We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caviars of Bawtry

Caviars of Bawtry
9 - 9a Swan Street, Bawtry DN10 6JQ, England
01302 710006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Bawtry
Price range: $32 - $56
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Caviars of Bawtry, situated on a quiet side street in the picturesque market town of Bawtry, serves fine food in an intimate and elegant setting. The perfect venue for a romantic meal or special meal.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Called in for lunch today, very welcoming, food fantastic, well cooked, hot and great presentation. Looking forward to going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - people know us for evening meals so it's nice to get good feedback on our lunch too.
Regards
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    31
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a little gem! We visited on a weekday evening and were absolutely amazed by the quality of the food and service. Soon after we arrived, my dining companion suddenly felt very hot. Immediately a fan appeared beside her; no hesitation, no fuss. The meal itself was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented, and the time between courses was exactly right. What made this meal particularly special was that the combination of ingredients went so well together: each course just ‘worked’. And what was staggering was that, as far as we could see, there were only two staff actually on that night, one serving and one in the kitchen (which, as other reviews have noted, was in full view of the diners). OK, there were only three tables occupied whilst we were there - there deserved to be more - but, even so, I could not fault the restaurant in any respect. The waitress showed that it is entirely possible to achieve the ‘holy grail’ of serving (as far as I’m concerned) – there when you want them and invisible when you don’t – something that staff in some ‘starred’ restaurants find difficult. To cap that, the waitress told us that the head chef, the oldest of the kitchen staff, was only 23 – and he wasn’t on that night! Clearly the restaurant has attracted some extremely talented young staff both in and outside the kitchen. I have not enjoyed a meal so much for years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - really glad you liked your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again .. the menu changes often so keep an eye on our web page for new dishes!
Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me & my boyfriend booked a table here for a special occasion and it was just lovely everything about it, the atmosphere, the food, the service. I had the best Steak iv ever had it was cooked to perfection! The 'Taste the Garden' desert was also lovely all the portions are just right so you have room for a sweet! I would certainly go back, worth every penny!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Really glad you enjoyed your meal - we do try to get the portions so that you can enjoy 3 courses .. you gotta have dessert when you're out!!
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic - never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Been to Caviars on 3 occasions now - 1 evening, one Sunday lunch and 1 weekday lunchtime and I have to say, this place does not disappoint. The food is outstanding, cooked to order - you know this because you can see the chefs working flat out in the kitchen. The menu is fantastic and changes so you know there will always be something new to try unlike some other restaurants in Bawtry (frozen pasta is not my idea of a good meal!). The wine list is also excellent in Caviars too and the prices very reasonable. The manager is also well travelled and is able to offer lots of advice, along with a great sense of humour too. Highly recommended - only comment would be to put up a clear screen between the seating area and kitchen - nice to see the busy chefs but a bit of separation would be good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments - glad that you like it .. we will keep pushing!! The screen on the kitchen is something we have considered - keeps you safe from those chefs!!
Hope to see you again soon,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A pleasant place to dine, attentive and knowledgeable staff, offer good advice when asked. Food well cooked and presented, and a good menu for the size of the venue. I will go again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbeanlands, General Manager at Caviars of Bawtry, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Cheers for the review - we look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon we hope.
Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caviars of Bawtry also viewed

Bawtry, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Caviars of Bawtry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caviars of Bawtry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.