We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Shepton Mallet
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booked in for a 3 day post Christmas relaxation and found this hotel to be a haven of peace and quiet.

My deluxe room was absolutely beautiful with it's own private patio and access to the garden. the exercise room was small but well equipped and the spa was beautiful.
I had two treatments in the spa both of which were wonderfully relaxing with knowledgeable and helpful staff.
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of quality products and cooked food.

Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear SheilaWise

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Charlton House and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Your feedback has been shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    129
    54
    15
    6
See reviews for
46
254
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Dear Chartlon House,
Normally we don't really place any reviews on websites but this just needs to be said.
Our stay was ok (pleasant), but maybe some of the staff you have got you should train better!
We stayed at your hotel in January 2012, reception was lovely and room ok, only complaint is your waiting staff. We had dinner in your restaurant which was ok (considering there was only us and 2 other people in restaurant). That's why I don't understand out bad service. We had a waitress (which clearly to us was neither from here nor was she trained well). She was not very pleasant if I might say a bit rude as well. No smile, not asking how the food is etc... Well we didn't not have dessert, rather we decided to go for a walk instead. We taking a walk and stop at an Inn not to far away from the hotel to have Coffee. After a small while we came across your waiting staff ( I guess with a quiet night she just finished her shift). Don't get me wrong everyone should be entitled to a nice drink after work, but some can take it to far. More to our disappointment is that this member of staff was very loudly talking about the Hotel and Guest ( and may I say not in a very nice way). She must have recordnized us as she very quickly left the inn. Well I don't know what to say but maybe you should train you staff more of being loyal to their workplace and also not talk about (annoying ) guest, cause you never know who u ran into.
Other than that our stay was pleasant. Not sure with staff like that that we will return....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at Charlton house and this time was even better than the last.

We stayed in room 18 the coach house. You get your own from door and a secluded courtyard. The room was beautiful with a beamed ceiling and split level living. The bed was huge and really comfortable.

The spa was as lovely as we remembered. The hotel was relatively quiet so much of the time we had the place to ourselves. I had a cellutox wrap and facial with Sophia. It was amazing and very relaxing.

We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay. The food was excellent quality and the service faultless.

All staff we met went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. Thankyou to James the deputy duty manager. We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Newlyweds 19062010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your fantastic review. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and James in particular sends his regards.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I booked an overnight stay at the spa for our anniversary, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, (even though we had arrived early and our rooms were not ready). We were able to relax in the lounge and have a drink. The spa itself was excellent, we had a shoulder and back massage which was soooo nice, left us feeling relaxed and refreshed. The sauna/steam room/jacuzzi/etc, etc... was wonderful, so was the three course meal in the restaurant. The staff there were very polite and attentive, it seemed that nothing was too much to ask. The room we were in was warm and cosy, with huge windows overlooking the lawn.
The spa seemed close to the road and I was worried that we would hear the traffic, but we could not hear a thing from our room which was at the rear of the building.
Breakfast was nice, fresh orange juice, a variety of cereals and fruit and a variety of cooked options too. The only negative was that the coffee was not fresh (I like my coffee and know when its been on the warmer too long, but its a minor thing).
Would definitely recommend going there, and well done the staff!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a nice view, especially at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Philly353

We're thrilled that you had such a lovely time at the hotel and spa and your kind comments have been shared with the whole team.

We appreciate your observation about the coffee but can assure you that it is made freshly every morning. Following your comment, however, we will review the quality of our coffee.

Thank you for the feedback and see you next time.

With best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

The most stunning place I have every stayed in the UK, the spa facilities are amazing the staff are helpful and charming and the food was a total delight. Thank you all at Charlton for a wounderful weekend

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Yourworstnightmares

We are so pleased to learn that Charlton House is the most stunning place you have stayed at in the UK.

The whole team is working very hard to achieve the highest standards possible and feedback like yours makes it all worthwhile.

Looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife & I just spent a wonderful spa break here on Sat 7th Jan . After reading mostly good reviews and also some tips (ie) to ask for an upgrade. We paid £50 to upgrade to a superior room. The Parterre room was very nice with a 4 poster bed. On closer inspection we found some small things that let the room down badly, there were quite a few stains on the carpet and the toilet bowl was dangerously loose, in the bathroom the paintwork was flaking . I must add this in no way spoiled our wonderful stay (I was however slightly disappointed that we were still charged the money for the upgrade due to these issues).We just did not expect such small things to go unnoticed in a hotel of this reputation . When we told the reception of the toilet in-particular they were very quick to show us & offer the room next door , we declined as our one we felt was much cozier . We had treatments at the superb spa , having been to Marrakech a few times ,it has a Moroccan feel about it. Very intimate which we loved. The hydrotherapy pool was bliss and also the wonderful hot tub outside. The dinner was of a very good standard as was the excellent breakfast. The service was second to none, very attentive without being intrusive. We will definitely return but please a little TLC to the rooms would cost very little and make the review from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Charleybhoy

Thank you very much for your very detailed review and we appreciate both your positive comments as well as those about the areas where we could have done better.

We have inspected the room and taken action where necessary. We are delighted that this did not impact negatively upon your stay and we will be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

With best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

lovely hotel and setting! We were upgraded to a deluxe twin room on arrival. Room 23 charming with french doors leading out onto a terrace an dthe garden, fab bathroom with walk in shower and large bath, seperate toilet.
The food was divine and the service excellent, nothing was to much trouble.
James the manager I assume? appeared at appropriate times ensuring every thing was to our satisfaction. Nothing was to much trouble and when we had a small problem he delt with it quietly and to our satisfaction. very impressed and good value for money, we booked the seasonal spa break offer and can recomend !!. we are looking forward to returning very soon!!

Room Tip: speak to the hotel directly and ask about there different rooms and facilities. Some rooms lead out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear burkeUk

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and we are delighted that you had such a great experience with us and James, as well as all the team, look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel

Address: Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannatyne's Charlton House Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.