We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Comfort it said and comfort in the country it was.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Comfort B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shepton Mallet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Comfort B & B
Save
You added Country Comfort B & B to your Saves list
West Compton Lane, Somerset View Farm, Shepton Mallet BA4 4FL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Peak District - Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Country Comfort it said and comfort in the country it was.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

An idyllic setting for a farmhouse B&B with a stunning view of the Tor and Somerset levels in the distance . Fields full of the most beautiful beef cattle with their calves. A separate paddock served as home to a selection of chickens providing fresh eggs for a most delicious full English breakfast. Family room immaculate with spacious en-suite shower room. All complemented by the friendly welcome from Debbie, the most gentle, sweet person ever to run a B & B. 10/10 for hospitality including her husband, Jim the working farmer. Sit outside on a warm moonlit evening and if you are lucky you will see the owl perched on the 'dead' tree. We have a lovely silhouette photo of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our daughter booked this B&B as a combined birthday/anniversary present and when we arrived Debbie presented us with a lovely box of chocolates as a gift. That was just the start of an absolutely brilliant overnight stay. Debbie told us to treat the farmhouse as our home and what a home! Our room was absolutely immaculate and the attention to detail amazing. Delicious breakfast with views across the fields to Glastonbury Tor. We even fed the hens before we left, taking with us eggs that has been freshly laid. A huge thank you to Debbie - you have the perfect B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed here last weekend whilst I was attending the Bath and West show ground. Debbie was fantastic and you will not find a better place to stay. Booking again next year. Thank you again for a wonderful stay. Sleep quality 10 out of 10, Breakfast 10 out of 10, and it has the most wonderful views I have ever seen.

Room Tip: My sat nav, sent me a bit a drift, just follow the directions on the web site and you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent one night here last w/end and have to say this is one of the best B&B`s we have ever stayed in ! Debbie is an amazing host and the building itself is fantastic with everything you could possibly want. Breakfast with a stunning view over farmland with Glastonbury Tor in the distance was wonderful. Just a 5 minute drive to the Bath and West Showground or 10 mins to the city of Wells. We will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't have asked for more. We had 2 very comfortable nights sleep, 2 delicious breakfasts and the most warm welcome you could ever wish for. Debbie is an absolute delight and makes you feel as if the place is your own. If you are considering where to stay in Shepton Mallet then look no further! We are already looking forward to our next visit and can't recommend the Country Comfort highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwater, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A jewel. Very friendly and welcoming. A beautiful house where you are made to feel at home. Fantastic views directly ahead to Glastonbury Tor. A wonderful central position for touring and just off the B3136 – very easy to find. Have stayed on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. Rooms are all very clean, comfortable, tidy and beautifully furnished. The bedrooms are a good size and the bedding is to die for! The sheets are so, so soft and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast sets one up for the day, there is as much as you can eat and nothing is too much trouble for Debbie. I fell in love with the cows, they too are welcoming and friendly. Definitely a B&B that I will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent. The front room looks across to Glastonbury Tor, the back room looks onto f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. The farm is on a small lane from the main road. A stunning new farm house with a view that anyone would pay good money for. Debbie met us at the front door and immediately made us feel comfortable and welcome. You get a beautiful, warm double room with a view over fields of lovely cows and you can see all the way to the Glastonbury Tor. You also have the living room down stairs that also has a large window to take more advantage of the view. Debbie was wonderful to speak to and with her husband Jim, make this B&B even better. The breakfast was amazing with fresh farm eggs (you really can tell the difference between farm eggs and store eggs).
I can't recommend this peaceful retreat enough to anyone. We were only looking to go the area for a one off show, we are now thinking of going next year just so we can enjoy Debbie and Jim's 5* B&B again.
Thank you for having us.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Comfort B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort B & B

Address: West Compton Lane, Somerset View Farm, Shepton Mallet BA4 4FL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful county of Somerset, we are located between Pilton, Wells and Glastonbury . We offer quality accommodation, in a comfortable, warm and friendly environment. Our working Farm is the perfect place to base your stay and enjoy all that Somerset has to offer. If you like the quiet of the country side without the noise of traffic and be able to look up at the night sky with out the pollution of street lights, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Comfort B & B Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Comfort B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.