We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“same old same old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dower House

Dower House
Market Place, Bawtry DN10 6JL, England
01302 719 696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Bawtry
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“same old same old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

we go all the time the food is average the service is average nothing exciting about this place at all

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    32
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Worst curry we've ever had year's ago it was ok now its just got down hill it didn't realise nobody goes there anymore went on sunday night only me and my partner was in say no more ive cooked better my self from a jar from asda never again avoid like plague we have now both got diarrhoea had day off work shocking be warned

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely place and good value
Not your traditional indian but more upmarket with lovely food and great service all round
Maintains high food standards

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Popular quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my first visit to the Dower House and my first to an Indian for some time. Obviously its reputation has meant a big growth in clientele and tjhis can have an impact on quality both in terms of food and attention.

Some of our party were well known to the staff and we did get attention, but still it took time to ttake orders and the food was a while being delivered. When it came it was very good and everyone was very happy. delays were not an issue as we had plenty to talk about.

Overall very satisfactory but the owners will have to make some decisions as to how to manage popularity and customer expectations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“poor experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked a table for 9 pm , eventually got seated at 9.50 , ordered pickle tray ,poppadom's cold , starter's came barely warm , complained , staff did not seem to care , waited age,s for main course so cancelled that, at 10.45 decided to leave as we thought the wait was too long no apology we told them we would pay for drink's and stater's as we were leaving still no apology . food standard poor , customer service diabolical , this restaurant is only worthy as a 2 star .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dower House also viewed

Bawtry, South Yorkshire
Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 
Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Dower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.