We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Art House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art House Hove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Art House Hove
Save
You added The Art House Hove to your Saves list
27 Wilbury Road, Hove BN3 3PB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hove B&B and Inns
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay at The Art House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Art House. Beautiful house and Dexter and Liz were excellent hosts. We stayed in the Mulberry room which was lovely and the breakfasts are fantastic. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A friend and I spent two nights at The Art House as a celebration of a pinnacle birthday date! The moment we arrived, we were made very welcome and it just got better! A beautiful period house that has undergone extensive, tasteful renovation. We stayed in the Mulberry Room, well furnished, with lots of natural light, comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water together with a stylish bathroom, towels and bathrobes available. The breakfast was cooked to order, with preserves, cafetiere coffee or tea, made more enjoyable by being served in a high ceilinged room with views out to the garden at a large shared table.. Liz and Dexter were both charming hosts and since we both showed an interest in the mosaic works that were decorating the house, we were drawn into a conversation on the subject, and saw work in progress on Liz's current project in her studio at the rear of the house. The parking was easy in the same street as the accommodation, shops, bars, restaurants abound in close proximity too and a short walk to the seafront. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable couple of days' break and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed at top of the house in the Mulberry Room....very comfortable and lots of light and overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks to Dexter and Liz for sharing their home. The Art House is a haven and we felt welcomed and well looked after. Decor, breakfast, shower are all extremely high spec and the bathrobes were so soft. Also really appreciated the lovely toiletries. The Art House Hove is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the twin room when we were visiting hove for a christening. Dexter and liz are wonderful hosts who made the say very enjoyable. Their interest in arts and design makes the stay even more enjoyable. Don't miss the fluffy bath robes !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely welcome,delightful decor and memorable breakfast.
We stayed in the Mulberry room and loved the amazing mosaic mirror and the way it sparkled in the morning sunshine.All this and a palatial bathroom with warm and fluffy towels and hi end toiletries.We were spoilt for choice among the many excellent cafes and well priced restaurants close by and the sea even closer.

Room Tip: mulberry room enjoys the morning sun;the garden room looks out onto the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved it at The Art House!
Dexter ad Liz are very welcoming and know the area really well. Not to mention the fabulous breakfasts!
The Mulberry room is gorgeous with fantastic decor, the beds are really comfy, with lovely touches through out the whole house.
Location for access to Brighton and Beach is ideal, on road parking is inexpensive compared to the centre. We will definitely be returning, thank you both for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Staying somewhere as a single person is not always easy nor pleasurable, so my experience at The Art House was a joy - starting right from the initial telephone/email communication during booking. I arrived late at night, being no problem to Dexter and Liz, who gave me a very friendly welcome. The house was warm, vibrant, and relaxing all at the same time, and I slept really well in the super comfy bed. Dexter cooked a delicious breakfast and advized about buses into Brighton (important for me as i did not wish to drive). This could not have been easier, as The Art House is so very well placed for all amenities, and to be able to park for the whole day outside was certainly a bonus, whilst enjoying a leisurely walk back along the prom at the end of the day. Not only would I highly reccommend this delightfully different place of repose, but would visit again when the opportunity arises. Very many thanks Dexter and Liz

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Art House Hove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art House Hove

Address: 27 Wilbury Road, Hove BN3 3PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Art House Hove has an atmosphere of graciousness and calm. This refurbished Victorian villa combines tradition with modernity and style. Located 5 minutes from sea, it has easy access to central Brighton and Conference Centre. All rooms are individually styled, big windows and comfortable but not en-suite. The travertine-clad bathroom and separate second wc are pretty fabulous and the fresh natural breakfast is lovely too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Art House Hove Brighton And Hove, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art House Hove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.