to the Premier Inn where you can get a lot more choice and is all self service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Exceptionally helpful staff, excellent facilities and ideal location for flying in and out of Newcastle. Food excellent; rooms to a very high standard; business centre very useful. Prices very reasonable - so I hope all of these glorious reviews don't result in higher prices!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Recently stayed here overnight as we were flying out early next morning very quick check in room loverly modern large good staff very helpfull drinks a little expensive could not comment on the food as we left hotel at 0430 but i'm sure it would of been good booked with booking . com good price will definitly stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.