We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable and pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Duke

Save Saved
You added The Iron Duke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Iron Duke
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 Waterloo Street, Hove BN3 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hove B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean Comfortable and pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for the night with 2 of my friends in a fairly large family room..... The En suite was very clean and modern, the room itself was also clean, well vacuumed and pleasantly decorated. There were fresh towels and toiletries supplied and left neatly on the beds. The bar itself had a lovely warm atmosphere and staff were helpful and friendly offering to book our taxis for us. A hassle free comfortable stay had by all and a well cooked breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    11
    5
    18
See reviews for
17
25
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

When booking accommodation I assume you have to expect budget conditions but most of the time you would expect not to get the attitude. It's a shame as from the moment we checked in it went down hill from there. I'm not going to write too much. I'm not into character assassination but if you are expecting anything like what you see in the photos you are going to be very disappointed. When we first arrived we were told our room was not booked. After showing the booking confirmation the room was then found and we were told to meet around the back of the bar. It was a good 5 minutes before we were met. The bar wasn't that busy but it was a little intimidating having to fight your way to the reception desk through what I assume were loud locals. Like I said I'm not going to put a scaving attack here. I don't see the point but we found the staff barely wanted to be there and when we asked to speak to a manager about the cleanliness of our room later that evening we were told he wasn't likely to be about but if it was an emergency we could call him. Not the best customer service. In addition the hotel was noisy all throughout the night. I know this isn't the hotels fault but maybe vet bookings better or tell us it will be loud at 4 am. In addition the breakfast was disappointing and greasy. Bread had mold on 1 slice and we were unable to find anyone to offer us a vege option. So we just left and posted out keys. I've sat on this for a few weeks now thinking I wouldn't com ment but I think it's unfair and unjust to allow people to stay here under false pretense. I have stayed in better... I doubt very much I will ever stay in worst.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, good standard and very clean sheets, toilet etc. The combination of the friendliness of the staff and the 'quirky' character of the Iron Duke Pub/Hotel made our stay very special. Food was very good and freshly cooked. We loved it and will be choosing The Iron Duke to stay in.
We did find that the toilet seat was loose on the first night, We informed Peter and the staff and It was fixed asap with a brand new seat. Well done. We loved every bit of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pl1970, Owner at The Iron Duke, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. I have passed your kind comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in July this year. From the outside the hotel looked nice, inside was worn (expected for an old building). My room was thick with dust, had a damp smell, there was nails sticking out of the mantle of the fireplace, the handle on the en suite was broken, stains on the woodwork in the en suite.

Room Tip: Try a different b and b if you want a nice clean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pl1970, Owner at The Iron Duke, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have looked in to the points you have raised and where necessary the appropriate procedures have been put in place to avoid those issues arising again.
Once again thank you for your feedback. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for one night on a saturday, booked last minute, good location, close to beach, shops, bars, restaurants etc. Breakfast was small but nice, not a gutbuster. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good if you're just looking for a roof over your head, a little basic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pl1970, Owner at The Iron Duke, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Brighton.
Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Lovely pub very friendly nice staff. Room very basic bit tierd and halls a bit smelly. However this was the cheapest option on the net for a last minute stay. Breakfast was a bit cheap n nasty quality cash n carry. Great for a one night stay but wouldnt want to stay any longer staff are very helpful and got extra pillows when asked. Would use again for a night out or show stay but no more

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pl1970, Owner at The Iron Duke, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is most welcome as we are constantly looking at ways to improve our guests' experience. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Brighton.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My friend has already written a review on this disgusting hovel. The owner has responded by not denying any of the points, but by saying that if we had told him of the problems he would have sorted them. He also says that the faults mentioned regarding the damp in the rooms is recent, yet I note that looking back on trip advisor that the same faults were listed back in May this year. The pictures taken show exactly what this hotel is like. And as for us tearing up the carpet and removing the floorboard, placing it on the mantle, just to take a photo of it is laughable. Grow up man and accept responsibility for your premises. The 5 of us who stayed are all well travelled, and believe me we would have checked straight back out if we hadn't already paid for it, and knowing that there would be no refund. Also because we were only staying one night we thought we would grin and bear it. However your response and the excuses you have made, along with the bad comments made 6 months ago just shows exactly who it is that's lying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Iron Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Duke

Address: 3 Waterloo Street, Hove BN3 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Duke 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Duke is in an enviable location just across the road from the beach and walking distance from the City Centre and the Brighton Centre. We have ten rooms including some with en-suites and views towards the sea. We also have rooms with shared facilities for those on a budget. All rooms come with tea and coffee making facilities and televisions. Guests have 24 hour access to the building with your own key to the hotel entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Iron Duke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Duke Pub Hotel Hove
The Iron Duke Pub And Hotel
The Iron Duke Hove, Brighton And Hove, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Duke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.