We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Woolsington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just after the New Year, had a great night. Customer service was exceptional and the room immaculate. Bar area is great and again, the service was brilliant. We were very impressed and will no doubt be booking again in the future. This hotel would be a great way to start a summer holiday, especially for people travelling to Newcastle Airport.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Stlee12, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. I am looking forward to having you back next time you use Newcastle Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    201
    41
    9
    16
See reviews for
82
279
30
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Purchased tickets for a Burn's Night event being held and hosted by the Doubletree and it made sense to tack on a a nights accomodation as well. Just as well as the Burn's supper was bolstered with a malt whisky tasting, a whisky host tutoring us through each individual malt that had been slected to accompany each of the four courses of the meal. Terrific evening that could only have been improved by the Ceilidh band having had a caller that would have encouraged everyone onto the dance floor.

Our hotel room was spacious, clean and well appointed and dispite the proximity to the airport, our nights sleep was not disturbed. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and we were initially impressed by the friendliness of the restaurant staff on breakfast duty, many of whom I recognised from the previous nights event. Breakfast itself was very good with a wide selection of both hot and cold options, a traveller should not go away from here hungry.

The hotel is a stroll from the airport terminal and just a short metro ride from the centre of Newcastle, it could prove an excellent base for travellers wishing to visit this part of the North East. You could park your car (free parking for hotel residents) and not use it again until your departure.

Room Tip: Our top floor room faced the terminus and we had no disturbance from flight arrivals or departures
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Coralcaybelize, Thank you for posting your review of our Burns Supper. It's fantastic to hear that you had a good time, all of the staff certainly enjoyed bringing the night to life and looking after all our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed your overnight stay and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Although my husband knows newcastle as a business man. Really didn't want to stay in town or down on the quay. Booked a disabled room which was enormous, although you wouldn't have noticed till you walked into the immaculate bathroom, which comes with all the toiletries needed. The bed was luxurious with many pillows to match. Has a LG flat screen, integral fridge and tea/coffee enough to last the night/day throughout your overnight stay, along with the giant warm cookie given at reception on checking-in. Booked a table at Fratello's and was given 2 choices of timings for dinner. The food is excellent, so much so we couldn't manage a sweet. If this is an example of Doubletree, will definately be staying again.

Room Tip: If possible don't choose a corner bedroom, metal open canopies on the walls caused alot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear TreesrgreenDoncaster, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am very glad that you found our hotel luxurious and our dining options to be of a high standard. We pride ourselves on creating a comfortable and relaxing stay for all our guests. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute as we had an early morning flight and the weather forecast was heavy snow. Reception staff were polite and welcoming. We were greeted with a still warm chocolate cookie - delicious. Our room was spacious with tea,coffee etc and a large flat screen TV. Lots of free toiletries in the bathroom too. Had a drink in the bar which is very nice - they had a log fire going and served food in the bar as well as the adjoining restaurant. There was no aircraft noise at all and overall I would say this hotel is quite luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Cas62, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very glad that you had an enjoyable experience when travelling in the adverse weather was challenging. I hope you enjoyed your cookies and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I at the end of December and decided to stay at the Hilton Hotel in Newcastle due to it's location. The night before our flight to Paris we stayed at the Doubletree Hotel next door (literally) to the airport. The Doubletree was a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. The Hilton was dirty and lacking in service. The location of the Hilton was better in that we didn't have to rely on taxis to get us into Newcastle every day, but we expected at least the same quality with Hilton that we had with the Doubletree Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kathy37064, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location made your journey through Newcastle Airport more convenient. I hope you will return to us next time you are flying from Newcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the Doubletree hotel next to Newcastle Airport before my son departed next day. This hotel is literally 2 min walk from departures, with underground carpark which was free for our one night stay, but I do believe u have to pay for longer. Hotel was clean and very welcoming, hot choc cookie on arrival was nice touch. Hotel offers bar food, which we had and quality was excellent and not over priced, as well as an italian restaurant. Drinks in bar were slightly more expensive but only to be expected. We stayed in a twin accessible room which was huge, overlooking airport entrance, and experienced no airport noise (although it was heavy snow so planes might not have been running)! Overall a brilliant hotel for anyone dropping off or picking up from airport to avoid an early morning commute. Paid £48 for room only - booked direct with hotel, although was same price on laterooms etc. Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Angel2805, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal in Columbus Bar, and that you found our menu to be good quality and reasonably priced. Our location makes us ideal for guests who will be flying in and out of Newcastle Airport. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here as I had an early flight from the airport, and not sure I'd get there from home early the morning of the flight.

Hotel hasn't been open very long. Rooms nicely furnished, bathroom quite impressive actually.

Very little noise from airport despite it being so close.

Used room service, nice. Chips great!

Staff spot on and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Durham_Bloke_UK, thank you for sharing your comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the chips! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington
Address: Woolsington, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.