We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - old style and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowlish House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bowlish House to your Saves list
Bowlish House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wells Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Solihull, UK
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“Nice - old style and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Booked via Agency and arrived early on a Sunday afternoon. Well received and shown to room. Accommodated on first floor overlooking front in large double.
Room was about 8m x 6m and a bathroom off which was modern about 1m x 2m.
Room was very pleasant with high windows that face west - a bit drafty - with heavy full length curtains. Furniture very solid in keeping with the building. Two radiators under window seats. 2 leather armchairs around a small table. Fridge in corner of the room. 32" TV with freeview channels. Lighting was just about ample.
Key given to let yourself in after 10.00 pm.
Rooms downstairs are beautifully furnished in a style in keeping with the house though dining room at the rear overlooking the garden is modern.
Had a fullish English Breakfast individually cooked and served - excellent.
Room and Bathroom very clean. Comfy bed - slept well. Decent blackout, though traffic outside was very audible. Reasonable hospitality tray. But noted unpleasant inside of kettle.
My score (out of 10): Location 9; Car Parking 8; Accessibility 5; Reception/Check Out 9; Size of Room 9; Facilities in Room 9; Facilities 5; Hotel Decor 9; Service 7; Value for Money 9.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
41
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A great place to stopover for the odd night or 2,Bowlish house is a Georgian House that the owners are in the process of restoring to its former glory.
The house has great character including creaky floor boards, windy staircase, beams and doors everywhere. Our room was very spacious and surprisingly bright considering the small creaky window, the room was very clean and comfortable.
The owners are also great characters and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and very pleasant. The food was very good, hot and tasty and service was great.
Yes we would stay here again without doubt. Great house, great hospitality and great service, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Characterfull small hotel, with very comfortable lounge and bar areas with coal effect fires, which looked very realistic without the smell of coal. Genuine georgian property with wood panelled rooms, and creaky floors, the service was not at all creaky however, could not fault that. New owners have only been in residence since November, and are replacing and redecorating as required, so I anticipate improvement in standards of the rooms, having said that it was all very acceptable, nothing to complain about, had choice of pillows, tea and coffee making, fridge, bedside alarm, thick curtains and blinds, new bathroom. It makes a change to stay in somewhere which is so obviously genuine and not completely overhauled and modernised. Bowlish House looks like a Georgian grade 11 listed building on the outside, and it is on the inside too. Were served with cheese and biscuits in the bar which we shared with some local residents, all very relaxed and easygoing. Breakfast was fine, served in an interesting room, cannot remember owners coming in to breakfast to ask how your night had been anywhere else I have stayed. Would stay again.

Room Tip: higher floor has attic rooms, first floor high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just recently moved into the hands of new management when we stayed and they are just at the beginning of restoring it back to its former glory. Warm welcome from the owners and beautiful collie the stay was comfortable, peaceful and the rooms very clean and comfortable the staff and hospitality throughout our stay was superb. Let them know if you are coeliac before you visit and they will go that extra mile to meet your needs. Breakfast was speedy good selection and good portions freshly cooked. Would not hesitate to stay again when visiting

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Bowlish House is a wonderfully eccentric experience and one not to be missed lightly. Our party stayed over and were very well looked after by the proprietors, who combine a light touch front of house with good cooking, a sensible cellar and cheerful attentive service.
Decor is a bit tired but the rooms are spacious, the beds most comfortable and the setting quiet. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Myself and my partner (young couple) stayed at the Bowlish House for our anniversary last weekend, on first arrival we were stunned at the authentic Georgian features of the house. As we pulled up we were greeted by the owner and he clearly explained where we could park which was right outside the house. We were then taken to our room which was room 4 (king room) at the front of the house, first impressions were "wow". Very clean and comfortable, and the decor was lovely. Had a great nights sleep and was impressed by the shower. Breakfast was outstanding 10/10 and all the staff were friendly and willing to help.

The owners told us they had just taken over the Bowlish House 3 days prior to our arrival so this review is a credit to their abilities as hosts having been there for such a short time.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Somerset, we also got a cab to wells which was quick and inexpensive from the hotel.

Overall 10/10 experience could not have asked for more, would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had just booked a 'nearby' bed for the night following a trip to Longleat. This is so much more than that. From the entrance hall, the room, the staff.... We just can't fault the place. To put that into perspective, we are fortunate enough to stay in some very nice places. The experience here matches and in some ways beats even the best hotels. It is impeccably clean and the welcome is as warm as you will get anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowlish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowlish House

Address: Wells Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowlish House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bowlish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowlish House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bowlish House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowlish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.