We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average enough. Fine to put ur head down for an early morning flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average enough. Fine to put ur head down for an early morning flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived late at nite, the nite staff got us sorted quickly with room keys & organised a take away breakfast
Rooms very basic, but fit for purpose. Warm
On a plus within walking distance from the Airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Keri-McG,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are pleased you found the hotel met your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    127
    129
    114
    150
See reviews for
102
253
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Excellent location able to walk to and from airport, no need to take a taxi just walk over with your cases. Rooms to need upgrading very out dated and terrible bed, but this was in progress. Somebody wrote about foreign workers, I did not see any, very nice geordie people. We had breakfast which was very nice, although I did eat too much (nice black pudding) To sum it up, very reasonable priced hotel that could not be any closer to the hotel. Would I stay here again? certainly we have already booked a room for our next hols in January.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear plsdeluno,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review, we are appreciate your honest opinion and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Long stay parking and an overnight stay for the same cost as parking alone. What more can you want.
Room was clean and warm.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful.
While I was waiting to check in there was a medical emergency for another guest and they reacted very promptly and professionally.
We did not use the restaurant but it was full and seemed popular.
Will definitely keep on using if they can maintain the pricing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear David M,
Thanks for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel needs demolishing only good thing is the staff in the place food disgusting rooms stinking like walking in to a 70 time warp feel sorry for the staff that got to work in them conditions all foreign workers hardly any english workers cheap labour i guess so take my advice stay well clear there two other hotels near by premier inn double tree hilton room shabby stained matresses mouldy bathrooms stains on walls looked like a half way house for refugees would never let a dog stay there never mind humans bar and restraunt filthy food still on cutelry filthy hotel even rips in carpets when u walk to bar breakfast was disgusting bacon crispy sausages half cooked mushrooms black fried eggs like rubber all dissapointing would never ever stay there again when there a few hotels near by

Room Tip: if u stay there there are no good rooms to recommened
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mr Lee,
thanks for your feedback, I do hope if you experience was as terrible as noted that you have contacted the General Manager with your reservation/room number or atleast completed a guest comment card prior to leaving.

In todays society it seems unecessary to differentiate between English and "foreign" staff, as with almost every hotel around the world Britannia Newcastle has a suitable mix of local, European and international team members who can only enhance the guest experience. Unfortunately I disagree with your comments that the hotel is filthy, our team work very hard to ensure high standards are maintained.
Once again thank you for your feedback,
Kind Rgards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value for money, we got hotel plus car parking and 3 course meal / bottle of wine for less than most hotel rooms cost.
Food was really good, staff friendly and although room was small it was still very clean with a comfy bed.

Would recommend. Plus very close to Newcastle airport ( walking distance)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Simon W,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, the Britannia ethos is to offer value for money prices, we are pleased you found the hotel met your needs and the team look forward to welcoming you again soon
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked this hotel online as we needed parking for 15 nights plus an overnight stay on our return from Greece.
I was very impressed with the level of service provided both when we left the car & when we returned at 1.20 am 15 days later.
We were greeted with a lovely smile & a bit of banter from the night porter,he was very efficient,we booked breakfast for an extra £5 each,this was extremely good value for money.
On arriving in the dining room at about 9am we were shown to a table by a smiling lady& shown to a table,it was a buffet breakfast consisting of cereals,cooked food ,toast & copious amounts of tea,coffee & juice,I can't praise the quality of the food highly enough.
There was a group of really loud men in the dining room,looked as though they were waiting for transport after eating their breakfasts,the waitress asked them if they would kindly go to the next door room to wait,that was very much appreciated & peace returned.
We were impressed that a few days after we returned home we had a letter thanking us for leaving our comments & hoped we had a safe journey home.
Would recommend this hotel & would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear patricia f,
Thanks for your feedback, as stated in my letter to you we do appreciate all comments.

We are pleased the hotel met your expectations and our team look forward to welcoming again soon,
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights whilst at an exhibition in the "Toon". The price for BB&EM (incl bottle of wine too) was more than acceptable, the room was comfortable and warm - plus considering the close proximity to the airport, very quiet too! The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a good choice for most tastes, evening meal was good - a bad experience with the lasagne though, the cheese on top was like a Welsh rarebit and the beef a tad dry. The biggest let down was having to wait for service, as there seemed to be a lack of staff on duty, but at these prices, it's not the end of the world. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Charles C,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are pleased you found the hotels deals to your satisfaction and apologise if our team inconvenienced you by keeping you waiting. We aim to provide good service, as you can appreciate its only with guest feedback that we can truly monitor the standards of service, your comments will be forwarded to the Food & Beverage manager to review and action where necessary.
Thanks again
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.