We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good nights sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Save Saved
You added Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Woolsington
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not a good nights sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We decided to stay here as it was close to the airport and thought we'd have a good nights sleep instead of getting up very early from home. It would have probably been better to have set of at 4am from home as I hardly slept at all!! My bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever tried to sleep on as the springs were digging in my back! I then put the duvet on the mattress which was a bit better but then of course I was cold as nothing to cover up with!! The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is clean and the staff were very friendly. The other thing we found was it isn't easy to find as there aren't any clear signs to the hotel and we went round in circles before finding it!!! I definately wouldn't stay here again but would go over to the premier inn which is also very near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Angela G,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, the team are in the process of replacing beds throughout the hotel but as you can appreciate this does take time however, we would have been happy to move you to a room with a new bed upon request.
Our General Manager is currently addressing signage issues and we hope to have this resolved in the coming months
Thank you once again for your feedback
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    116
    112
    105
    135
See reviews for
88
220
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

landed at newcastle airport 2 am 14th sept ,never been as pleased to get to bed, room was good, bed comfortable, and the breakfast was good value @ £5. we stop here every year either before flying or after if its a late flight, ok its looking tired but it does the job. its also good value when the price includes car parking, you know its only a short walk to the terminal which is a bonus, keep up your good work and we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor this time, and as i say it was after 2 am but it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear michaelCarlisle,
Thanks for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was looking for an overnight stay as I had an early flight. I also needed parking so when I searched on the internet, this was the only accomodation that came up!! I was devastated to find out that there was a premier inn and a holiday inn accross the road as I would much rather have stayed there. The hotel is unclean, I did not want to put my bare feet on the carpet and by luck I showered before I left that day so did not have to use the shower facilities as they were awful!! The lobbys were untidy looking with dishes and rubbish lying about everywhere. The restaurant and bar areas werent much better and the food was basic!! I can honestly say the nicest thing about the hotel was the uniform the reception staff were wearing! Never again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear AC77Larnakshire,
Thanks for your comments, we are disappointed that you were unhappy with the hotel, I can assure you that the bedroom carpets, bathrooms are suitably clean or they would not be in service for guests use.
A member of the management team are on shift throughout the day & night, if you are not satisfied with the hotel facilities and services our Duty Manager would have been happy to discuss your issues & immediately resolve them for you.

We do hope you will stay with us again
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woolsington hotels

Cumbria
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for £29. It was worth that.I wouldnt have been happy about spending much more.I didnt use any of the public areas on this occasion but have in the past and they were ok.I ordered room service which was reasonably priced and served quickly but the quality wasnt great.Its location is perfect for the airport ,which to me is its only saving grace.The hotel is dated and grubby,the rooms were clean and for the price I paid I happily accepted the standards inside.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Amigolovelyhair,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, our team work tirelessly to ensure the hotel meets the needs of todays traveller whilst working within the constraints of a large group. Our team inhouse are currently redecorating bedrooms & corridors, this will continue throughout the winter months, as you can appreciate this does take time
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The room was very tired and the mattress uncomfortable - soft and lumpy. Lobby looked untidy with used glasses left lying about. However the long stay parking arrangements worked well and it is only a short walk away from the terminal. Would consider an alternative hotel another time even if more expensive. All in all it serves a purpose but not very well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear EllenT,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your comments,
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Really awfull hotel , the public areas were ok but the rooms were shabby if not dirty, the wallpaper was stained and dirty, the carpets were the same, it looked more like a youth hostel than a hotel, the breakfast were good,no complaints but still the hotel itself is Terrible

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear andysfatbird,
Thanks for your comments, we are disappointed with the feedback however we appreciate your opinion. Our housekeeping team work very hard to ensure the rooms are cleaned to a high standard, whilst the decor/furnishings may not be to everyones taste the rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily.
Once again thank you for your comments
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on a Sunday wine and dine deal and it was excellent value for money. Food and drink really good quality and hotel room really clean and comortable. No complaints for price paid at all. Newscastle CC easy to access from hotel via Newcastle Airport Metro link.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewcManager716, Manager at Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear LiverpoolHuntress,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review, we are pleased the hotel & food on offer met your approval.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Woolsington | Ponteland, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.