We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best b&b we found in 6 weeks in the uk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shrubbery Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Shrubbery Hotel to your Saves list
The Shrubbery Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   17 Commercial Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“best b&b we found in 6 weeks in the uk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clean rooms, great family room, wonderful staff, tasty food, accommodating cook.
We got to the B&B tired from a day of sightseeing and were treated to delicious food out in the garden where the kids could play with the dog and roam around before and after we ate. Highly recommend to any family traveling the Cotswolds area. There is also a fun play park near by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
21
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was on a walking holiday with 2 friends from wells to salisbury sp spent a night dinner bed and breakfast.
We had a very enjoyable stay at the shrubery , the staff were friendly but profesional , the family room was fine for the three of us and priced very reasonably.Food both dinner and breakfast excellent. Highly recomended hotel although shepton mallet itself was rather dissapointing.

Room Tip: the family room for 3 adults was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for six weeks, Adrian and Lorraine were very friendly made you feel at home.
The hotel is very nice, clean and modern. The room was lovely and had an ensuite. WIFI was good as I had lots of homework to do. My plate only went back once to the kitchen with food on it and that was because I had ordered too much. The food is absolutely excellent and very good value for money including the great breakfast. They made me feel very welcome and were very accommodating when my dogs came down for the weekend. I would stay here again with no hesitation. Buddy the hotel dog always came to say hello when you came through the door couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had a single room with separate private bathroom - all very nice and clean and no inconvenience at all. We had a company cum birthday dinner in the evening and the food was superb, the service very friendly and the table set to perfection. Breakfast next morning also great. With a bit of sunshine I could have had it in the lovely garden I think :)
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subderland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The shrubbery was included as part of my trip to Glastonbury festival as, being from the NE it's quite a drive (350 miles). Upon arrival we were greeted by reception/barman/waiter who showed us to our family sized room as there were 3 of us. We chose to eat in their restaurant which provided delicious home cooked fayre.We chose lasagne and chips, cottage pie and veg and a scampi and chips which were extremely generous portions and really hit the spot. After dinner and a bottle of decent although slightly over priced wine we returned to our room which was clean and comfortable and met our basic needs. As early risers in order to make the second part of our trip we all wanted a morning coffee this is when we discovered that although booking a family room for 3 there were only 2 mugs for tea making facilities, ok no problem first one into the shower can rinse the cup and re-use. As I was first up I jumped into the bath with my foot strategically placed over the plug to hold it in place and prevent the tub emptying, I got out if the bath hair dripping to discovered towels for one. No problem the spares must be in the wardrobe, no they weren't in fact there were no other towels! Normally not an issue you can ask and get more however as it was early morning the reception was not manned we struggled on with one set of wet towels between us. Next step check out, no one on reception so we had to buzz and get receptionist/barman/waiter out of bed and wait for him to tot up the bill etc, again I normally wouldn't mind but I think that when you know 80% of your guests are staying at your hotel because of a festival it's worth making provisions for early check outs or at least ask when they check in if they'll require an early check out. It may also be worth mentioning that although breakfast was served from 7.30am which was too late for us there was a take away option available. This was never mentioned to us or offered so we hit the road grateful for the previous nights sturdy portions and hoped they would see us through. Overall an ok stay but needs work on the level of customer service provided, a great opportunity missed as we would have stayed there on our return journey however decided against it and chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night in June 2013. The hotel is small and friendly, with clean, comfortable rooms and nice staff. Only bad point was poor shower, lack of power or temperature control! Location is very central. Nice garden. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we used this lovely venue for our reception in sept. 2012. what can i say? everyone was soooo helpful. food was superb and very reasonable per head. the room used was set out just as we wanted and looked fantastic. cannot praise this venue and staff highly enough. sorry to adrian for taking so long for the revue, hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: just ask to see them, they will be more than willing to let you have a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shrubbery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrubbery Hotel

Address: 17 Commercial Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shrubbery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Shrubbery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrubbery Hotel Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shrubbery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.