We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good service with outdated rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Bawtry DN10 6JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bawtry
Saffron Walden, U.K
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location & good service with outdated rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at The Crown as I was attending a wedding about 10 miles away. The reception staff & breakfast team were very helpful, sorting out taxis with local firms for us & accommodating dietary requirements very well. However, while the bathroom was spacious & modern, the bedroom itself seemed old-fashioned (though perhaps it just wasn't to my taste!). The parking situation wasn't great; on arrival I had to park in the Pay & Display bays as the hotel's own, limited, spaces were full. This meant that I had to get up early to move my car / feed the meter again to avoid a ticket. The location was very good for Bawtry itself, just walking distance from shops, restaurants & bars but overall I felt that the two nights stay were overpriced! However, if cannot fault the staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    40
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
22
82
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed her many times, with family, friends, my other half and with children and each time the hotel and staff have been fantastic!

Rooms are well decorated and clean, any problems you may come across are dealt with quickly and efficiently! Room service is also a hit as when family was ill during one stay we all managed to eat restaurant food in our rooms! Perfect!

When needing a local hotel I won't choose anywhere else!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a meal with family last Friday. Little disappointed with the quality for the price. My wife asked for a side salad instead of chips and the waitress had to ask chef if this was ok. I asked for new potatoes instead of chips and again this was questions and chef would have to be asked. Why such an issue for a four star hotel?? Not really impressed for the price you pay with the lack of flexibility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Hotel in connection with a Wedding and were very impressed by everything about the venue and the way the staff all worked really hard to make everyones stay a pleasure.
We were able to check in early by phoning ahead and luckily no one had used our room the previous evening which was a bonus. The room was clean and of a good size with all the facilities you would need.
The public areas and the room for the wedding were all very nicely arranged and the food was fantastic, especially the breakfast which was full waiter/ress service.
Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed on 14th September room was booked as double although we were given a twin of course we called reception who advised us that there was no chance of changing the room and didn't offer us any form of compensation.I would describe the room as travel lodge standard we had 1 mug in our room which didn't really bother us as we didn't use them, but there should have been 2! you got wet just turning on the shower as you had to lean round a shower screen, so if you dont plan to wash your hair you are in trouble!
The breakfast was nice although the service was appalling, we were shown to our table and then left.. after 10 mins asked one of the waitresses who were stood chatting amongst themselves for a coffee, which took ages to arrive, were then left again and had to ask a waitress to take our order this level of service is terrible, the restaurant was by no means busy and the girls were just stood around chatting, very frustrating! wont be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bawtry hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Bawtry is a very attractive small town and the Crown is situated at the heart of it. We had a family weekend there as part of a wedding and had a comfortable room and enjoyed excellent breakfasts. The shops, pubs and restaurants are all less than 5 minutes walk away.
The wedding and reception were in the hotel and the staff worked really hard to make it a success. The bar area is modern and serves good coffee. Real Ale is limited but the pub across the road has plenty.

Room Tip: The rooms are split between the main building and an annex. We were in the annex which was quiet but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband surprised me with taking me to The Crown Hotel in Bawtry for valentines day. We ate there too couldn, t fault there dining system or the choice of food, we had breakfast loads of choice then had lunch which was excellent then dinner I was absolutely spoilt and loved every minute of it. Our room was beautiful too an amazing onsuite black toilet roll which i have never seen in my life, my husband was impressesd with the tv as it had his name subscribed at the top of it welcoming us to the hotel. We, ve been to quite a few hotels and was very impressed with this one definately will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: High St, Bawtry DN10 6JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Bawtry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bawtry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Crown Hotel is located in chic and cosmopolitan Bawtry. The hotel has been transformed with a rustic and contemporary style, with 77 bedrooms including sumptuous executive bedrooms with mood lighting, photographic wallpaper and sunken beds. The Crown restaurant open all day offers a locally sourced menu including grills, fish, pasta and its famous sharing platters, whilst the bustling Crown bar also offers a fizz menu and has a great atmosphere with candle lit lanterns and music. Bawtry is also right on the hotel doorstep and is renowned for its independent boutique shopping, restaurants and wine bars. The Crown is the perfect location to stay while visiting Doncaster Racecourse, Keepmoat Stadium / Doncaster Rovers, Doncaster Dome or when flying from Robin Hood Airport just 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Doncaster
The Crown Hotel Bawtry, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.