We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Woolsington
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My first stay here but definitely not my last. This stay came about due to being redirected owing to bad weather. The whole experience from check in to check out was very pleasant. Service on reception was efficient and brisk and I was greeted and treated as if I stayed there every week. The room (368) more than met my needs and had electric wrap around curtains for me to play with!!
Bathroom facilities were good and all other facilities such as good Internet, kettle, heating, lighting were just right. Excellent restaurant for dinner at Fratellos with good food and a prices that were at the right level. Breakfast provided a good variety and a 04:30 start was providing a good service for an airport hotel.
Hilton have pitched this hotel perfectly as combining an airport hotel with practicality and customer satisfaction is not an easy task. Well recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Philip C, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am very pleased to hear that we made your travel experience more enjoyable during this difficult weather. Our bedrooms are brand new and luxurious, and our staff make guest satisfaction their focus. I hope I can welcome you back to us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    261
    51
    13
    22
See reviews for
104
362
46
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Changed from a central Newcastle Hotel for an airport based hotel despite attending an event in the town centre. Took a long time to weigh up pros and cons after being tempted to stay here whilst reviewing flights to Newcastle on the British Airways website.

Check in prompt and efficient and within 5 mins of walking out of the arrivals hall at NCL. The hotel is across the carpark from Newcastle Airport. When I realised how close it was I worried a bit about airport noise but this was totally unfounded.

Hilton Gold status got room upgrade, complimentary breakfast and a drink at the bar which was quite nice. Well appointed room, having standard facilities.

Relaxed for a while before taking the Metro into town from the adjoining airport terminal building. Quick and easy to use even if the trains were dirty.

Returned to the hotel to get ready for night out and took metro back into town centre. Was armed with telephone number for a taxi firm for the return journey.

Breakfast the following morning was great with a wide variety on order. Being an airport hotel breakfast was from 4.30am to 10.30am a little too early to finish breakfast service at the weekend.

Gold card got the privileges of an extended check out (1300) when I saw that 2 flights including mine were delayed. From check out to airport lounge was again just 10 minutes including security check so definitely advantages for location.

Now here come the downsides, despite being a status members of frequent traveller schemes (Gold with Hilton Silver with BA), the booking did not qualify for any HH Points or BA Avios as it was booked via a "third party" (BAs) website. Rate was the same rate as could have booked direct via Hilton. Reception staff puzzled as they always ask people to join on check in, BA equally so as Hilton was one of their preferred partners. Indeed it was as a result of entering a Hilton/BA competition that the cookies on BAs website highligted this to me.

Whilst initially disappointed at the fact of not being awarded any points or miles the lack of customer service from Hilton Honours has been distinctly poor. Hilton Honours passed me to the Hotel,. the Hotel did not bother getting back to me to let me know what the situation was. Even when asking the Duty Manager to intervene 3 weeks later STILL nobody bothered getting back to me although an insulting amount of points was credited to my account without explanation or notifcation. Further elaboration on this was done as a gesture of goodwill.

This has resulted in all future bookings with Hilton being cancelled including the ones booked with BA as there would be no recognition of continued loyalty.

What would have otherwise been one of the best hotel stays ever with just about everything being perfect was marred by what has to be one of the worst experiences of customer care ever experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear KeaneJohn, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand that you have been contacted by our general manager regarding your HHonors account and that this matter has been resolved. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Have stayed here twice now with a week between stays. Great staff, been made welcome at reception both times & check in was painless. Nice room & quality bathroom, although water pressure was not great the second time. Ate at Fratellos restaurant both times, a quite extensive menu which makes a change for someone who stays away a lot. There is also a second restaurant which gives more choice if you're staying longer. I love Italian food & though the quality & portions good. Pries are reasonable as well.
So if I needed an hotel near Newcastle Airport this one stands up well & I'd recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear tr7v8, thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I am glad that you found checking in to our hotel a pleasant experience, and that you enjoyed your meal in Fratello's restaurant. Our location makes us ideal for guests who are using the airport. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love this hotel. An excellent hotel a short few steps outside and across to the airport. The rooms were luxurious, the beds very comfortable, the showers excellent - choice of standard and rain shower in the bathroom.
Of course there was the very welcoming cookie, handed to you at the end of check-in and then off up to the room to have it with a cuppa!
The buffet breakfast was excellent, copious amount of delicious smoked salmon! The black pudding wasn't the best I have tasted (change of brand needed) but the rest was just great. We went to a concert in town and the last metro back to the hotel was at 11pm which was fine but otherwise you would need a taxi, which could cost you as it's about 20 mins out. But I was much happier to be based here as it as it is such a lovely hotel and then it was back out right onto the motorway north again very easily next morning!
As an airport hotel for location you truly can't better it and I will recommend and sell it to all my customers when they book their holidays with me!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Marisa.i, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. It's great to hear that you enjoy your stays here, especially our signature DoubleTree chocolate cookie. We are always endeavouring to improve the high standard of the food we serve on our extensive breakfast buffet, and your comment about the black pudding will be passed on. I would also like to thank you for recommending us to your customers, and I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne,England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I booked a meal at Fratello's restaurant in the hotel for my girl friend's birthday on January 11th.
As I had enough Hilton Honors points we decided to stay overnight.
The meal was very enjoyable. As my girl friend has to have a gluten-free diet this can sometimes make things more difficult.However,not on this occasion thanks to Chris our waiter.
He was very helpful and even arranged for gluten-free bread to be provided.
The accommodation aspect of our stay was also very good.We had a room with bath and shower and were also provided with bath robes - a nice touch!
We stayed here before an early morning holiday flight last September as well. Our recent stay only confirmed our high opinion of the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: We had room 261 which had a bath AND shower. I believe some rooms have a shower only,but not sure wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear BCATAH, thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, and even more so that you found the service in our restaurant to be of the high standard that we strive for at DoubleTree. Chris has been made aware of your positive feedback. All of our staff make guest satisfaction their focus throughout all aspects of your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

There simply is no excuse for getting up in the middle of the night to catch a morning flight when this superb hotel is right on the doorstep of Ncl airport. Beautifully appointed rooms, friendly efficient staff, a warm chocolate cookie when you arrive and a lovely geordie lass to welcome you!

Well done Doubletree, you've got it right! Superb breakfast too and a bargain too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Pr0fessionalC0uple, thank you for sharing your comments with us. I'm pleased that you enjoy your stays at our hotel, every guest experience is important to us. Our location makes us unrivalled for early flights from Newcastle Airport, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your DoubleTree chocolate cookie. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton the night before we cruised the Caribbean and it really set us up nicely for cruise.Lovely clean hotel and very comfortable.We went to hotel Italian restaurant and had an absolutely superb meal which was reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly.Karen and I would definetely recommend this hotel for a stopover before flying from Newcastle and also for a visit to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear saltpansjohnandkaren, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly your meal in Fratello's restaurant. I hope you had a great time on your cruise to the Caribbean and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.