We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ginger Pig

The Ginger Pig
3 Hove Street, Hove BN3 2TR, England
+44 (0)1273 736123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 200 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: $62 - $101
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brighton
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

had dinner on Monday night, we had drinks first and they are not cheap a glass of wine at 7.50 for 175 measure, I found that a bit hard to swallow, we had a corner seat and I am so glad we did, as they do pack in the tables, so the food may be great I did not want to hear all the troubles on the other table, the building is beautiful inside and out and again they could have looked at their seating as you get small tight little seats to have drinks before you eat, again its very tight, but a lovely evening had by all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    103
    51
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty food with relaxed service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Enjoyed the food immensely, served with great bread and quality condiments. Good to have a short menu but a longer wine list. Rhubarb jelly pudding particularly good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Which was colder the service or the restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited the Ginger Pig today for lunch and left feeling very disappointed, not with the food but the service. We have eaten at The Ginger Fox many times and it has always been excellent, even though the service can be a little hit or miss depending on who is working.
Arrived and seated, bread bought over, had to ask to order drinks & for balsmanic vinegar for the bread & for water bottle.Ordered & the starter arrived with minutes, before the wine had arrived.The food was plonked in front of us with no interaction, saying hope you enjoy your starters. When plates were cleared, again nothing said. Mains arrived, put down & nothing said, dirty glasses & side plates not cleared, in fact I moved them to the next table.Main plates cleared and nothing said again! Within a minute a pudding menu put in front of us & back to take an order within another minute. We felt rushed and then waitress had no interest in what she was serving or what we thought the quality of food had been.The restaurant was freezing cold & many people kept there coats on during lunch.We were in and out within an hour with a £95.00 bill.However the food as in all Ginger restaurants was excellent, but badley let down by the front of house staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice venue. Very attentive staff, service was good considering it was packed to capacity. Food is good, but my god its over priced. You're a pub, get over yourself! Me and my dining partner paid £26 for the "sharing" chicken pie!!!! Not enough for two, and only came with a CUP of veg! Please.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to Ginger Pig with my daughter and 3yr old granddaughter. What can I say, everything was just about perfect. We had homemade burgers with triple cooked chips, wow, so tasty and at £9.50 each really good value for money. Even the bread roll was made in house. The kids meal for £7.00 consisted of home made sausages and mash with a drink and homemade ice cream, really good value for money. We couldn't decide what to have for pudding so went for the assiette. A little bit of everything for £12.00. It said for two to share, but would have fed at least three. We noticed that people were not just eating the food but also talking about it which in my book is always a good sign, we found out that there is a new head chef and that he is passionate about the food he serves. Well all I can say is that it shows we will definitely be going back when we visit Hove again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ginger Pig also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Ginger Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ginger Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.