We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing comfortable house, wonderful owners and a perfect breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowlish House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bowlish House to your Saves list
Bowlish House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wells Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing comfortable house, wonderful owners and a perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Myself and my partner (young couple) stayed at the Bowlish House for our anniversary last weekend, on first arrival we were stunned at the authentic Georgian features of the house. As we pulled up we were greeted by the owner and he clearly explained where we could park which was right outside the house. We were then taken to our room which was room 4 (king room) at the front of the house, first impressions were "wow". Very clean and comfortable, and the decor was lovely. Had a great nights sleep and was impressed by the shower. Breakfast was outstanding 10/10 and all the staff were friendly and willing to help.

The owners told us they had just taken over the Bowlish House 3 days prior to our arrival so this review is a credit to their abilities as hosts having been there for such a short time.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Somerset, we also got a cab to wells which was quick and inexpensive from the hotel.

Overall 10/10 experience could not have asked for more, would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
39
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had just booked a 'nearby' bed for the night following a trip to Longleat. This is so much more than that. From the entrance hall, the room, the staff.... We just can't fault the place. To put that into perspective, we are fortunate enough to stay in some very nice places. The experience here matches and in some ways beats even the best hotels. It is impeccably clean and the welcome is as warm as you will get anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The B&B was fine for the night stay we needed in the English country side nearby to wells and on the way on up to the Cotswolds. But given it's price and lack of surrounding attractions on the drive in and around the B&B it was just a quick un-remarkable stop for us. Not much to say bad, but nor did it particularly stand out. The food was good but not the best by any stretch. The courtyard was pretty but not picturesque. The owners were pleasant and responsive. There was some re-modeling done in bathrooms, but overall our stay was "average". The real bright spot was that there was a shortage of B&B's availability for the weekend we were traveling so this did work well for us, even though it was slightly pricier than other options (that were already booked up).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Big beautiful, old Georgian house, warm, clean, perfectly located for visiting historic sites and outdoor locations. Welcoming fun, generous hosts, delicious breakfast, and we are sorry we missed their dinner.

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms and all were unique. The upstairs 'attic room' was spacious, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We needed to find an overnight stop over on our way to the ferry in Plymouth and booked Bowlish house. We are glad we did so the place was full of character and we enjoyed a lovely evening meal. We enjoyed the traditional atmosphere including the creaky floors. Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast first class. We left refreshed and relaxed. The owners were charming and made us feel very much at home, good hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you like a place with character, then you won't be disappointed. Beautiful 1700's stone built house, with stunning flag stone floor in the entrance hall, and a grand staircase leading up to the bedrooms... And the owners are welcoming and full of character too. The food is well regarded by the locals, but there are several pubs in the area to give you alternatives if you want to get out and about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A beautiful, stately old Georgian guest house. Lovely grand staircase in the lobby. Quaint creaky floors. The hosts were wonderful. Breakfast delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable with ensuites. Convenient to Wells, and other area attractions.
Our room was on the side of the house that faced the road. We had our windows open. The traffic picked up around 4:30 am and my husband said he was bothered by it. We did not have a hair dryer in our room, but neither did I ask for one. I decided to air dry. Other than that minor hiccup, everything else was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowlish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowlish House

Address: Wells Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowlish House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bowlish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowlish House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bowlish House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowlish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.