We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great surroundings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Square Restaurant

Square Restaurant
79-80 Western Road, Hove BN3 2JQ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 190 restaurants in Hove
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Square Is an authentic modern Italian reasonably priced restaurant located in palmeira square. Square’s philosophy is simple: to create uncomplicated, full flavored food made from the freshest highest quality seasonal produce – striking a balance between the buzz of a busy restaurant with slightly more challenging dishes! The carefully chosen global wine list has been selected to compliment the restaurant’s menuThe restaurant venue has that special touch of luxury with deep red walls and sexy subtle LED lighting setting the mood and with leather sofas and a comfortable cosy bar. A private space with a relaxing atmosphere and soft Art Deco style sofas is available where customers can enjoy a special date, meet friends or talk business.The bar changes its mood as the day progresses, beginning quietly in the morning with coffee and pastries, and a variety of breakfasts, becoming lively with pre-lunch drinks, then relaxing with afternoon home-made sweets, and herbal teas. The evening takes it up yet another notch, kicking off a buzzing early evening and on into the night. An elegant and comprehensively stocked bar keeps things lively with excellent cocktails, wines and liqueurs.Square’s dining experience is an eclectic fusion or exciting food, created by talented chefs. Each dish is freshly prepared to order and the menu changes to reflect the seasons.Square’s philosophy is simple: to create uncomplicated, full flavored food made from the freshest highest quality seasonal produce – striking a balance between the buzz of a busy restaurant with slightly more challenging dishes! The carefully chosen global wine list has been selected to compliment the restaurant’s menu
1 review
“Great food, great surroundings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely Italian food, some very familiar menu items but also some less traditional dishes which stood out. All made with great quality ingredients and nicely presented.
We were a group of six looking for a place that would please everyone and this ticked all the boxes. Great decor inside too.
Was first there from our group and made to feel very welcome by couple that run it. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deema2000, Owner at Square Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Donutt27

Thank you for your review. we are very pleased you enjoyed your meal at Square. It was very Nice to meet you & all your friends. we thank you for choosing square for your evening meal. your comments are important to us, and we will always try our hardest to meet expectations.
we look forward to seeing you in the near future

Regards

Deema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    41
    15
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Pasta in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

You will forgiven for looking at Square from the outside and not realising it actually serves great Italian food. Unfortunately the colours and sign aren't in synchronicity with what goes inside.

I have been a regular customer at Square for well over 4 years and it's my number 1 choice when I am in the mood for pasta cooked al dente with fresh ingredients. There are many restaurants in Hove and Brighton offering Italian food, but invariably I am always disappointed by their cooking, simply because you can tell they use cheap ingredients and short-cuts (if you are an Italian food fan you will know what I mean).

Their desserts are also great so will recommend you trying them too.

On a more balanced note, the ambient music could do with a bit of improvement, but then that could just be my own taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deema2000, Owner at Square Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Caluca- Brighton,

Thank you for writing Square Review, we are so pleased you enjoy our food. We have great pride, in our chef, and the passion he puts in to cooking his food. I would also like to Thank you one more time, for recommending us as the best pasta in town, its great news & am sure all the team at Square will be delighted to hear it.

Thank you for your honesty, and we will look in to the comments , we always change and improve our Restaurant , to satisfy every customer.

We all look forward to seeing you in the near future

Regards

Deema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to share a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been visiting Square for three years now and have never been disappointed. It's an excellent location with fabulous food and exceptional food. The value is unquestionable. You can't go wrong with the Square.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deema2000, Owner at Square Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Paula,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed square for 3 years, it was a great pleasure meeting you & your husband. We Take pride in everything we do at square, from the food to the service. your review, is important to us, as your recommendations. We hope we will continue to meet expectations, and we hope we see you in the future.

wishing you all the best

Regards


Deema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on their valentines day menu and was old once we got there it had been cancelled and could only order from the menu. The service there was terrible as it seemed to be employees just sitting at empty tables and talking loudly and dancing around. The food took a way to long to arrive, though it was rather delicious everything else was a disaster. Would not return nor reccomend it to anyone. Stay away.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley
1 review
“An Excellent Birthday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lunched very recently on Daughter's birthday. None of the family live locally so happenchance took us to The Square Restaurant. The food was excellent and the Manager gave close attention to our wishes and ensured that we enjoyed our lunch and celebration. The costs for the food we enjoyed was very good value and we will visit agian when we are next in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deema2000, Owner at Square Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you so much for taking time to review us ( Square Restaurant ), we are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we are even more pleased that you come to visit us, knowing that non of the family live close to our area. We are glad you enjoyed it, knowing the trip was worthwhile for you.

Our team at square pay attention to detail, as we do like to satisfy our customers, and keep them coming back. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you and your family, perhaps friends too in the future.

Kindest regards

Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Restaurant also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.