We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Park and Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal for Park and Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed one night before early flight 16th May. Facilities top Notch, friendly staff and would recommend the Italian Resteraunt. Rooms quiet, clean and still have that new feel. For location and price of our park and stay for 4 nights we couldnt have chose a better hotel. only downside was poor internet connection in our particular room, 202

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    311
    56
    14
    22
See reviews for
124
428
58
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover. Very loud air con that you can't switch off and turns on and off throughout the night that wakes you up. Staff that don't speak English ( I have no problem with foreign workers but don't put them on the front line until they can communicate and understand basic English). No hot water for whole night. Always had a great time in Hilton double tree's but this hotel needs a lot of work

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Delta288, thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The majority of our staff are local to the area, and we are not aware of any front of house staff that do not speak fluent English. There was an issue with hot water on the evening of your stay, and this was rectified within an hour and a half of being brought to our attention. Obviously I must apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, however if you would like to discuss this further please contact the hotel on 01661 824 266.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Free parking (though this will apparently end from May). This came in at just above the Premier Inn rate, for that you get a much better hotel - though neither are cheap... Good service, and would recommend as it is a very short walk to the airport terminal (and metro). Would highly recommend the restaurant too. Very good quality and service, and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This has been our second stay at this Hilton, nice modern hotel, decent sized rooms and just a two minute walk to Newcastle Airport. Always a good experience at check-in and you get a cookie on arrival, nice touch. Although I must say on this visit the cookie had been overdone by quite a bit! Only a small disappointment. The metro is also a two minute walk away and takes about fifteen mins to get to the centre of Newcastle, cost about £5 return, depending on the time of day. The restaurant is slightly on the small size compared to your regular Hilton and the evening menu is more restricted but the quality is still there. Housekeeping in the bedrooms is always excellent. Always a pleasant experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Brilliant all round, perfect for airport and hassle free. fab cookies on check in! Room very clean, staff very friendly. quick check in and out. We stayed in a family room and this was more than adequate for our family of 4. We paid for pre paid airport parking with our stay that was also hassle free. thank you for a fab start to our holidays

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now in the past few weeks and have to say its a great place to stay. Even though its at the airport, its so easy to get into central Newcastle either driving or on the Metro train.

The staff on reception are exceptional. Very friendly, quick to check you in and deal with any questions (if only all hotels were like this!).

The rooms are really comfortable, great beds, powerful showers, nice big TV's and a fridge you can actually use (instead of being a pricey minibar!).

Only downside to the hotel is they have just started to charge for car parking, which is a bit of a pain and a put off. My first stay was free parking but then the charges were introduced.

I didnt use the hotel's restaurant but had heard it was good value and nice food from other people.

Overall, great location, lovely rooms, excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room 152, 252 or 352 if you want a view right down the Runway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Nathan C, thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that your welcome to the hotel was friendly and helpful, and that you liked the amenities available in your bedroom. I hope that next time you use our hotel you will sample our Italian Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and have been delighted by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff, the excellent food and the superb location, just a very short walk across to the terminal which is ideal for those early morning flights. We have slept very well and never noticed any noise from the airport. However, we are very dissapointed that the hotel has decided to introduce a charge of £5.00 for overnight parking. On our last visit on the 10th May 2013 we paid for the room then £70.00 for dinner for 2 with wine and then £30.00 for breakfast for 2. Unfortunately the parking charge is one of those mean little extra charges that spoils the experience. Reading back through other reviews many comment on the free parking which shows that customers notice these kind of details.
MESSAGE TO THE MANAGEMENT-Please remove the parking charge, it is counter productive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.