We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatched Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thatched Cottage
63-67 Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5QF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $61
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Chris and I do like the Thatched Cottage. It has a very friendly, relaxed atmosphere, and the food is always good. Today unfortunately I could not have my first choice of linguine, but the moroccan chickpea burger was lovely, and Chris enjoyed his burger as well. We decided to treat ourselves to pudding, the lemon tart was gorgeous, and Chris chose the chocolate. A very pleasant hour or so in beautiful sunshine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Thatched Cottage Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

On our journey back from Stratton -on-the-Fosse, my husband and I came across the Thatch Cottage restaurant. The building looked very picturesque and as it was lunch time we stopped. The staff we met were excellent, very polite, smart and helpful with a sense of humour. We ordered our meal as we enjoyed the lovely atmosphere, peaceful and pleasant. The meal was tasty, hot and well presented and my husband said it was the best most tasty gammon he has ever had. Price considering we were down south was very acceptable, two drinks and two mains for about £22, well done the Thatch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“More than just a pub and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Thatched Cottage is a pub and very good restaurant. The bar had a few real ales, the menu had a number of vegetarian options and the food was far better than pub food. The staff were friendly and worked hard to ensure we enjoyed our meal, which we certainly did. The restaurant was very busy and we did have to wait for our meal, but it was worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“what a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

staying with our friends in Somerset last week end, we were taken to Thatched Cottage Inn.
all four of us enjoyed our meals, excellent food, and the chef was off because of a new arrival , (congratulations )

lovely staff, proprietors made us very welcome.

thank you

Mary & Jim

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had an evening meal here, it was fantastic, I had the ham eggs and chips and my husband had the Burger, the portions were huge and very good quality. We decided to treat ourselves to a sweet and we were not disappointed they were to die for!! would eat there again everytime it was great and the staff were lovely too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thatched Cottage also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 

Been to Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatched Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.